Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Finn Harps Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

All over.

Well done Harps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,039 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Fantastic Harps, delighted.

The good old NW Derby is back again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

****ing yessssssss!!!!!!!!!! What a night!!!

Bandas goal on finnharps underage facebook I'm not arsed linking cos more celebration pints!!!

Just checked it out, great scenes at Finn Park, well done.

The winning goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Congrats Harps.

I am obviously sickened and disgusted, but you deserved it over the two legs and good luck in the premier.

If you can keep that defence as miserly as it has been, you'll have a decent chance of staying there.

osarusan wrote: »
    Congrats Harps.

I am obviously sickened and disgusted, but you deserved it over the two legs and good luck in the premier.

If you can keep that defence as miserly as it has been, you'll have a decent chance of staying there.
    It will give us a fighting chance but we still need to strengthen without doubt.
    Felt sorry for limerick, really was so close to being the great escape, ye had a great end to the season and Markets Fields looks the part, but that start just left ye with too much to do. (in saying that, ye had your chances too)

The goals again... altho 55,000 views on banda, if your on boards id imagine you've seen them!
    Funston makes it 1-0
    And the Drone view (you may want to mute it first!)

Banda sends us up (with radio foyle coverage dubbed over it)

And the answer to the big question...
    Theres only one!!

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭sirboby

cant wait for harps in Fifa 17

and we are off
    McHugh, Coll, Harkin & McNamee all confirmed.

First new signing ex Man Utd u21 Ryan McConnell.
    Centre defender who got released in summer after a woeful year with injuries. Centre Back who had captained the u21 side so if he stays injury free its a good start on the transfer front.

Also quite happy having Coll & McNamee tied down, now for the rest of the defence & Foy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Mr_A

3076831.jpg

Our old manager Charlie McGeever is still going well having switched codes to the GAA. Fresh from the Minor AI Final in September, he has led Tipp club Clonmel Commercials to their (and Tipp's) first Munster Senior Football Title.
    If anyone can fill me in on how they got their name feel free!

Great news for Harps worldwide supporter base as all games will be streamed live outside Ireland from now on: http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/6555-fai-signs-trackchamp-as-official-video-and-data-partner

Ryan Curran in from Derry now, the 22 year old has 7 goals in 24 appearances for them, so hopefully a good addition.

Squad so far:
    McHugh, Curran
    Harkin, Foy, McNamee, Funston,
    Coll, McMonagle, McConnell
    Gallagher

Would like to see Dee, Mailey X2, Cowan, Crossan and McDaid kept on too (without going into the u19s).
    Wouldnt say no to Boyle or Keating back either but a few more signings going to be needed!

Club shop open this Saturday 11am to 4pm with jerseys and a few new things in.

PRICES for next year: (15 or 16 home games)
    Season Ticket Seats €199 (early bird 189), Concession Seated €169 (early bird 159),
    Match Seated - €15 or 12

Terrace Season Ticket €170 (early bird-150), Concession Terrace €140 (Early €130),
    Match Terrace €12, Student/OAP €10,
    Secondary School Children €60, Primary School Kids €25,
    Match Secondary School Students €5, Primary School Kids €3.

less than 3 weeks until the season kicks off! the lads won 4-2 down in Athlone today, Hanlon's crosses responsible for 2 (Packie Mailey & OG), McNamee with the opener and Rafter with the last. Good to see the new signings having an impact!

4 more sleeps!

match arrangements
    tickets for sale in buncrana, lifford, raphoe ballybofey, killybegs, donegal town, newtoncunningham & letterkenny. see the link for details

on match note... no idea what the team will be! actually have some depth now. Ollies done a great job putting the squad together with whats available.
    going by preseason we are just trying to outscore teams this year!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Thanks for that, got 2 tickets from Coach House in Donegal. Seemed to still have a fair few.

good to know, have to pick up another for a lad down the country. I know letterkenny/michael murphy sports had to get more sent up.
    Derry have also requested more....
    should be a great crowd, hopefully a result to match!

if you havnt already, time to buy tickets!
    sportshub now saying sell out expected before the game. Seen Friday morning at latest from a less official source.

Derry have sold their 850 allocation.

overshoot wrote: »
    if you havnt already, time to buy tickets!
    sportshub now saying sell out expected before the game. Seen Friday morning at latest from a less official source.

Derry have sold their 850 allocation.

Think we also have another couple of hundred being delivered up to the Brandywell this morning.

Should be 1100 away fans at the game.

yep was just about to reply to ya on the soccer thread.
    ye have your own entrance & car park down at the river end.... still sticking ye on the gantry side to get wet tho!

shame the paper work isnt expected to be through for Barry Molloy :D

quick edit... its derry this one is more appropriate that lotr
    Queen-so-it-begins-300x176.jpeg

byte

Just in the door. Great result, methinks! The keeper seemed to take a fair knock near the end of the game!

Fair big crowd tonight - was wondering what the capacity of the grounds are? 4 or 5,000?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭jdbarry

byte wrote:
    Fair big crowd tonight - was wondering what the capacity of the grounds are? 4 or 5,000?

Nearly sure it's 4,500

Yep4500, the crush barrier put in on the town terrace boosted it by 600.

On another note, yes yes yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,321 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Delighted to see the Harps get off to a flying start and even more delighted that it was against the old foe :)

Didn't make it down last night, but hear the best team won.

Not much football played apparently? Pitch awful, ball not even bouncing?

Derry will struggle this year, big time.

Generally sums it up, Derry were on top for the opening 20 mins or so before we settled and had the better of things. Neither side got themselves into too many scoring opportunities but harps were more clinical when they came. Curran and pattersons goals kind of similar. Tbh I actually thought we were more likely to score than ye towards the end, defence was holding well and ye just seemed out of ideas... Then again patterson!

Pitch was very heavy, not much that could be done tho. We havnt used it at all in pre season so it was as good as it was going to get!

Loads of work was done on the pitch in the close season, but with the flooding earlier in the winter, more heavy rain in the week before the game and no growth yet there is not much that can be done- same complaint all over the country.

Great result, and great heart in the team. The mother of all challenges in Dundalk next week.. but Ollie finds a way :)

Harps fans all went very quiet on here......

Been busy! Generally quiet anyway, we have a very good club forum and pretty much every harps man on boards is on that!

Still shams to look forward to tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

11 goals shipped in 2 games in 4 days.
    Not good at all...

perspective maybe?
    4 tough games in 11 days against full time opposition, the last 2 with with c4times our club's budget.
    small, part time squad, carrying a few injuries and having work on top of training to take away recovery time. Didnt fill the bench tonight.
    Dundalk miles ahead of any other side in the league let alone harps and put 8 past Bray last year. They had scored 17 away and conceeded 2 in the 6 away games before us (the 2 conceeded in the first 2 games)

there may have been room for a little more squad rotation but may have just shipped a few less goals at best. We got hit in the worst way possible by a mix of better opposition and small. part time squad. We recover and move on. Thank feck its Crumlin at the weekend, i had thought shams previously. Couldnt give a crap about the cups!

You seem to be saving all your best performances for games v Derry !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

Not good at all. Defence is our strength and what can and has won a lot of our points so far but the lads are just exhausted.

I'm not sure what Micky Funston has done to Ollie but he is good enough to play from the start and give some of the others a rest. McHugh too.

I would like to beat Crumlin, given that if they beat us the lads could lose all hope, not writing crumlin off though but hopefully they did some partying after beating LK Rovers.

Would like to see something like this

Brush

Boyle McConnell McMonagle Coll

Funston McNamee Coyle (u19) Flatley

McHugh Banda(u19)

could be worth throwing in an U-19 or 2 for it as well, maybe Mark Coyle in the middle and Banda up top. Not sure if banda will be available as he got s/o v Longford 19s at the weekend.

Looking at the squad with injuries that's probably all we can do. Needs to give Cowan, Mailey, McNulty, Houston, Molloy and Curran a rest for sure. Hanlon and Scully also..

so our bad run lasted 8 days....

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭nigeldinho

so our bad run lasted 8 days....

It was great to see us change things up a bit today. Few personnel changes, formation change, and a big change in attitude. Really shows across the pitch when the players play with that bit more confidence. Great result.

Now the form team in the league over the last 4 games with 10pts. DWWW (7goals for 1 against)
    Joint 5th on 23pts with Galway, Pats & Sligo. The rest of this round of fixtures sees games against 3 teams below us and Cork so a chance for further points. Cork (Friday 22nd) & Wexford (Fri 29th) the 2 home games although Cork may be moved with European football. Away to Bray & Bohs either side of that.
    A few results in those games would really close off any lingering relegation threat but as it stands we have 15pts to Longford, 11 to Wexford and 10 to Bray with 15 games to go.

On another note... Ruairi Keating back to add to our attacking options!... Its strange having things go so well...

Things are indeed going eerily well. It's bloody fantastic. Compare it to our last two seasons in the Premier and it makes for very interesting reading.

P--W--D--L--F--A---GD---Pts
    2016: 18--6--5-07-17-27-(-10)-23
    2008: 33--9--4-20-26-53-(-27)-31
    2005: 33--5--6-22-30-51-(-21)-21

We've already surpassed 2005, and we're well on the way to surpassing 2008, where we were desperately unlucky to be relegated in 10th place with league re-structuring and two defeats in the last two games against Galway and Shamrock Rovers.

But, to be only 8 points off that 2008 total in only 18 games is nothing short of magnificent given the difference in budget between the two years. A full time professional side that year, compared to players getting absolute pittance this season. Ollie Horgan deserves a damn freedom of Donegal award at this stage for the miracles he's worked at Harps.

Paul Hegarty is an astute appointment as assistant too. Already clear against Galway the input he has in attacking terms. Combine Ollies ability to get 100% work-rate, a solid defensive performance, and committed players, with Higgsys all attack and possession football, and we could be in for an exciting final 15 games.

nigeldinho wrote: »

P--W--D--L--F--A---GD---Pts
    2016: 18--6--5-07-17-27-(-10)-23
    2008: 33--9--4-20-26-53-(-27)-31
    2005: 33--5--6-22-30-51-(-21)-21

Paul Hegarty is an astute appointment as assistant too. Already clear against Galway the input he has in attacking terms. Combine Ollies ability to get 100% work-rate, a solid defensive performance, and committed players, with Higgsys all attack and possession football, and we could be in for an exciting final 15 games.

its been huge for us that we have more often got something from a game than not. Even in our winless run (excl cup - lost one in 90, lost one on pens) we drew 4 out of 7. The defeats were Cork (a), Dundalk (h) & Pats (a), we drew away to Shams, Derry & Wexford, with home draw against bohs.

On the attacking... is Mr. McHugh not doing a bit of coaching too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭EAFC_rdfl

anyone in the county with any interest in football should be getting out to watch this team

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

Too many begrudgers in Donegal football, Harps doing well is killing some of them. Great strides made by FHFC on and off the field. They're involved in a lot of initiatives going in the county and there's now a great underage structure in place as well.

U19s and u17s unbeaten in 7 games each, Senior side pretty much almost safe at the halfway stage. Great times people.

Too many begrudgers in Donegal football, Harps doing well is killing some of them. Great strides made by FHFC on and off the field. They're involved in a lot of initiatives going in the county and there's now a great underage structure in place as well.

U19s and u17s unbeaten in 7 games each, Senior side pretty much almost safe at the halfway stage. Great times people.

The last time ANY Harps team were beaten in a league match was the seniors away to Pats on 17th May. We're two months without a league defeat at any level for Harps.

Wexford in town tomorrow, they badly need a win to stave off relegation! Lose though and the gap is 8pts to wexford and looking over our shoulder rather than ahead.
    A win for us would put 14pts to wexford with 13 games left. Longford a further 3 back. It would surely close of a relegation threat (bar a massive implosion/revival) and move us back joint 5th if sligo fail to win. A draw puts us ahead of St. Pats and into 7th.

Only the second home game since June 3rd (no wonder people wonder when games are on)
    A decent crowd would be great!
    Harps Preview

In other news exMan Utd u21 captain Ryan McConnell has signed up for next year and gone on loan to Ballinamallard for the rest of the season - hopefully he gets the game time he needs there! Liam Flatley moving permanently along with Dykes.

It's derby time again this Friday night. Will cause a bit of congestion and traffic disruption in Twin Towns. Match arrangements are here: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=3479

nigeldinho wrote: »
    The last time ANY Harps team were beaten in a league match was the seniors away to Pats on 17th May. We're two months without a league defeat at any level for Harps.

Things tend to change fairly quickly.

In other news, taking bookings for overnight trip to Cork in October with all details in the link. Overnight trips with the Harps tend to be quite legendary. This one will be no different.

http://54crew.com/news/2016/9/5/overnight-trip-to-cork-october-1415

at least that bad run has ended! 5 from 9 v Sligo with 2 of those away aint a bad return.... id like to think 2 more points would see us safe.

we may have to do it without Kevin Mchugh though...looks like his season and therefore career is probably over with a hand injury... 174 LOI goals has him 5th on the all-time list. Great servant to Harps!
    for the non-squeamish have a look at his twitter

Awful, get well soon Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,321 ✭✭✭✭muffler

we may have to do it without Kevin Mchugh though...looks like his season and therefore career is probably over with a hand injury... 174 LOI goals has him 5th on the all-time list. Great servant to Harps!
    for the non-squeamish have a look at his twitter
    That's a nasty looking injury. What was he doing to sustain that?

Looks like he's actually driving that car and taking a "finger selfie". But it shouldn't really affect his football unless he has decided to back into goals or take up playing Gaelic football. If he's reasonable fit in a couple of months again I cant see a finger injury having any effect. Perhaps the auld career is over anyhow.

I wish him well though.

caught his wedding ring on a fence is all iv heard... had to drive himself to hospital alright!
    If it rules him out for a month its probably career over.... and id imagine he cant really risk contact. This was going to be his last year.

McHugh interview on the club site, some man. Awful way to end such a career though.

http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=3894

byte

An article on BBC NI about his accident too.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-37605354

Good enough result for Harps too tonight.