Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did something to my bike thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭bsb1971

Bought this Specialised S Works E5 on ebay, after numerous failures at buying a CAAD10 frameset. Planning to build it up with Ultegra 6800, have a 3T Arx stem and ergonova bars, a set of mavic Kysrium wheels, 3T seat post or Look ergopost.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

I finally got around to fitting the Conti Gatorskins from the Black Friday Halfords deal to the Vitus today, replacing the stock Kendas. Wow are they a b!tch to fit, though hopefully I won't have to do anything else with them for a while.

Also replaced the cartridge on the rear brakes. Being able to stop helps!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Dropped the bike in to have the rear wheel straightened. It's been slightly out since being kicked by a scrote back in December. Brought it to 2wheels which seems to have become my go to place and as always the service was super.

Came home and while the wheel was off I decided to take the freehub apart, gave it a clean and used some synthetic engine oil, found this recommended online. The wheel is spinning lovely and smoothly now, I may buy a new freehub body and pawls coming into the summer, 50quid all in so cheap enough.

Still have a set of Ksyrium Elites here too in the box but I may just keep them tucked away

• Registered Users Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭secman

I finally got around to fitting the Conti Gatorskins from the Black Friday Halfords deal to the Vitus today, replacing the stock Kendas. Wow are they a b!tch to fit, though hopefully I won't have to do anything else with them for a while.

Also replaced the cartridge on the rear brakes. Being able to stop helps!

Snap... fitted a pair last night too to my old steel frame, not the easiest to put on. And also fitted a pair of conti gp4000 to my cannondale, an easier fit, but they do feel a lot thinner than the gators .

• Registered Users Posts: 47 ninoon

Dismantled cleaned and lubed Mavic SLS freehub which had started making strange noise when descending fast freewheeling . Seems to be cured now.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭TychoCaine

secman wrote: »
    Snap... fitted a pair last night too to my old steel frame, not the easiest to put on. And also fitted a pair of conti gp4000 to my cannondale, an easier fit, but they do feel a lot thinner than the gators .

Same here. I replaced some 23c Conti Grand Prix with 25c Gatorskins on Mavic CXP 22s last week. They took forever, even with tyre levers.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Bought this Giant over the weekend,nice upgrade from my 10 speed Aluminium Corratec which will now serve as a wet weather/winter bike.

untitled.png

untitled_2.png

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭twinsen

I killed 2nd bike in 6 months:
    413289.jpg

413290.jpg

Wow! That's both impressive and scary. I have to ask what you were doing to cause that!

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭twinsen

Wow! That's both impressive and scary. I have to ask what you were doing to cause that!

Just cycling to work every day for past 8 years. Was lucky enough just going to full stop on O'Connell bridge when it snapped.

Yeah, it was lucky that it didn't go at speed.

On the plus side though... You need another bike. Silver linings and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Technically it wasn't mine :eek:

Happier bum after the chop :D

757f6913-e77e-49d2-994c-d2e1cce4704f_zpspheskbow.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

... fitted a new GP4000SII and Continental tube.

I generally find it a little difficult to get these tyres on without resorting to using levers for the last part. But of more interest might be why I fitted them in the first place.

On Wednesday, I was desending lovers leap outside Eniskerry. Anyone who knows the road will know this is a steep hill and when I gently applied the brakes to moderate my speed, I heard a noise like you'd hear if the tyre picked something up from the road. Immediately afterwards, I heard a rumbling noise followed by lots of vibration.

A blowout. :eek:

Luckily the tyre somehow stayed on and the rIm never touched the road. The tyre was messed up (as was the tube) but I managed to gradually stop without incident.

But that's not the cautionary note.

After I fitted the new tyre tonight, I tweaked the brake adjustment and then saw the reason for the blowout: the RHS brake block was too high and would have made contact with the tyre wall when applied The bolt wasn't tight so I guess it must have gotten loose at some stage and actually shifted on the descent.

All sorted now but I think I'll be checking my brakes more often from now on.

Blowouts at 59.3 kmph (thanks Strava) are no fun :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Swapped my 10 speed 105 crank for a new 6800 Ultegra on my new Cippolini Bond. Also replaced the 120mm 3T stem for a 110mm Zipp one. Next up is to replace one of the tubs.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Ok, so probably not worth a post...but the new bottle really ties the bike together :p

[IMG][/img]wilier.jpgimage hosting no registration

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fitted Crud MK3 mudguards to my new Felt VR30. I'm not as impressed with them as I was with the MK2's which I had for 3 years without issue. The MK3's seem to flop about at the rear much more and as a result I've had to mount them slightly higher than I'd like to prevent them swinging off the tyre at the rear. On a plus note, they're easy to remove and refit (2 minute job tops) and so i'll only stick them on when needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

My thumbs are killing me. Like really bad :(

I've had some tough tyres-onto-wheels in my time but this afternoon was a right pain in the hole. The fact I put the wrong tyres on the wrong wheels didn't help. I was going for a 23mm front and a 25mm rear, which I managed to feck up. Double thumb pain.

My thumbs look kind of yellow now. That's probably not good.

I only put these on the bike to give them a lash to sate "stuff" before selling them, hopefully.

They look nice though. And make a lovely freewheel sound! It's a Reynolds Assault/Strike Combo.

Lovely "Woosh, Woosh" sound.

108gxsz.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

I will await your ad, as they look rather nice

• Registered Users Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

108gxsz.jpg

WTF David?!! Paint that bloody shed already will ya?!

(Do I sound like your missus yet........??!!) :P

WTF David?!! Paint that bloody shed already will ya?!

(Do I sound like your missus yet........??!!) :P

It's gonna take more than paint to bring that back :D

Spent about an hour adjusting and then re-adjusting the Crud Mk3 guards so as to get them sitting so they don't knock off the tyre and rattle on rough ground. Finally managed to get them sitting right and now have to figure out a way of marking the position so that if I remove them, I can refit them in the exact same position without having to faff about adjusting them afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Spent about an hour adjusting and then re-adjusting the Crud Mk3 guards so as to get them sitting so they don't knock off the tyre and rattle on rough ground. Finally managed to get them sitting right and now have to figure out a way of marking the position so that if I remove them, I can refit them in the exact same position without having to faff about adjusting them afterwards.

I use electrical take to mark the position on my frame.

I thought of that but as they use duotec (Velcro) strips to attach to the frame, it's not just height but fore/aft postition on the Velcro strip too which is difficult to mark.

My son complained recently that his 7-year old Carrera Vengeance (Halfords hardtail mountain bike inherited from his older brother) was making some funny noises, so I suggested he oil the chain. This seemed to solve the problem until reports came back some days later that the pedals were moving around a bit and the chain had come off.

Upon further investigation, I saw that the problem wasn't in fact the chain. It looked like the bottom bracket has disintegrated as the cranks were moving around a lot.I removed them to have a closer look and saw that BB bits - balls, bearing cages, etc - were coming out of the BB and after some jiggling, the axle itself dropped out :eek:

Post-removal pic:
    421432.jpg

It's the square-taper type so I had a go at removing it. No way! A quick browse of the internet came up with a number of suggestions, but the one I liked most was to use a QR Skewer to hold the tool firmly in place while I used a spanner. In the end, I didn't have enough leverage and I had to use a hammer on the spanner to "shock" it off. I removed the drive-side first and the other side came off easily afterwards - this is a pic of the setup on the non-drive side:

421433.jpg

And yes, I did check the internet about seventy billionty times to confirm that the drive-side has a reverse thread: clockwise to remove wink.png

The shell of the BB revealed the spec - 123mm BC 1.37 X 24T - and I then discovered I actually had one in a box somewhere.

421434.jpg

I cleaned up the BB shell and greased everything up before installing the "new" BB. A quick ride afterwards revealed all was fine again (well, about as fine as a properly used, 7-year old Halfords mountain bike can be). And then I remembered an earlier comment that the brakes weren't great ...

I was on a roll at this point, so I decided to replace the rear disc pads - the old ones were down to the metal - and I also topped up the brake fluid on the front brake for good measure.

It's a great feeling when things work out :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Not all today but in the last week....
    Swapped out the Ultegra Crankset for an FSA Powerbox power meter. On the first test run I noticed a fairly pronounced clicking noise as the NDS pedal went through 3 o clock. Figured that it was the BB and seeing as it had about 5000km in all weather on it I did the decent thing and replaced it.
    As soon as I started putting down a bit of power the clicking started again, especially when I got out of the saddle. Double checked everything, torqued the cranks, checked the chainrings and even my cleats and shoes and the only thing left was the pedals. So yesterday I got new pedals. No harm either as the other ones were 2 years old. Upgraded a few levels from look Keo Easy to Keo Max.
    Still clicking.
    Changed the cleats.
    Still clicking.
    Re checked again and had a good look at frame and BB shell and still she clicked.
    Then I opened the QR to make sure the wheel was properly positioned, it was but when I tightened the QR again I gave it a bit more and lo and behold the clicking stopped.
    Could have saved myself €150 if I did that first :(
    I'm just going to keep telling myself that I really needed the pedals and BB.

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Not all today but in the last week....
    Swapped out the Ultegra Crankset for an FSA Powerbox power meter. On the first test run I noticed a fairly pronounced clicking noise as the NDS pedal went through 3 o clock. Figured that it was the BB and seeing as it had about 5000km in all weather on it I did the decent thing and replaced it.
    As soon as I started putting down a bit of power the clicking started again, especially when I got out of the saddle. Double checked everything, torqued the cranks, checked the chainrings and even my cleats and shoes and the only thing left was the pedals. So yesterday I got new pedals. No harm either as the other ones were 2 years old. Upgraded a few levels from look Keo Easy to Keo Max.
    Still clicking.
    Changed the cleats.
    Still clicking.
    Re checked again and had a good look at frame and BB shell and still she clicked.
    Then I opened the QR to make sure the wheel was properly positioned, it was but when I tightened the QR again I gave it a bit more and lo and behold the clicking stopped.
    Could have saved myself €150 if I did that first :(
    I'm just going to keep telling myself that I really needed the pedals and BB.

I've been there! I had a creak/crack on my bike that coincided with pedal revolutions. Or maybe handlebar movement? A guy at work told me it was the seatpost - carbon in my case - so I took it out and used some carbon paste that came with the bike. It fixed it, or so I thought until it came back. I had the creak/crack for over a year and it was getting very annoying. Every so often, I'd go at it and try something new. Sometimes this would help but I always thought there might have been a placebo-thing going on.

I like buying shiney new things for my bike and if the shiney thing was something that could creak, then the decision to purchase was escalated. I purchased new saddles, changed the BB and the headset. No difference.

I then looked at actions that didn't require a purchase. I greased the seatpost and seatpost collar, lubricated all contact points between the saddle and seatpost, lubricated all the places where the cables and the frame came together, greased the dropouts and the QRs, checked the wheels, the frame and the pedals. No difference.

I then saw an ad for a reduced 105 groupset - something I always wanted. Like, with all my other work, surely if I changed the groupset, there would be nothing left to make a noise? It would have to work. Surely?

The groupset didn't help, the creak/crack was still there.

At this point, I was wondering did I have a bike at all, or had it morphed into a reincarnation of triggers broom - somehow capable of hanging on to a noise even though there was nothing of the original bike left unreplaced/unchecked, that could be causing the problem :mad:

I spoke to my friend again and he said I should really have another good look at the seatpost. I did and purchased some carbon assembly paste - the one I was using came with the bike and as there was only a small amount of it, I wasn't sure I was using enough.

When the paste (link) came in, I lashed it on and the noise went away. For ever.

I miss the noise now ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Banished my terminally ill Ksyrium Elite's to the shed late last year after a smash. Been borrowing some Fulcrum Racing 3s since I got back on the road in April. Mate needed them back so full freehub service on the draggy as hell rear wheel and a massive true on the front (now straight but egg shaped). 100k jaunt on them today and nothing broke. Happy days.
    (I make no apologies for the hideous saddle bag)
    20170708_120330-01_zpsujly6u4d.jpeg

How long is that stem? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

Got a puncture on the rear wheel on the commute to work last night. Could not get the tyre back on at the part where the valve is inserted. Looks like rim tape is thickest at this point and the side walls would just not sit in. Any advise?

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    How long is that stem? :eek:
    Just 140mm :).