Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham 2009 Fantasy League: official thread

• 09-03-2009 3:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭

**Please ensure all posts for the League are entered here.**

(PM me with any issues\queries etc that you don't want to discuss publically)

Here be the rules:

1. €50 (or $65) entry fee. Winner takes 100% of the prize pool. You must pay in advance. My pokerstars username is Stuntgirl. Anyone who slags me about this will be killed. I will pay out the prizepool immediately following the Festival to the user's account on pokerstars.
    (we can make alternative arrangements if you don't have a stars account)

2. You get 1,000 fantasy euro to wager on the upcoming Cheltenham festival. Winner is obviously the person with the largest fantasy 'bank' at the end of the week.

3. Max bet per race is 100 fantasy euro. Win or each-way bets only (no place only bets). Minimum bet per race is 20 fantasy euro. You do not have to bet in every race. You can back more than one horse in a single race (up to a total stake of 100 in that race) but multiple selections can only add up to 100 fantasy euro max in that race. No doubles\trebles etc.
    The Place portion of any EW bet will be paid at 1/4 the odds of the S.P., number of places determined by number of runners.
    You must wager a minimum of 250 fantasy euro per day of racing (unless you start the day with less in your bank)

4. All bets for each day's racing must be nominated in this thread by 1pm on each day of racing. If you have not posted by then, you will be presumed to have placed no bets for that day. One post per entrant per day. You can edit your post up to 1pm as much as you like, any editing after 1pm will result in forfeit of 750 fantasy euro and your bets for that day being null and void.

5. All bets are at official starting prices.

6. Richie can nominate mdwexford's selections as he is banned.

7. All my decisions are final and any disagreement is pointless.

8. I will post an updated League table each evening after the day's racing.

9. If you select a horse that is subsequently declared a non-runner (and do not amend your post before 1pm), your stake is automatically transferred to the favourite in that race. In the case of joint or co-favourites, it will transfer to the horse with the lowest racecard number.

Here be the runners and riders:

paid in full: 65 * 19 = $1,235
    El Stuntman
    nicnicnic
    hatedajacks
    The Improver
    [nicK]
    reilly110
    RasTa
    DAMO72
    strewelpeter
    babymaker6
    carrigeen
    rounders123
    Connie147
    Derrence
    jprender
    Hawk Eye
    Degag
    eoghan104
    requiem4adream

monies en route:
    pppspecial

total prize pool should be $1,300 once all monies received

happy punting

• Registered Users Posts: 39,507 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Stickified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

2.40 star de mohaison.. 100 win
    3.20 sublimity.. 25ew
    4.00 l'ami.. 100win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Cousin Vinny 1.30 €100 win
    Cailin Alainn 2.40 €25 EW
    Tartak 2.05 €25 EW
    Binocular 3.20 €100 win
    Dix Villez 4.00 €25 EW
    United 4.40 €50 EW

probably add a few in early races tomorrow if I'm out of bed early enough

El Stunt shouldn't we have a minimum amount that has to be bet each day at least €250 or so

edited again, cant decide if win or each way is best strategy guess I'll go prudent for day one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

money transferred

heading there in the morning for 2 days racing so i will post my tues and weds picks now if thats ok

tues
    1.30 cousin vinny 100€ win
    2.05 kalahari king 25€ ew
    3.20 celestial halo 100€ win
    4.00 lami 100€ win
    4.40 megans joy 25€ ew

Weds
    1.30 coe 75€ win
    2.05 mad max 100€ win
    2.40 cooldine 100€ win
    3.20 master minded 100€ win
    4.00 dansimar 25€ ew
    5.15 dunquib 100€ win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

nicnicnic wrote: »
    El Stunt shouldn't we have a minimum amount that has to be bet each day at least €250 or so

good idea, 250 seems reasonable - can't see any of these particular degens protecting their bank on Day 4 though!

carrigeen wrote: »
    money transferred

heading there in the morning for 2 days racing so i will post my tues and weds picks now if thats ok

tues
    1.30 cousin vinny 100€ win
    2.05 kalahari king 25€ ew
    3.20 celestial halo 100€ win
    4.00 lami 100€ win
    4.40 megans joy 25€ ew

Weds
    1.30 coe 75€ win
    2.05 mad max 100€ win
    2.40 cooldine 100€ win
    3.20 master minded 100€ win
    4.00 dansimar 25€ ew
    5.15 dunquib 100€ win

no problem, enjoy (ye fecker)

[nicK] wrote: »
    tue 2:40: star de mohaison - 100pts win

Hi nicK,

note the new condition above (just added); you must bet at least 250 fantasy euro per day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭The Improver

1. 1:30 red moloney 50 e/w
    2. 2:05 forpaddytheplasterer 50 e/w
    3. 3:20 binocular 100 win

total: 300

1. 1:30 red moloney 50 e/w
    2. 2:05 forpaddytheplasterer 50 e/w
    3. 3:20 binocular 100 win
    4. 3:20 brave inca 25 e/w

total: 350

3. Max bet per race is 100 fantasy euro. Win or each-way bets only (no place only bets). Minimum bet per race is 20 fantasy euro. You do not have to bet in every race. You can back more than one horse in a single race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭The Improver

3. Max bet per race is 100 fantasy euro. Win or each-way bets only (no place only bets). Minimum bet per race is 20 fantasy euro. You do not have to bet in every race. You can back more than one horse in a single race

oops, will be back for more

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Couple of suggestions. If someone selects a horse that turns out to be a non-runner and they dont edit their new selection in by 1pm the stake should go onto the fav in the race. In the case of joint or co-favs it goes on the lowest racecard numbered fav. This will stop requests and save you a lot of time in the afternoon running around editing in new selections for people during the day.

Friday. Players can opt to pm you their selections on friday morning(friday only) instead of posting them into the thread. After 1pm you copy and paste the pm'd selections into the thread. This is to stop cunning players like Nicky Power who lets say are so far ahead going into friday from copying longshot selections of his nearest pursuer/s so significant ground cant be gained:P!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Hi nicK,

note the new condition above (just added); you must bet at least 250 fantasy euro per day

How can you add a condition this late on one participants recommendation also it's a stupid condition, I'm withdrawing.

Edit to say md out aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

$130 transferred to stuntgirl for connie147 and Derrence.

Selections to follow.

Connie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

How can you add a condition this late on one participants recommendation also it's a stupid condition, I'm withdrawing.

Edit to say md out aswell

Busto?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

Transferred on Stars, winners to follow later.

Tues Chelt bets for Derrence

cousin vinny
    €100 win--1.30pm
    planet of sound--€50 e.w.--2.05pm
    celestial halo----€50 e.w.---3.20pm.
    Garde Champepre-€100 win.--4.00pm

400 fantasy euros staked.

Tues selections for Connie147

Forpaddytheplasterer--€50 e.w.---2.05pm.
    Drombeag
    €50 e.w.---4.00pm.
    Quevega
    €100 win.--4.40pm.
    Osana
    €50 e.w.---3.20pm

€400 staked.

Connie

connie147 wrote: »
    Tues Chelt bets for Derrence

cousin vinny
    €100 win--1.30pm
    planet of sound--€50 e.w.--2.05pm
    celestial halo----€50 e.w.---3.20pm.
    Garde Champepre-€100 win.--4.00pm

400 fantasy euros staked.

Tues selections for Connie147

Forpaddytheplasterer--€50 e.w.---2.05pm.
    Drombeag
    €50 e.w.---4.00pm.
    Quevega
    €100 win.--4.40pm.
    Osana
    €50 e.w.---3.20pm

€400 staked.

Connie

Connie are you in Cheltenham, whats the weather like

what's the story with these Cousin Vinny rumours flying about?

also, mdwexford and Richie, LOL :pac:

they obviously didn't read Rule 7: "7. All my decisions are final and any disagreement is pointless."

what's the story with these Cousin Vinny rumours flying about?

"

just this i think

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59345757&postcount=53123

[nicK] wrote: »
    tue 2:40: star de mohaison - $250 win

sorry nicK, you probably feel like I am picking on you!

it's max 100 per race but you must stake at least 250 in total per day of racing

sorry about this, the 250 per day rule got posted after you put your bet up

Couple of suggestions. If someone selects a horse that turns out to be a non-runner and they dont edit their new selection in by 1pm the stake should go onto the fav in the race. In the case of joint or co-favs it goes on the lowest racecard numbered fav. This will stop requests and save you a lot of time in the afternoon running around editing in new selections for people during the day.

seems reasonable, I will amend the rules accordingly
    Friday. Players can opt to pm you their selections on friday morning(friday only) instead of posting them into the thread. After 1pm you copy and paste the pm'd selections into the thread. This is to stop cunning players like Nicky Power who lets say are so far ahead going into friday from copying longshot selections of his nearest pursuer/s so significant ground cant be gained:P!.

very devious of you rounders, good suggestion

people are free to do this any day if they fear that their world-beating form analysis is likely to be copied!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Selections Pm'ed

RasTa wrote: »
    Selections Pm'ed

a cautious man ;)

I will post them up after the 1pm deadline tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Just transferred you the monies El S from KKcardcooler on stars.

Selections

1:30 Go Native €50 win
    2:05 Calgary Bay €100 win
    3:20 Binocular €50 win
    4:40 Quevega €50 win

Just to make the calculations easier im FTW on everything and no loling at my choices, I know very little about horse racing.

Connie are you in Cheltenham, whats the weather like

I'm here since yesterday Nicky and havent seen a drop of rain yet!!

Connie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Tuesday selections
    2.40 Star De Mohaison 50 e/w
    3.20 Punjabi 50 e/w
    4.00 Dix Villez 50 e/w

• Registered Users Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭Degag

Just transferred $65 on Stars - SN is C-DAWG919

Tues bets are:

1.30: Kempes 25 e/w
    2.05: Calgary Bay 50 e/w
    2.40: Star de Muhaison 25 e/w
    3.20: Katchit 25 e/w
    4.00: Dix Velez 25 e/w
    4.40: Chomba Womba 25/e/w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

my runners for tuesday
    4.00- l,ami 100- win
    2.05-planet of sound-30 e/w
    2.40-millenium royal-30 e/w
    4.40-give it time-30 e/w

interesting that no-one has gone for a big spin strategy on Day 1 yet...

also, what's the word on the going, is it officially turned soft?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭aya14

Sick I can't take part due to not being around thurs and fri:mad:

Going as of 7.00am officially is, on all 3 courses is Good to Soft(soft in places)

Theres 75% chance it'll remain g to s for the first 2 days at least

EDIT: the ground for last 3 hurdles and the hill is good to soft nice ground for Binocular to sprint away