If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boards Golf Society Outing - Carlow Golf Club 12th April 12:30PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,246 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads ,

A couple of lads did not enter scores - so not all names above.

Also - the idea was to enter stableford score - there were actual score entered.

So is good - but needs a bit of training. (:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,246 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

stevieob wrote: »
    got there in the end... looks like a good few didnt fill in their scores!

who won???????

Macker 42 pts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Macker again ffs someone stop him. Quick.

Seriously.

Stop him now.

I am not going to say it again.

Stop him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Macker 42
    Tigerwood 36
    Parlance 34 (back 9)
    Closest to the pin dar-cool
    Longest drive athlone99
    One winner of 2's kieran. (Will go towards petrol for your long drives!)

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Macker again ffs someone stop him. Quick.

Seriously.

Stop him now.

I am not going to say it again.

Stop him.

I couldn't even put him off with my atrocious display around the greens. The man is invincible.

I'm gonna call him ben1977 from now on!!!!!!!!

I think Ballk said he had won it by the 15 th.

So much for pressure - great score.

Lads all the toil and effort and measuring and gps and heavy breathing and practice swings and zoning out , was all in vain by the time you stood on the 16th tee - Macker had it in the bag. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

It's a day of golf today. Carlow this afternoon and watching the Masters tonight - happy days!

I didn't play great today, just about scrambled into the 30s. I managed to par the index 1 though which was some consolation and also managed to par the short par 4 on the back 9 after going into the water!

As Fix said we had a good battle in our game - unfortunately I missed his birdie on the last as I had to go back to hit a provisional off the tee. Fix showed good composure considering the putter wasn't working as well as it usually would.

Golfgraffix hit a great drive on 16 and was still short of dwd's drive! That still wasn't good enough to win longest drive in the boards outing though.

Congrats to macker for a ridiculously good score and to tigerwood for shooting 36 points for second. Considering how tough some of the pin positions and greens were they were very impressive scores.

Looking forward to welcoming ye all to the outing in Ballykisteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,187 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Macker1 wrote: »
    I will certainly try. The game is a bit up and down with my last two comp rounds 42pts :) and then the following day with 32pts. :(

I got out today on my own and worked on a few things and left the course happy. Hopefully the society get to play Carlow in all its glory with some nice weather

You must let us in on the secret Macker... Three 42's in four rounds is some going.

Seriously, what's the secret? :)

Are you only playing since last year?
    You're in line for some drop this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Who won visitors prize?

Course was a great challenge, if you weren't spot on with your approach you were punished, the 4th green wouldn't be out of place at agusta.

Enjoyed the company during the round too, thanks lads.

And thanks again lads for organising.... I'm sure it's not easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I couldn't even put him off with my atrocious display around the greens. The man is invincible.

What I'm replaced already!!! That sounds like a challenge. Will have to win 3 events now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,669 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Ben1977 wrote: »
    What I'm replaced already!!! That sounds like a challenge. Will have to win 3 events now.

the silly thing is you could do it too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Well, my 2nd boards outing & a second round of 32 points I think. 13 on front 19 on back.

Carlow was a lovely trek I thought. Greens a little bumpy in places, but quite quick. Chatting to the captain afterwards & he said they'll be considerably quicker in a couple of weeks time. I wouldn't fancy putting from above the hole on the 4th if it was any quicker as it was like lightning anyway. Some very tricky pin positions out there especially with the crosswinds on the back 9.

The course was testing without being too penal.I found my distance control with the short irons was off, probably due to the changes in elevation of the greens.

Was pretty solid on the tee today, didn't hit driver once but didn't feel I really lost out as the 3w & hybrids were getting good shape & distance.

Probably would say I played 2 holes badly all day, which is probably the difference between a top 3 & where I finished up. Brainfart from inside 130yrds after tee **** on 9th resulted in scratch, and from similar distance on 12th came away with 1 point.

Has the pleasure of the company of Kieran & scuba today. Much like in portumna Kieran got off to a slow start & finished very well. A great drive on the long drive & super ball to 5ft for birdie on the nearest to pin. Scuba went the opposite, rock solid start & front 9, unfortunately I think the 28-36 holes of his day carrying the bag finally took its toll. As always, lovely rhythm to his swing.

Both of the lads should get the handicaps down this year without too much difficulty I reckon.

Ben1977 wrote: »

Who are you??! :)

Your name is on the Dunmurray Springs on already, so just another 2 wins required ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

PARlance wrote: »
    Who are you??! :)

Your name is on the Dunmurray Springs on already, so just another 2 wins required ;)

Bring on the wind and rain!!! Need to get the finger out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Macker1

You must let us in on the secret Macker... Three 42's in four rounds is some going.

Seriously, what's the secret? :)

Are you only playing since last year?
    You're in line for some drop this year.

Only started back playing golf last year when I joined a club for the first time ever. I did play a fair bit when younger before the wife and kids came along. I also played pitch and putt a lot (1 hcp) so the short game and putting is quite strong when on form.

The key for me is over the winter I listened to 4 audiobooks from Bob Rotella and the simple tips about the game in general have led to a more controlled and improved mental performance on the course this year. Good course management by playing to a plan in line with my current handicap I find myself avoiding scratches which helps a lot. I find I'm giving myself more birdie and par opportunities lately by playing smart. 42pts is an excellent score but would it surprise you to know that this round included 3 3-Putts when putting for Birdies. In the past these would have frustrated the hell out of me but now I just get on with the next hole.

I'm in a good run of form at present and will have to enjoy it whilst its lasts.

Really enjoyed the day and it will hopefully continue tomorrow with Liverpool taking a huge stride by beating City :D:D

CharlieIRL....... you are being too kind.

Really enjoyed the day. Another fine course, good weather and excellent company.

Well if macker is superman, we need our kryptonite.

This comes in 9 forms.

A) RIKAND gets the finger out
    B) Ben is back
    C) Macker gets "cut the bollix" - a dublin pub thing
    D) PARLANCE continues his ("questionable") improvement
    E) Stevieob gets a friend of his to come along
    F) Tiger gets a course management course from GreeBo
    G) I get an even fatter grip
    H) Charlie goes long putter. So long he can stay in Athlone
    I) site ban for Macker

Anyway. Your a marked man now Macker. But a pool fan.

So well done again.

I asked you today . Was it the best 9 of your life ?

You forgot about fixing your over the top swing Fix... That, a fatter putter and learning to play on parkland. You'll challenge once you learn another trick Pony ;)

+3 on a links is fine but try playing it where golf today is played... On beautiful parkland courses.

*off to start a thread* :)

You forgot about fixing your over the top swing Fix... That, a fatter putter and learning to play on parkland. You'll challenge once you learn another trick Pony ;)

+3 on a links is fine but try playing it where golf today is played... On beautiful parkland courses.

*off to start a thread* :)

Lol.

Sure the trees made me feel like ****ing Bono or Sting in the rainforest.

Couldn't handle it at all.

Turned to J at one stage and said is that a Christmas tree

Hahaha, ya legend!!!!!! LOL.

Sure not as bad as me looking at Mackers card on back nine.
    There was so many 3 s. I felt I was looking at a forest.

I said, back to me flat dead links.

Dont talk to me about trees, I was going looking for a lumber jack jacket to replace my bucket n spade at one stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Very enjoyable day yesterday even if I didn't play well.

The course is super and as I said a few times yesterday I'd play a few holes differently if I played it again.

Super scores from the winners.

Thanks to dwd and stevieob for putting up with me yesterday and my 'beeping'.
    I'll put up my GameGolf round later.

Disappointed for dwd as I was certain he'd win a prize. Didn't thing his longest drive would be beat. Here's an action shot from yesterday that might cheer him up...

BOOOM

IMAG0014_1_1_zpsoorm1yip.jpg

Reganovski wrote: »
    Very enjoyable day yesterday even if I didn't play well.

The course is super and as I said a few times yesterday I'd play a few holes differently if I played it again.

Super scores from the winners.

Thanks to dwd and stevieob for putting up with me yesterday and my 'beeping'.
    I'll put up my GameGolf round later.

Disappointed for dwd as I was certain he'd win a prize. Didn't thing his longest drive would be beat. Here's an action shot from yesterday that might cheer him up...

BOOOM

IMAG0014_1_1_zpsoorm1yip.jpg

Smashing picture. Was really looking forward to playing this hole and it didn't disappoint. It was some drive on 16th and only got pipped at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Great photo Reganovski, that one and the one on the 16th where easily my best of the day! Not in a bad position at the top of the swing either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

dwd wrote: »
    Great photo Reganovski, that one and the one on the 16th where easily my best of the day! Not in a bad position at the top of the swing either :)

No problem. Send me a PM if you want the original.

Here is my dreadfulness from yesterday via gamegolf

http://www.gamegolf.com/round/15933

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

Did any on the lads in the first two groups lose a tiger shark putter head cover??

kieran. wrote: »
    Did any on the lads in the first two groups lose a tiger shark putter head cover??

I did Kieran, I'll be up to Monaghan in 30 mins :)

I'll grab it off you at the next one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Super scoring Macker. 42 points was great going. I Had 20 points on the front. Was +1 but fell apart after that. Nice to see I got closest to the pin. Thanks to parlance and roadrunner for the company. Cracking course. Greens were lethal. I can't imagine them in the summer!!

dar_cool wrote: »
    Super scoring Macker. 42 points was great going. I Had 20 points on the front. Was +1 but fell apart after that. Nice to see I got closest to the pin. Thanks to parlance and roadrunner for the company. Cracking course. Greens were lethal. I can't imagine them in the summer!!

Thanks Buddy. Well done on the nearest the pin. What happened on the back nine ??