Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's On in the City?

• 19-09-2010 3:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭

This thread will take over from Summer Events and from the old general thread.
    Here you can notify others of things; events, happenings, concerts, good restaurants, table quizzes, fundraisers, classes, ...

2 rules
    1. You have to have 200 posts or more to post, or >1 years on boards.
    2. You cannot profit from posting here.
    Old events, too much chat, spam or topics that don't belong will be (re)moved.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,693 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

What about classes?

In the last three weeks, I've walked three different set of posters around town. One was a community group I'm involved in - no profit for anyone. One was a paid set of classes that someone runs thru a trust - gets paid, but it's a mix of subsidies and lesson fees: Mr Just got paid for putting these around, and I helped him for free 'cos I was taking some GalwayTransport.info poster-ish stuff around. One was a set of classes that a friend is running - this was a favour on my part, and is currently loss-making but hopes to become profit making.

In all three cases, I'd have loved to scan the poster and put it somewhere like this sooo much easier than walking, and I genuinely think it would have been appropriate and useful for some boardsies.

I didn't 'cos boards ain't a poster-board, and all the posters have phone numbers.

Any thoughts on these scenarios?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure classes are ok. The thinking behind it is that it will benefit the users here somehow without being just a wall where low count posters will come and just stick up a flyer. Hence the >1year on boards or 200 post count limit, you'll have to be a proven "boardsie".

In the summer thread we said we are still working on the format and this is a second go of that thread where people posted some good stuff and we mods feel there should be a way for people to share that may interest and benefit other boardies.

If you think what you are about to post may be too spammy please PM a mod and check first.
    This is a community and we don't want anyone to take advantage and think it's a great way to advertise for free and sell their wares. I know it's a fine line but we'll try to make it work. Also we have opened up for fundraisers now.

Oh, should anyone have more input about how to make this thread a success - feel free to posts here and hopefully together we can come up with the best format.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Creaven

Creaven wrote: »
    Galway board games club has their weekly get together on every Thursday at 19:00. Everyone is fun and welcoming and we play games such as (but not limited to) Munchkin, Battlestar Galactica, Talisman, Game of Thrones and several others. First time costs nothing so feel free to drop in and have a look to see if it's for you. It takes place at 091 Labs above Kennedy's Bar (Club K) on Eyre Square.

For more info feel free to look at our Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/BoardGamesGalway

All are welcome, we try to keep our nerdiness in check

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭GalwayGaillimh

Ive Talisman up in my attic somewhere great game must be 25 or 26 years since I played it

Si Deus Nobiscum Qui Contra Nos

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Creaven

Ive Talisman up in my attic somewhere great game must be 25 or 26 years since I played it

Then come down this Thursday and re-live the glory of maniacal laughter as you slaughter your foes....or not, depends on your alignment

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭crally

If you are thinking of getting a dog please check out www.madra.ie they are having an adoptathon on Friday 24th and Saturday 25th of August from 8am to 8pm in Trusty Pet Pals in Briarhill Industrial Estate (behind the racecourse).

Galway-choir-membership-poster-soprano-alto-tenor-base-join-new-members.png

Auditions are currently being scheduled.

(Mods - this poster has both phone number and email address .. I hope this is ok 'cos it's on a poster that we're putting around town too.)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

MMInF.png

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Will there be anything happening in Galway City for Halloween for children anyone know? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 29 the pimp

422302_3633937643947_1292508042_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭dantbyhid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

Yay - we like the word FREE so we do.

Come down to Monroes tomorrow night (Weds) for a very special night with Fling, playing their lively blend of Trad, Bluegrass and rock. The band have been touring extensively the last couple of months taking in Spain, Denmark and the Electric Picnic to name but a few of the gigs they have been doing.

The night kicks off with a concert by music students from Esbjerg, Denmark playing a great variety of music from contemporary danish pop/rock artists such as Tina Dickow and Kashmir to traditional danish folk music and some of their own songs.

And the best part about it........its FREEEEEEEE in!

Help us spread the word. As always, thanks a million folks and see yis very soon!
    Doors 8.30
    Show starts 9.30
    Fling on at 10.30

https://www.facebook.com/Flingfolk

www.flingfolk.com

401530_446327675405556_2081114797_n.jpg

Looks like an interesting concert on Saturday night if you're in to serious choral music - Cois Cladaigh are one of the best choirs in town:

cois-cladaigh-concert-Oct-2012.png

Share and enjoy ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

EpochMorelli.jpg

Saturday October 6th 11pm / Factory @ Electric Garden & Theatre
    Admission €10 / Free pre-party @ Bierhaus from 9pm
    Concessions available @ pre-party

Long Island Electrical Systems (or L.I.E.S. for short) has carved a reputation for itself as one of the most exciting labels in underground electronic music. The uncompromising quality of the releases, the uncanny ability of owner Ron Morelli to balance output between new and established talent, and the sheer range of musical styles that L.I.E.S. encompasses has resulted in praise coming in thick and fast from DJs, critics and music lovers alike.

We think it's fair to say that Morelli applies much the same philosophy to DJing as he does to his record label. Anyone who has heard his sets available online for the likes of Little White Earbuds, Juno, Beats In Space, or the live recording of his appearance on the Boiler Room can attest to the quality and variety of his selections.

We could tell you what we expect he might play, but maybe it’s better to just quote the man himself from his recent interview with LWE;
    ”You know, to me, being a DJ, you take the best from every genre, the most interesting style, the most interesting records from all genres, be it disco, house, techno, new beat, African records, soul records, whatever, man.”

Couldn’t have said it better ourselves.

This'll be Ron's first time to visit our fair isle so we must admit to being pretty chuffed about the booking. We’ll be kicking things off with a free pre-party in the Bierhaus from 9pm, so do come join us for beers and a few tunes before we head to the club. Music from residents Colin, Lynam and Enda.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Cakewheels

Hi all, there is already a thread about this research study in the history forum but I'd really like to bring it to the attention of Galway people who don't follow that forum but might be interested in participating. We are looking for 50 male volunteers from some of the oldest families in Galway and who know that their family has been resident in Galway since their grandfathers day to give a DNA sample (a simple cheek swab) in order to find out more about the mix of homelands of the founding fathers of the city.

Swabbing will take place at a special gathering in Kelly's Bar on Sunday the 21st of October at 8pm, where there will also be a short presentation about the study and free finger food. Volunteers will be asked to sign a consent form at this event. Family and friends of volunteers are also welcome to come along of course!

More information and an online sign up form is available at http://www.leicestersurnamesproject.org.uk

If you might be interested in taking part but are not available on the 21st of October it may be possible to work around this if we do not get any other volunteers with your surname, so it is worth using the contact details on the above website to let us know.
    ----
    Link to history forum thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056760117

223224.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭jamesdiver

poster-600x848.jpg

Hi Galway people,

You are all welcome along to this free lecture at NUIG. We will be collecting for St V de P on the night. Heres some more info....

Further info on www.galwaydiving.com
    While there were few diving inventors or innovators in Ireland it is remarkable that many of the early diving pioneers worked around the Irish coast. Local entrepreneurs and salvors were quick to exploit the invention of the helmet and rapidly took on salvage work on their own account. Even before the helmet the wrecks on the Irish coast were salvaged by bell divers and some accounts of their work survive. The main focus of the salvage was cannon – the scarce nuclear weapons of their age and only second coin. This was for two reasons – good cannon were difficult to forge and very scarce but also because of the troubled and rebellious nature of Ireland cannon had to be recovered to prevent their use by Irish insurgents. Thus it happened that many wrecks of historical importance were explored by early divers in Irish waters and several of the big names in diving development submerged around the Irish coast. This talk looks at some of their exploits over the years and will be of interest to local historians and divers alike. Much of the activity was on the west coast so there is some local maritime interest.

Edward Bourke is a diver with Viking sub aqua in Dublin for 30 years and has dived in Australia, South Africa, Spain, Croatia, France and UK as well as Ireland. For a period he edited the CFT magazine Subsea. Over the years he has published three volumes on Shipwrecks of the Irish Coast cataloguing some 6,000 wrecks in Irish waters. A book of Irish shipwreck photos and a book on the wreck of the Tayleur at Lambay near Dublin are also published. His most recent publication was a history of Guinness. While history and historical research is an abiding interest, he is a microbiologist by training and did research into microbial enzymes for his PhD. He works as a scientist with Diageo.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Really looking forward to this, should be interesting!!

Thanks John, pass it around anyone you think might be interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Circus Of Horrors in the Black Box again on 6th November

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Shane.C

Anyone interested in joining the only American Football team in Connacht? The Galway Warriors are now recruiting coaches and players. We have a good group of dedicated guys, link to facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/GalwayWarriorsFootball

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭mcmurphy995

http://www.facebook.com/events/514724001890005/ The Dirty Circus is back in town wh a Halloween special in Galway on friday 26th , in Kellys bar , Kristin Kapelli , Shir Ness , Saint Delirium, Phil Trill, Cantina Bob , Les Hot Culottes , Valentina ............How ya like them apples !!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,933 ✭✭✭thesandeman

The return of PADRAIGS PLACE HALLOWEEN PARTY!!
    This Tuesday 30th October.
    Bracks, Pumpkins, Prizes, Costumes, Nibbles and Tipples.
    Music from The Remaindermen, Ger, Martin, Johnny, V, Harry and all the nightly musicians rolled into one HOWLING HALLOWEEN HOOTENANNY!!

It's been six years since the last one but if it turns out anything like the old days it should be a mad session.

*Declaring an interest but won't be profiting from this.

526008_10151100827311643_539049212_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Circus Of Horrors in the Black Box again on 6th November

have to say, was fecking amazing, well worth the money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

Bernardiposter.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 46 lobes

l.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Michael Nugent

Public meeting 7 pm Monday 26 November, Cairnes Theatre NUI Galway
    Atheist Ireland and NUI Galway Atheist and Humanist Society

Why should a respected Indian author be facing jail for exposing a crying Catholic statue as being caused by faulty plumbing? This week Sanal Edamaruku, the victim of this unjust law, visits Ireland for a speaking tour.

Atheist Ireland is hosting four public meetings, in Dublin, Cork, Galway and Belfast, to promote separation of church and state in Ireland and internationally. We will also be holding a briefing session for TDs and Senators in Leinster House.

Public Meetings
    3.30 Saturday 24 November, Wynns Hotel Dublin
    3 pm Sunday 25 November, Metropole Hotel Cork
    7 pm Monday 26 November, Cairnes Theatre NUI Galway
    7 pm Tuesday 27 November, Malone Lodge Belfast

Indian author Sanal Edamaruku is facing blasphemy charges in India, instigated by the Catholic Church, for exposing a crying Catholic statue as being caused by faulty plumbing and capillary action.

Sanal is President of the Indian Rationalist Association and Rationalist International, and he has written 25 books.

A tantrik guru once tried and failed to kill Sanal, using only magic, on a live television show, after Sanal challenged his supposed powers. See YouTube video of this here:

Michael Nugent and Jane Donnelly of Atheist Ireland will speak on the need for a secular constitution, laws, government, courts, education system and healthcare system, both in Ireland and internationally.

In Ireland an atheist cannot be President or a judge, the Catholic church runs 90% of our primary schools, hospitals make life and death healthcare decisions based on religious ethics, churches are formally exempted from complying with tax and equality laws, and we have recently passed an internationally controversial blasphemy law.

At the United Nations, Islamic states have cited Ireland’s blasphemy law to support their own blasphemy laws. Victims include Christians like Asia Bibi in Pakistan, Muslims like Hamza Kashgari in Saudi Arabia, and atheists like Alexander Aan in Indonesia. Victims have been attacked, jailed and sentenced to execution.

Ireland must act now to separate church and state. At home, we must provide an ethical, secular country based on democracy, human rights, freedom of belief and conscience, and civil liberty. And internationally, we must promote the same values, backed up by acting consistently in our own country.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 madison91

Charity Movember shave-off at the Backstage Bar in Monroe's tomorrow night (FRIDAY), with free entry, live music and a raffle with great prizes from the Kingfisher Club, Salthill Hotel, Yourells, Born Clothing, Barry's Hair and the Pillo Hotel. Doors at 9pm!