Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silk Road Founder, Ross Ulbricht, Gets Life In Prison Without Parole

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

That's interesting. Wonder what criteria was used. People can still just go for a few drinks, whereas are there as much proportionally who can just have the odd bang of heroin/crack/meth now and again?

Sanitation wise too, alcohol would be prepared in better conditions - this is another reason why I think drugs should be legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

catallus wrote: »
    How is any of the stuff in that link even tangentially related to Ross Ulbricht?

Do you mean besides the entire investigation being focused on him? Did you open the link? Are you in the right thread?

They're the agents, the case in question is the same one as the op.The poster I quoted brought up those charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

nm wrote: »
    Do you mean besides the entire investigation being focused on him? Did you open the link? Are you in the right thread?

They're the agents, the case in question is the same one as the op.The poster I quoted brought up those charges.

Ulbricht isn't mentioned once in that article :confused:

The article has nothing to do with him or his charges.

Am I wrong?

Ulbricht isn't mentioned once in that article :confused:

The article has nothing to do with him or his charges.

Am I wrong?

I think the part your missing is that endoftheroad brought up the murder hire charges. I was pointing out that the DEA agents that were handling that case (against Ross Ulbricht) are going to jail themselves, for stealing money during the investigation. Details of that are contained in the link.
    Basically they were the agents after him, and because of the information in that link those charges against him were dropped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

nm wrote: »
    Basically they were the agents after him, and because of the information in that link those charges against him were dropped.

No there are two agents within the DEA who were charged with stealing bitcoins.

You can't jump to the conclusion that this is the reason the charges were dropped.

In all likelihood the charges were dropped because nobody was killed on the contracts sought and paid for by Ulbricht, mainly because he was intercepted by FBI/DEA.

No there are two agents within the DEA who were charged with stealing bitcoins.

You can't jump to the conclusion that this is the reason the charges were dropped.

In all likelihood the charges were dropped because nobody was killed on the contracts sought and paid for by Ulbricht, mainly because he was intercepted by FBI/DEA.

Well im glad you've figured what it had to do with him anyway.

The charge was soliciting murder, no one has to die.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭tigger123

If you're running a website that facilitates the sale of illegal materials to that degree, you have to expect more than a slap on the wrist.

What was the total dollar amount of business that went through the site?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

tigger123 wrote: »
    If you're running a website that facilitates the sale of illegal materials to that degree, you have to expect more than a slap on the wrist.

What was the total dollar amount of business that went through the site?

Not a fan of reading OPs before posting?

"In the three years before it was shut down, it facilitated over 1.5 million transactions totaling $214 million."

• Registered Users Posts: 13,298 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

He wasn't accused of murder, he was accused of soliciting murder, and there's plenty of evidence that he is guilty of that.

He wasn't accused of that in this trial though, he faces a potential future trial for solicitation. So its surely wrong that the judge in this trial appeared to declare him guilty of it.
    How is any of the stuff in that link even tangentially related to Ross Ulbricht?

In some jurisdictions it could have been enough to get Ulbricht off the charges completely, e.g., in London many guilty people got off in the 70s when it became clear that the investigating officers at Scotland Yard were grossly corrupt. Unsafe convictions etc.

By the way even if the above is a stretch I definitely think Ulbrichts defence should have at least been allowed mention it during the trial. It could have played well with a jury "hey its absolute verifiable fact that two of these senior investigating officers are under investigation for multi-million dollar theft, can we really be sure there weren't more in their unit, perhaps capable of falsifying evidence etc". All you need is to swing one juror.
    Yet by all accounts the defence weren't even allowed mention it for procedural reasons.

He's fairly clearly guilty, but **** me I don't like how loaded the legal system is in the governments favour in the US.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Not worse than heroin or crack or meth IMO.

Alcohol can every bit a bad as all of the above, I've seen a man the evening before he died with water on the brain from drinking and it ain't pretty let me tell ya

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

What did he, or indeed anyone else, expect??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I'll wait for the movie with Jim Sturgess.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Irelandcool

thing his the guy did attempt to use hired hitman to take out several he believe posed a threat to his enterprise. I have no problem with someone selling drugs and believe in the legalization/discrimination I would of been just fine if it been drugs but he did try to get people murdered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Alcohol can every bit a bad as all of the above, I've seen a man the evening before he died with water on the brain from drinking and it ain't pretty let me tell ya
    I've no doubt it can be every bit as bad in sufficient quantities, I'm just surprised at it being deemed, overall, worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,060 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He wasn't accused of that in this trial though, he faces a potential future trial for solicitation. So its surely wrong that the judge in this trial appeared to declare him guilty of it.

The evidence was submitted by prosecutors for consideration by the judge, though.

It's information that no doubt led to the severe sentence handed down.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

thing his the guy did attempt to use hired hitman to take out several he believe posed a threat to his enterprise. I have no problem with someone selling drugs and believe in the legalization/discrimination I would of been just fine if it been drugs but he did try to get people murdered.

He probably thought he was in The Matrix or some crap, until a big ugly CIA goon showed up and shoved an Uzi up his arse. Sh1t, at that point, would've gotten Real.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Batgurl

thing his the guy did attempt to use hired hitman to take out several he believe posed a threat to his enterprise... but he did try to get people murdered.

Did he? Has he been convicted of that? What happened to innocent until proven guilty?

As I mentioned before, Ross lost control of the site after setting it up. That will play a huge part in determining who (if genuine and that in itself is open to discussion) made those solicitations...

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭identer

wrong citation i believe

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

So it was a personal campaign to liberate us all from nasty government laws?

And there's me thinking he was trying to make himself a shed load of money by facilitating the buying and selling of illegal substances.

That was the implication of my post. Too dry maybe? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

uch wrote: »
    Bollix, I've lived with a drug problem for 30 years and cúnts like this that make it easier to score whatever you want are as guilty as the lads on O'Connell bridge, they have no thought for anybody but themselves, so fuk him, rot in hell you fuker

Nobody ever forced you to take drugs, that statement is a load of bollix! "Rot in hell" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Did he knowingly facilitate the trade in cp?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Did he knowingly facilitate the trade in cp?

He didn't. I took a look at the site when it was there. There was everything but child porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Initially I thought the sentence was harsh - but then I read through some of the chatlogs of him hiring hitmen, which I recommend others do to get an idea of his character - an example:
    In my eyes, FriendlyChemist is a liability and I wouldn’t mind if he was executed, but then you’d be out your $700k. I don’t think he is going to come up with the money because he seems very desperate. I’m not sure how much you already know about the guy, but I have the following info and am waiting on getting his address:

Blake Krokoff
    Lives in an apartment near White Rock Beach
    City: White Rock
    Province: British Columbia
    Wife + 3 kids
    Let me know if it would be helpful to have his full address.
    http://www.wired.com/2015/02/read-transcript-silk-roads-boss-ordering-5-assassinations/

Another good article:
    http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2015/05/sunk-how-ross-ulbricht-ended-up-in-prison-for-life/1/

Cold blooded scumbag tbh. He attempted to hire hitmen on 4 other occasions as well - in one case, being happy for the housemates of one of his targets to be murdered too, just to make the job easier - and he exchanged money and all for this; good thing he was being scammed instead.

In a case like this, I'm happy for the letter of the law to be thrown at him. He will probably get the sentence reduced on appeal (his defence screwed up massively) - but I hope he spends a good portion of the rest of his life in prison, so that he doesn't get out until a relatively old age, with his middle years well behind him.

He's a good example of what many anarchic 'free market' supporters really stand for, when it comes down to it: Money is always the greater good compared to all other ethics/morals (even when it comes to murder - so long as it can be sought privately and never exposed publicly, so reputations are never blemished) - the 'free markets' spiel is just their form of bible-speak, for trying to justify creating conditions that allow this, while promising utopia instead.