Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Taxi - 9 year rule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Take it down a notch there, Cabanasboy.

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    Well Ardle, congrats on being a Hacker, why don't you go the whole hog and drive/own a proper taxi? Hackneys have escaped regulation and metering (ah sure we'll just think up any price we like, fuel gone up?

In fairness Andrew 'tis a bit rich going on about hackneys escaping regulation when the Taxi industry was deregulated. Also a hackney is a PSV so the car is subject to the same test as a taxi and at the same frequency. Lots of folk prefer getting a hackney anyway, it often works out a fair bit cheaper for the customer. Also hackney companies do not hide their prices from the customer so the customer can know the charge in advance. Hackneys are great really, especially for a small group of people, great value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Well Ardle, congrats on being a Hacker, why don't you go the whole hog and drive/own a proper taxi? Hackneys have escaped regulation and metering (ah sure we'll just think up any price we like, fuel gone up? ah sure, stick another euro on the fare) for far too long so welcome to the real world of Kitty Kat examining your poo (nearly) to make sure it complies with the latest regs. As to your comment about it being none of her business about your vehicle? If you want to earn a living driving people around in a SPSV it's entirely her business so get used to it or get out of the game.
    :confused:Jaysus cabanasboy relax,, are u ok,, i didn't mean to upset you,, i know exactly what i'm talking about,, all yes all the taxis that operate out of my office earn on average 30% more than the Hackneys, and also anyone we agree a price with, will get the fare (most of the time)) cheaper than a taxi metered fare.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I Was VB wrote: »
    A the fact that you dont know what a taxi goes through on a daily basis (like most of the public) your not really somone who i'd heed when it came to choice of cars. I remember when i got my Avensis you put up a fight because of the miles. You come across as a person who will never be happy with any taxi you get.

Simple fact is my cars are kept in good condition (picture i posted was after a weekend in Kerry) clean, with a polite driver that knows his way around Dublin, doesnt smoke, is clean shaven.

Yes, I felt that buying a cheap ass avensis with mega miles just to scrape inside the new regs was a poor way to go.
    You must agree with me to some degree, seeing as you decided against the avensis as a taxi in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭CabanasBoy

RoverJames wrote: »
    In fairness Andrew 'tis a bit rich going on about hackneys escaping regulation when the Taxi industry was deregulated. Also a hackney is a PSV so the car is subject to the same test as a taxi and at the same frequency. Lots of folk prefer getting a hackney anyway, it often works out a fair bit cheaper for the customer. Also hackney companies do not hide their prices from the customer so the customer can know the charge in advance. Hackneys are great really, especially for a small group of people, great value for money.

Well Michael, I really don't think you have a clue. Hackneys may be subject to the same NCT but that's about it, they are not subject to the same suitability test as a proper taxi, as to the claim that hackneys are cheaper than metered cabs? laughable, all cab companies adevertise fixed price runs or 20-25% discounts which apply to the taxis too. Also, even when the Taxi industry was De-reg'd, regulations still applied to the individual car and meter etc. De-reg only related to the number and way plates were issued.

Sorry Andrew. You honestly think your taxi is cheaper than a hackney for a group of 4 on an average urban fare? If so, despite the fact that you drive one for a living you are either off your head or else full of sh**.
    Ever get your car kicked by drunks?? Ever have wimmen leaving fake tan streaks on your seats?? ...........

Yes :mad: & Yes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭Damien360

Sorry Andrew. You honestly think your taxi is cheaper than a hackney for a group of 4 on an average urban fare?

I have to jump on this. Got a taxi last week from the pub with 2 others. Total journey of about 2 miles, total 3 drops. Total cost was 8 quid. Taxi was a very clean avensis and all the taxis are in very good condition in Newbridge.
    Includes a 07 avensis and an 07 mondeo new shape. I cannot think of a crappy taxi in the town at all.

Last night we did the same trip by hackney and it cost 12 quid. Car was a 02 avensis heap of crap with shocks frigged and some very dodgy brakes. That is very common car in Newbridge for a hackney. The hackney company replaced his 98 avensis rubbish with newer 02 avensis last year.

Regulation appears to force decent cars on the taxis and control of fares but the hackneys can continue to roll out rubbish for crap prices.

That particular hackney company rode ye :D

Damien360 wrote: »
    I have to jump on this. Got a taxi last week from the pub with 2 others. Total journey of about 2 miles, total 3 drops. Total cost was 8 quid. Taxi was a very clean avensis and all the taxis are in very good condition in Newbridge.
    Includes a 07 avensis and an 07 mondeo new shape. I cannot think of a crappy taxi in the town at all.

Last night we did the same trip by hackney and it cost 12 quid. Car was a 02 avensis heap of crap with shocks frigged and some very dodgy brakes. That is very common car in Newbridge for a hackney. The hackney company replaced his 98 avensis rubbish with newer 02 avensis last year.

Regulation appears to force decent cars on the taxis and control of fares but the hackneys can continue to roll out rubbish for crap prices.
    :confused: Sorry Damien your comment makes no sense at all,, let me explain,, the only difference between a taxi and a hackney has to do with pick up criteria (methods) nothing to do with the shape, size, cleanliness or year of the car. The areas were the two differ are,, first of all and the most obvious is the taxi roof sign, this enables the taxi to be easily recognisable to people who want to hail a taxi, next a taxi can ply for hire at any designated taxi rank,, and lastly a taxi has a slightly different price structure hence the taxi meter in all taxi's. A hackney cannot ply for hire at a rank and it cannot be hailed by a person on the street also a hackney driver must agree a price with the customer before the journey begins and supply a receipt at the final destination,, it can only receive its bookings/fares from a base through a radio system which has been phoned in by the customer. Most if not all cab companies have both taxis and hackneys on their books. Hope this helped.:)

:confused: The only difference between Taxis and Hackneys is fare structure and pick up criteria.. Ok that's it.... N.C.T and Suitability, size, cleanliness, year all strictly regulated to the exact same spec.Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

greeno wrote: »
    just because it is over 9 years old it doesn't mean that it isn't safe.

Nonsense rule to be honest.

True enough. No one is forcing you to get into an old car, you can pick whichever taxi you like.

And when was the last time someone was injured due to the age of the taxi they were in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I guess if we'd asked the taxi unions to burn all the Carina's, we knew they would have said no..

And when was the last time someone was injured due to the age of the taxi they were in?

So you think a 1988 corolla (for example) is just as safe as a modern car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

mickdw wrote: »
    Yes, I felt that buying a cheap ass avensis with mega miles just to scrape inside the new regs was a poor way to go.
    You must agree with me to some degree, seeing as you decided against the avensis as a taxi in the end.

I do in my hole think it was a poor way to go.
    Just to clarify the Avensis is still on the road as a taxi, not driven by me, but a driver that i have on the books. The Avensis (just tonite as of 18:40) passed its LRA (licence renewal assesment), and with compliments of the SGS tester saying and i quote ''I've never driven a taxi with so many miles that was in such good conditon'' I dont really give a fuk what you think or expect of a taxi. Simple facts are this, i bought a safe, reliable, clean, roadworthy car to taxi and you've still a problem with it.

Here's a few snap of her Mick:

DSC00698.jpg
    DSC00701.jpg
    DSC00702.jpg

Your right Mick what a fukin scraper

Jaysus cabanasboy relax,, are u ok,, i didn't mean to upset you,, i know exactly what i'm talking about,, all yes all the taxis that operate out of my office earn on average 30% more than the Hackneys, and also anyone we agree a price with, will get the fare (most of the time)) cheaper than a taxi metered fare.

-Chris- wrote: »

Take it down a notch there, EVERYBODY!

ardle1 wrote: »
    :confused: The only difference between Taxis and Hackneys is fare structure and pick up criteria.. Ok that's it.... N.C.T and Suitability, size, cleanliness, year all strictly regulated to the exact same spec.Hope this helps.

Suitability test is exactly the same is it?
    No its not.
    It's a ridiculous situation that in order to operate legally I must first purchase a licence for €6300 which then can't be given away (yours cost what? €125?), then I must install a meter and printer at a cost in the region of €700, everytime Kitty Kat has a whim to change the fare I have to pay to have my meter re-calibrated and re-tested and re-sealed or face prosecution. If I'm caught operating with the meter not in use I face a huge fine (unless I fill in a fare waiver form with the pax before each journey). you, on the other hand don't need to do any of that. Hackneys should be either metered or taken off the road. And @ Michael, all cab co's will give discounts regardless of whether its a proper licensed taxi or a Hacker that arrives at your door.

Why not just driver a hackney so Andrew if like as a taxi driver is so bad;)
    I'm sure the lads who paid a fortune for their taxi plate love how you got yours for SO LITTLE.

Why not just driver a hackney so Andrew if like as a taxi driver is so bad;)
    I'm sure the lads who paid a fortune for their taxi plate love how you got yours for SO LITTLE.

Excellent grammer and spelling there Michael, a bit early to be drunk??
    I never complained about my job, I actually enjoy it, I get to work the hours I choose, take as many holidays as I like, generally flute about while mere mortals answer to some dipsh1t manager who's half their age!
    Jealous much Michael?
    I'm commenting on the hackney driver complaining about regulation.
    I paid the official price for my plate, anybody who paid more than £5000 for their plate was buying on the black market so I have zero sympathy for them.
    It must be very difficult for you changing lanes in your car, I mean, how do you see past that chip on your shoulder?

I never complained about my job, I actually enjoy it, I get to work the hours I choose, take as many holidays as I like, generally flute about while mere mortals answer to some dipsh1t manager who's half their age!
    Jealous much Michael?
    I paid the official price for my plate, anybody who paid more than £5000 for their plate was buying on the black market so I have zero sympathy for them.
    It must be very difficult for you changing lanes in your car, I mean, how do you see past that chip on your shoulder?

You seem to alternate between being a taxi driver or not depending on your mood, and your user ID of course :pac:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70002781#post70002781

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

You seem to alternate between being a taxi driver or not depending on your mood, and your user ID of course :pac:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70002781#post70002781

Oh he got ya there :D

Take it down a notch there, EVERYBODY!
    Excellent grammer and spelling there Michael, a bit early to be drunk??
    Jealous much Michael?

Two warnings and you're still posting in a personally insulting manner.

Banned for a week for ignoring mod warnings on-thread and for personal abuse.

Please note: If you post again on the Motors forum under your Andrew42 account (or any other account) during this ban, you'll be banned instantly for a month.

Please note: If you post again on the Motors forum under your Andrew42 account

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70044467#post70044467

Yes Andrew, I was sure :D

You bloody drop it too or you'll be following him. Seriously.

I want 200 yards worth of electrons between you and Cabanasboy from now on or there will be repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It's a ridiculous situation that in order to operate legally I must first purchase a licence for €6300 which then can't be given away (yours cost what? €125?), then I must install a meter and printer at a cost in the region of €700, everytime Kitty Kat has a whim to change the fare I have to pay to have my meter re-calibrated and re-tested and re-sealed or face prosecution. If I'm caught operating with the meter not in use I face a huge fine (unless I fill in a fare waiver form with the pax before each journey). .

You mean the system thats all laid out and transparent that peopel can research before deciding to get in to the industry?

You bloody drop it too or you'll be following him. Seriously.

I want 200 yards worth of electrons between you and Cabanasboy from now on or there will be repercussions.

Fair enough, hardly my problem the chap had two accounts and got confused as to what he posted under each one though is it?

PS Mod or not do not address me in that manner.

Your version of "drop it" and mine seem to be quite different. Infracted for ignoring on-thread mod request.

Just to clarify the Avensis is still on the road as a taxi, not driven by me, but a driver that i have on the books. The Avensis (just tonite as of 18:40) passed its LRA (licence renewal assesment), and with compliments of the SGS tester saying and i quote ''I've never driven a taxi with so many miles that was in such good conditon'' I dont really give a fuk what you think or expect of a taxi. Simple facts are this, i bought a safe, reliable, clean, roadworthy car to taxi and you've still a problem with it.

It looks ok in the pics. Anyway it seems we are going around in circles here because I seem to remember you posting that you didnt actually fancy driving the avensis as your taxi in the end. Also, you might call me a snob but that dodgy leather is hideous, functional no doubt but hideous none the less. I assume its aftermarket 'leather' finish? How does that work with the side impact airbags that may be positioned in the seat bolster?

I thought it was a silver avensis for some reason.

PS Mod or not do not address me in that manner.

I've edited my post. Apologies for the use of strong language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭robtri

Here's a few snap of her Mick:

Your right Mick what a fukin scraper

Sweet motor VB.... looks super...

As nice as it is, after 9 years it has to go, they cant create a rule/law based on the odd one out....
    In fairness from my own personal experience most taxi's over 9 years, are flea bitten death traps, and that is being nice about them...

unfortuantely some really nice motors like yours will suffer at the 9 year mark, but overall it will be good for the taxi industry