Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first paid job?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Hooked

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    Me too! We got paid £2.02 an hour!!

Dunnes Stores, packing bags, Eur2.17 an hour. 20 years ago, Jaysus where'd that go?

That was the week I turned 16. Got the job myself, the ma was well confused as I left for work. Graduated to the off-licence a few months later. Sweet job.

Worked Wed, Thur and Fri evenings (6-10) after school (3.30) and then after Art college (9-5) and every sat and Sunday, for 7 years. Didn't miss ONE day.

Been working ever since, thank God.

As for kids nowadays... Lazy ****es! Wouldn't work to warm themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Sales and transport department of a cash and carry. Late 90s, £4.60 an hour. Daily fights with dot-matrix printers for invoices and filing smelly POD dockets.

We had a tiny break room and had to supply our own tea, coffee, biscuits etc., despite an entire warehouse of the stuff downstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Mars Bar wrote: »
    WTF is with all the strawberry pickers?
    Strawberry picking season coincided nicely with school holidays, and it was before cheap labour arrived from other parts of Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Cleaning sheds on a farm each Saturday. Graping and barrowing dung for £5 a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »
    Jeepers and we got ten SHILLINGS a day....

I had £8 a week and yet you got a whole 10 bob a day. I bet you didn't pay tax or PRSI on that either! I paid a stamp for the 42 years that probably cost more than your wages!

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Bradt Pitt

Harvesting Christmas trees - £15 a day, which was fantastic money for a 15-year-old in the late 90's!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

€5 an hour from my local Centra as a 15-year-old!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Pumping petrol and then at night working in the local pub collecting glasses.

Jesus I was flat out.

I do feel sorry for kids these days as those types of jobs have been taken by people who can do them on a permanent basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Mine was window cleaning when I was 12.
    I worked at this nearly every summer then after until I finished college.

To this day it was probably the best job I have had. One I most enjoyed anyway. Pity the money wasn't great

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I was paid cans of coke to deliver beer with my father.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

allibastor wrote: »
    Mine was window cleaning when I was 12.
    I worked at this nearly every summer then after until I finished college.

To this day it was probably the best job I have had. One I most enjoyed anyway. Pity the money wasn't great

ah, but don't forget all the things that you have seen, when you're cleaning windows! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Stacking shelves in a supermarket at Christmas about 50 years ago.
    I'm still trying to recover my sanity from the Christmas Carols tape they played endlessly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

2.50 sterling an hour, washing dishes and pots in a resturant 2 nights a week in 1992.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Its good to see young people had jobs back then. Is it the same with young people nowadays or have they all been replaced by foreigners?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭Wompa1

William F wrote: »
    Its good to see young people had jobs back then. Is it the same with young people nowadays or have they all been replaced by foreigners?

Ew

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

William F wrote: »

Yep sadly all young people have been replaced by foreigners. My new cousin is from Bolivia

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Oops69 wrote: »
    Altar boy !! , got 5 pounds for a wedding around 1982 , handy number for an hour on a Saturday to bang a gong a few times and look angelic.

I didn't know we could mention Altar Boy. I got paid a f'kin Mars Bar at Christmas from the priest. Considering all the money those a-holes have, I could feel pretty hard done by but at the same time, relieved, one of the priests in the Parish got moved due to allegations. Thankfully, I still have a virgin a-hole..teeheehee
    Woshy wrote: »
    Had great craic working there and loved having some money all for me. Worst thing I ever had to do was the time some disgusting asshole did such a massive turd in the toilets that it blocked the whole thing. I had to break it up with a tongs and fish pieces of it out into a bag - then throw the bag and tongs into the dumpster in the back. I have never seen one solid turd so big. I was retching the whole time I did. God, you can be stupid when you're 16 - I should have told them to feck off when they asked me to deal with it. I can still remember how disgusting it was over 15 years later. Urgh

Good times though!

During my time in a petrol station in a small village. That was a once a week occurence. The public toilets were outside the shop. Travellers that were squatting on land down the town would frequent the toilets because they were the only ones accessible. After the first few times, the boss decided to have a policy of keeping them locked and giving the key.. Then the key got stolen. Changed the locks, kept them locked and started telling unknowns or that family that the toilets were closed. So they just started kicking in the door.

Ended up being an impossible position. Customers constantly complaining about the state of the jacks. And having to keep unclogging the toilets and fixing up the place.

Such a-holes, they were clogging them intentionally..which was strange because they had to use them!!! A golf course opened behind where they were staying. People claimed to find human looking sh1te down the holes...f'kin animals...just thought I'd rant because your post reminded me of it. Awful...threw up more than once

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Hated having to ask the folks for anything, so worked at the markets in England from age 11, £1 an hour until I could pass for 13, when I had 3 paper rounds, before school, after school and double runs on sat and sun mornings.
    Saturday's in the local butchers washing up from the age of 12.

When 13, I lied ( said I was 15) to get work in a video shop, worked 25 hours a week, on top of school and the paper rounds.
    By this stage I was earning well over £100 a week but my school work was suffering awfully but I didn't care.
    Been in full time work since 15, and in 17 years I have never out of work for more than a month.

I'm proud of my work ethic, but that said, I would hate if my kids do the same route, I really wished I studied more, can't blame my parents either, I was too stubborn.

Always had some kind of sideline too, buying a porno mag for £2 and selling the pages individually in school for 50p was a nice earner, and got me very popular on Monday mornings.

Worked in a riding school at age 16. Liked it so much better than school, I quit the latter and stuck at the former. The riding school shut down, so I went back to regular, unpaid school. I always liked the riding school the most.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Theasal1234

Working in a Centra, usually cashing Polish labourers cheques

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Worked in a riding school at age 16. Liked it so much better than school, I quit the latter and stuck at the former. The riding school shut down, so I went back to regular, unpaid school. I always liked the riding school the most.

Now that would have been my dream job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    ah, but don't forget all the things that you have seen, when you're cleaning windows! :D

Not as much as you would be led to believe by confessions of a window cleaner to be honest.

And the few you did see were an auld country mammy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Honestly ...First job I got paid for..
    Lookout

My life style till my early 20's are not something I am to proud of.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭nadey

Licking pussy.........scarface ref. BTW

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭FionnK86

First job on which I paid tax. (Other measly things like offered guitar lessons, babysat, footed turf, leaflets). :cool:

Quite proud of getting the job in October last year, though it was €8.65/hour. :( I'd been handing out CV's and all my friends had told me "ahh no point, no one's hiring, recession". True, it was crap work, wages were tiny and boss was a lunatic, but glad I got the experience and worked though my old classmates dropped out and still didn't find work :rolleyes:

Count myself lucky now though especially, it more than likely helped me get my current job (well paid,nice boss, nice company, nice perks). :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Is it still common for teenagers to get jobs or has the crisis put an end to that?

People here (Spain) think it's bonkers that I was working on a till part-time at 16. Nobody works here 'till their mid to late twenties (sometimes even thirties). I think they pity me when I tell them....so I don't tell them. They also pity me when I tell them I left home in my early 20s.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Is it still common for teenagers to get jobs or has the crisis put an end to that?

People here (Spain) think it's bonkers that I was working on a till part-time at 16. Nobody works here 'till their mid to late twenties (sometimes even thirties). I think they pity me when I tell them....so I don't tell them. They also pity me when I tell them I left home in my early 20s.

A lot of my classmates in Transition Year were able to use their work experience weeks to get jobs in retail,afterwards they were offered to stay on.They were all 16. I think the rate for under-18's is €6.60 an hour. Many employers don't realise this, and hire staff with lots of experience at €8.65. These folks, while probably just as desperate for a job are often "overqualified", i.e. the 16 year olds wouldn't have much to learn to do their job.

It's all about having the foot in the door these days, employers are taking people on (contrary to belief), they are just more careful, which in truth is better practice. In the Celtic Tiger days, someone looking for retail staff would pick any one looking to work. Now, with so many people looking for jobs (in the likes of Penny's, Dunnes, etc.) they have too many to choose from.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Oops69 wrote: »
    Altar boy !! , got 5 pounds for a wedding around 1982 , handy number for an hour on a Saturday to bang a gong a few times and look angelic.

Bugger weddings , money was in the funerals £10 late seventies , stations could be up £ 20.00 and half day off school :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

the first one I ever paid tax on, Elizabeth Ardens in Acton

Working with 100 ladies on the factory floor was an eye opener.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I cleaned holiday cruisers every Saturday from the age of 14, for the princely sum of £1.70 an hour! They were rank mostly. I was warned on my first day to wear rubber gloves when cleaning the bathroom because they were rented to "foreigners, with AIDS and whatnot".

AIDS aside, the worst one I ever cleaned was a boat that had been rented to a group of 6 fishermen and their dog for a week. Between sh*t on the carpet and fish scales crusted onto every surface (including the ceiling) it was stomach turning. I associate that summer with Maddona's "Beautiful Stranger" ever since as it was the only thing on the radio!