Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Filter porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭mcwinning

Dreadful idea. Then I would have to leave my lair and actually talk to girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

donvito99 wrote: »
    Won't someone please think of the children single men between the ages of 16 and 35.

35? Was I supposed to have stopped 5 years ago?

I must have missed that memo. Thought it was a tissue..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Has this strategy worked effectively thus far? If parents block access, which many do, how come so many still have access to porn at a very young age?
    In an ideal world, that would work but it hasn't. That's why Iceland and now the UK are debating it.
    Finally, in case you missed my point:

ADULTS STILL HAVE ACCESS!!!!!

What you are looking for is impossible.

All a web provider can do is block a list of known sites (exactly the same as your net nanny software), they need to be aware of them to block them. It's just how the internet works and it's the main reason that any attempts to censor the internet have failed in the past and will always fail in the future. For every site you block several new ones will pop up to replace it. Even existing sites can just buy a new domain name to use with a previously blocked website, it's very little work on their end.

It's the same kind of thing that's going on at the moment with internet providers being told to block the pirate bay, it's a dumb move because it doesn't change anything. People will still access these things because of the inherent openness of the internet.

The ONLY way to stop your kid from accessing porn or any other material on the internet that you don't want them to see is to remove internet access from your kid, and even then you can't be around them 24/7 so friends can still show them things on their smart phones and whatever else. The best you can do as mentioned before is educate them and try your best to keep an eye on them when they are using the internet. You can use net nanny software and ad blockers to make sure it's not in their face, but at the end of the day if they want access it they will find a way.

The only reason Iceland and the UK are even debating this is because politicians are clueless and totally out of touch with reality. They have no idea how the system works so throw out preposterous ideas that are impossible to implement.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,336 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Unrealistic sexual expectations?
    Normalisation of violence in sex?

I am not sure either of those things are even remotely realistic fears though except... as with everything... in very extreme cases of people who have a tentative attachment to reality already.

However if one was to start building policy based on that minority group then porn is far from the only thing one would have to turn their eye on. In fact I find myself wondering what would NOT fall under its purview. The X-Files certainly would never have made it to our screens... though I happily concede that would have at least been a benefit of an otherwise insane policy system.
    But "what happens" in porn, isn't remotely like "what happens" in real life.

Nor is what happens on the vast majority of our TV programmes and Hollywood movies. None of those things give anyone (except again those with an already tentative grip on sanity) a dangerously unrealistic view of reality either. Further you seem to have this impression...
    young men who think the thing to do when you reach climax is to pull out and come on your partner's face.

... that porn is a one way influence thing where we see porn and attempt to bring what we see into our own lives. The entertainment industry... including porn... does not work that way and it is a two way relationship. It is simplistic to expect that some porn writers came up with facial ejaculation for no reason... stuck it in porn... now men everywhere want to do it. It is in porn because this was something already appealing to the target market.

In other words the expectations and desires of the market were evaluated and used to design and tailor the porn in a symbiotic two way evolution. Just like it is with any entertainment industry.
    kc90 wrote: »
    I'll have a proper look later. Although, it appears to be mostly opinion linked to unrelated articles.

That would be a pretty accurate description of it from my experience. And my experience is lengthy given that site is linked to just about every time debate on the subject of porn (and sometimes on the subject of prostitution) comes up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Hmm seems like the OP wants to ban freedom on the internet regardless if its porn or whatever the case maybe.

I want to ban The OPs opinions on boards.ie - We'll get a mod to it ;) See how he likes it....

Point is, Opinions are fine. However, Other peoples kids looking at porn is the least of my worries.

I don't really care how unfit a parent is by letting their own sprogs watching porn. Its not my problem but the parents.

Don't censor my internet freedom with your Gov blocking BS.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'll *ahem* take a stab at it:

Unrealistic sexual expectations?
    Normalisation of violence in sex?

>Implying all porn is violent
    >Implying all pornstars are surgically enhanced
    >Implying people can't separate fact from fiction

Etc etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Hoop66

>Implying all porn is violent
    >Implying all pornstars are surgically enhanced
    >Implying people can't separate fact from fiction

Etc etc etc

I'm not, or certainly didn't intend to. I maintain that these can be effects of exposure to hardcore pornography, especially at a young age.

Are you saying that porn (not all but a majority) doesn't objectify women, for instance? Or that scenarios presented in porn are "natural"? I'm thinking, as an example, of bizarrely gymnastic sexual positions which are only used so that a camera can get a good view.

I'm in no way anti-porn, but I do think it presents a warped view of human sexuality which isn't particularly healthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

I don't think porn should be banned, I think the sex education nowadays should teach kids the difference between real sex and sex in pornography and the consequences of their actions instead of the usual "well here's the man and here's the woman and together they make a baby"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Because porn is so accessible and free on the internet nowadays, even young children/ teenagers are viewing/getting exposed to it. I hope we all agree this can't continue.

In order to avoid this, I believe all porn should be filtered from the internet, with the option for an adult to 'opt in' if they wish to view porn. This protects our young people and at the same time gives adults a choice, whether to view it or not. I'd like to see this initiative spread across the entire EU.

perhaps the ISP would be able to block this from their end if custoemrs' opt in

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not, or certainly didn't intend to. I maintain that these can be effects of exposure to hardcore pornography, especially at a young age.

Are you saying that porn (not all but a majority) doesn't objectify women, for instance? Or that scenarios presented in porn are "natural"? I'm thinking, as an example, of bizarrely gymnastic sexual positions which are only used so that a camera can get a good view.

I'm in no way anti-porn, but I do think it presents a warped view of human sexuality which isn't particularly healthy.

Yeah... it's terrible the way women do be objectified, while they are wearing strapons and the lads a bending over in latex crotchless pants....

Terribly objectifying of women...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't see any reason to ban porn, sure some of it's way over on the freaky side but consenting adults and all that. I think if anything internet porn has allowed women to safely sell sexual fantasies to men, rather than having to sit on some weirdos lap at a strip club they can sell to a guy on the other side of the planet from the comfort of their couch if they want to.

If anything we're coming out of a time period when people are overly sensitive to sex. Many of the religions just ruined peoples sex lives and thankfully even the majority of Christians don't pay any attention to their religions dysfunctional view of sex, tacked on by middle age popes that had mammy issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Do your own damn parenting OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Helle Vodafone

Id like to access my porn please..Yeah I can see that happening alright

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,202 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Porn is fine for a teenager once they realise it is a fantasy. Maybe if we actually gave teenagers a decent sex education, and acknowledge that this stuff exists and is normal, we'd tackle any problem caused by porn better.

Trying to hide a teenager from porn simply won't work. Like trying to block the Pirate Bay, completely fruitless endeavor.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Yeah... it's terrible the way women do be objectified, while they are wearing strapons and the lads a bending over in latex crotchless pants....

Terribly objectifying of women...

Yes, because that scenario represents every single piece of hardcore pornography there is out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Yes, because that scenario represents every single piece of hardcore pornography there is out there.

NO he forgot to mention the marigolds and tabasco sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

But "what happens" in porn, isn't remotely like "what happens" in real life. one girl...

Ur doing it rong.

TO. wrote: »
    I never get these arguments to censor things on the internet.
    People don't understand how the internet works, it's a big scary porn monster to them.

Here's a perfect example of those kind of people below.
    A friend of mine and his wife are computer illiterate and I recently helped them put all kinds of measures on their PC and Laptops so they can control what their 2 kids can and can't do on the net. They also keep their machines in a locked room when they are not there and when their kids want to use the net they do it right in front of them in the living room or kitchen. If more people did the same type of measures instead of making excuses for bad parenting there would never be a need for this kind of censorship.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Banning and hiding things from teenagers to "protect" them is an arseways approach, ignoring the obvious logistics of even trying to implement such a thing. Teens still got their hands on porn before the web and making it taboo makes it more desirable.

Better sex education as well as good information on porn and it's industry will help differentiate between fantasy and the reality of sex to teens (for example, a man being able to shag non-stop for 30 minutes and then finish up with a "money shot")

It's not some devious thing that only loners or strange people are into, it's a massive industry that's more openly accepted by people, even couples, these days.

You demonize something then it becomes all the more popular to be obtained. It has it's problems within it's industry, like every other industry, but ignoring them, hiding them, or brushing them away won't make people any wiser or "safer".

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just to add, porn isn't a something that's just watched by men. Women love watching a good porno too and don't get their rocks off by only reading drivel like 50 Shades of Grey.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Because porn is so accessible and free on the internet nowadays, even young children/ teenagers are viewing/getting exposed to it. I hope we all agree this can't continue.

In order to avoid this, I believe all porn should be filtered from the internet, with the option for an adult to 'opt in' if they wish to view porn. This protects our young people and at the same time gives adults a choice, whether to view it or not. I'd like to see this initiative spread across the entire EU.

How would you propose to filter it out?

The vast majority of all content is hosted outside of Ireland, and an estimated 80% of all internet content is porn. How would you go about in blocking 80% of the web?

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Taken at face value this isn't a bad suggestion and should probably be implemented, even if kids work around it, they may not be able to do so until they're a little older. However I'm unsettled by a lot of what comes with it.

Every argument for this I've seen in the papers (eg Sunday Times News review last week) comes at it from a narrow minded reimagining of feminism that dishonestly portrays porn to readers as solely featuring degrading scenarios for women (rape fantasies, anal etc) and then on zero evidence connects porn to real life rape. I've seen very little porn like this. I believe that the highly popular series of "Fifty Shades" books contain little else, are read only by women and are available to girls of all ages. Considering there are movements to ban porn outright in other countries coming from similar lobbies in those countries I think this initiative is the thin end of a conservative-feminist wedge.

My generation was probably the first to grow up with access to online porn from childhood. I haven't seen any of the damage cited in the articles criticising porn in real life among any of my peers; no one thinks women like being raped, the misogyny I've seen seems to have more in common with classic sexism (eg idiots saying things like "women drivers are rubbish" or dismissing unattractive women as "career girls") than any new information age menace.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

I feel like the OP read that article in the.. was it the Independent's magazine(?) on teens watching porn and pressuring teen girls into acting it out and felt suddenly moved to the offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

There is not enough big nose girl porn on the net. I think its an untapped market. If I had the money I'd be recruit girls for it saying "Must have a big snout but not ugly"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

Are people really saying that access to hardcore porn is ok for teenagers (whose sexuality is just developing at that stage). I'd imagine that's potentially a huge sexual health timebomb right there in years to come.

If an opt-in system helped this, what's the issue. Are pornlovers so protective of their porn that they're not ok with making a 2 second call to their ISP and affirming they're an adult.

Of course an opt-in system won't solve the problem but it can only help.
    And sex-ed and parenting continue to do their bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I'd imagine that's potentially a huge sexual health timebomb right there in years to come.

Let's not legislate for your imaginings.

TO. wrote: »
    I actually never said they didn't know how the internet works. But I love the sweeping generalisation you just made. Plenty of people can use the internet just fine while being computer illiterate. They know how to turn the machine on and click on a browser and surf the web quite well. I have come across a fair few people like that in my time.

The example I gave the couple actually started to look into how to put in the safe guards but were not 100% confident they could do it themselves and asked for my help. At least they had the brain power to actually do something about rather be ignorant and blame the internet for their problems and ask for ISP to step in and do the work for them while messing with everyone else's access.
    Are people really saying that access to hardcore porn is ok for teenagers (whose sexuality is just developing at that stage). I'd imagine that's potentially a huge sexual health timebomb right there in years to come.
    Hardcore porn is basically a penis going into a vagina, that's normal behaviour. The more extreme porn just isn't going to be all that appealing to the majority of people I'd assume. I saw some pretty out there stuff and it's just disturbing what people are willing to do to their bodies. I watched it, satisfied my curiosity and left it at that. If people want to do that stuff you're not going to stop them and driving them underground isn't going to make things any better.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

ScumLord wrote: »

Hardcore porn is basically a penis going into a vagina, that's normal behaviour. The more extreme porn just isn't going to be all that appealing to the majority of people I'd assume. I saw some pretty out there stuff and it's just disturbing what people are willing to do to their bodies. I watched it, satisfied my curiosity and left it at that. If people want to do that stuff you're not going to stop them and driving them underground isn't going to make things any better.

I didn't say i wanted to stop people (i assume you mean adults) doing anything.
    Àre you saying an opt-in system would necessarily lead to an increase among teenagers.

I didn't say i wanted to stop people (i assume you mean adults) doing anything.
    Àre you saying an opt-in system would necessarily lead to an increase among teenagers.
    An opt in system is next to impossible. It's impossible to prevent the sites, it's impossible to track every picture and video and no matter what you do teenagers will find a way around it, adults are always in a losing battle with the upcoming generation.

And god only knows what they'd get up to without the established porn sources. Remember each teenager has a little porn studio in their pocket, if they can't find it online they'll end up making it themselves in greater numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

ScumLord wrote: »

Exactly!

Watching Die Hard doesn't make me want to shoot the place up. Watching porn doesn't make me want to take a dump in a teacup etc etc.

The real problem is that people are afraid of change. The world has changed. Teenagers are the first generation to grow up in a world where information about literally everything is right there if they want to look and they know they need to critically analyse everything knowing that most of it is subjective.

And the fact is that teenagers are smarter than us for it. They routinely see the difference between entertainment and reality. Older folks who are used to thinking what they are told - if it's on the telly it must be true - don't try to apply outdated perspective to a new world.