Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad replacement words

• 13-08-2010 5:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭

I lol everytime I hear people going on about the head 'poncho'. Or when they're being 'pacific'. What other mad stuff have people heard?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Head poncho?

Edit: I'm slow today lol

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭conorhal

Kimia wrote: »
    I lol everytime I hear people going on about the head 'poncho'. Or when they're being 'pacific'. What other mad stuff have people heard?

I remember something about some eejit a while back there going on about claims that he misrepresented his finances to an ethics committee being all 'smoke and daggers'.....

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Your post, seriously no joke I have never heard that sort of thing before.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,427 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Well theres a song that I always sing and dunno the words, ye know the one

"my love has got no money, he's got his trombeleeze..."

WTF is a trombeleeze???!!!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Shelli2

It's usually song lyrics that stick my head. I had a friend who sang the start of "Summer of 69" as :
    "I had my first real sex dream".....changes the whole meaning of the song! LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

conorhal wrote: »
    I remember something about some eejit a while back there going on about claims that he misrepresented his finances to an ethics committee being all 'smoke and daggers'.....

I know it's smoke and mirrors, but what's the other one.. something about daggers? I feel there's an actual saying that has been mixed up..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭storm2811

What does head poncho stand for?:confused:

My geography teacher used to say pacific instead of specific,don't know if it was intentional though.

storm2811 wrote: »

My geography teacher used to say pacific instead of specific,don't know if it was intentional though.

It should be 'head honcho', as in the boss or whatever.

I know it's smoke and mirrors, but what's the other one.. something about daggers? I feel there's an actual saying that has been mixed up..
    Cloak and Daggers ;)

I too am having a slow day. I LOVE that saying! I always imagine some hooded person a la Voldemort lurking in the shadows. But in a non-scary way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

storm2811 wrote: »

I think it means manager or something. For a bit there I was picturing a poncho type thing on the head lol

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Donie Cassidy while speaking in the Seanad praising the work of the Jekyll and Hyde foundation, he meant the Jack and Jill foundation.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Dean09 wrote: »

It's "Strong Beliefs"

• Registered Users Posts: 49 FLCP

Scarydoll wrote: »
    I think it means manager or something. For a bit there I was picturing a poncho type thing on the head lol

Mate of mine used to say that she'd 'put the spanner amongst the pigeons', quality mixed metaphor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Chicargo. Why?

THall04 wrote: »
    It's "Strong Beliefs"

Oh I see.........

I still like my way better :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭chasm

Damn, that song will be stuck in my head all day now!
    Gala, freed from desire, oh and the lyrics are
    "My love has got no money He's got his strong beliefs"....yours are better lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

"In my Opingin" instead of Opinion :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Shelli2 wrote: »
    It's usually song lyrics that stick my head. I had a friend who sang the start of "Summer of 69" as :
    "I had my first real sex dream".....changes the whole meaning of the song! LOL

Not really. There's an interview with Brian Adams where he says 69 is not a year ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

For all intensive purposes.........:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Billin & millin instead of Billion & million. Ned O'Keeffe being a serial offender

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

A friend of my exes thought it was "patience is avert you" thinking it meant patience was somehow avoiding you.

I saw someone say in pearl instead of in peril. hehe

Cloak and dagger saying rocks. It reminds me of in Aladdin when Jafar is in disguise at the old crone man trying to get Aladdin to go into the cave for him. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

E.T. wrote: »
    Chicargo. Why?

Chicargo can be lovely in Aurgust, just as Puncherstown can be in Spring.

Blancherstown however can be difficult to reach from Fizzboro especially if you are living in a Coporation house.

Why?

why?

Pure fcuking laziness, that's why.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... but what's the other one.. something about daggers? ...
    Cloak and dagger - spies, double-dealing, subterfuge, nefarious deeds, that sort of stuff.

Upset the apple tart (should be apple cart)
    Wet my appetite (should be "whet" or sharpen my appetite)
    I should of, a firm favourite on boards.ie (I should have)

Honcho is from the Japanese han = head + cho = team, giving team head or leader

(sorry some replied to already - web connection is like treacle today)

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

Scarydoll wrote: »

Head Honcho! Surley

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Oh I see.........

I still like my way better :pac:

When that song came out first ,we had no such thing as Google and that feckin' "tromboleese" lyric drove me mental for several months.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Up on a pedal stool... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

In Cork there was a church called "The Good Shepherds" who would take in orphans. It was a popular threat to children "Cop on, or I'll send ya to the Cuchepurds!" :D