Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

131 Reg Cars

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

furtzy wrote: »
    Are they still charging for that? See 131 KE 16 out here.

They only charge if you want a specific number. You can also take your chances and hope you get it.

BMW campaigned for a change to the licensing system. I hope they choke on it now that a number of counties won't hit the 530/730 mark in the licensing period. People who want those types of plates would certainly make it a consideration in their choice of vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

58 131 Reg Audi A6's for the Irish EU presidency!
    A_3RscxCIAAyeCE.jpeg

713350181.jpg?key=25921552&Expires=1357439525&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIYVGSUJFNRFZBBTA&Signature=dJtLo5mcMHq-IvvsyAwY0Lo~TXP~nmnZc8veBW~-zdwS3TdjfJs4h2auz0ucB4~KdYW2EpYuUOYuZ2mmhLGrc3YBwb5fPMtVDFsn~HznAvQrmqGTZQA86XtKXsF~oAMUZRszuSMIT74O0dX9exECjwWE5YPwCLfmjbkJ6ye3o1w_

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

What engines have they got? I hope they're V6s?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

What engines have they got? I hope they're V6s?

They are TDI's, not sure of the engine size though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

CoDy1 wrote: »

It looks like they've stopped doing the manual V6, so it's probably the 2.0 -- it'll probably be guards driving them so automatics would only confuse the poor fellas.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

saw my first 2 yesterday in Macroom, Co. Cork - no flipping recession around here boyos! a focus and a fiat (a model that's so dull, I don't even know what it was)

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Lutecia

58 131 Reg Audi A6's for the Irish EU presidency!

Who is paying for these beauties ? Angela approved that ? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Lutecia wrote: »
    Who is paying for these beauties ? Angela approved that ? :D

According to a few thousand idiots on facebook , its coming directly from paying for the care of sick and dying kids and to suggest otherwise makes you a fool or a government plant.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

According to a few thousand idiots on facebook , its coming directly from paying for the care of sick and dying kids and to suggest otherwise makes you a fool or a government plant.

Audi Ireland is sponsoring the presidency.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1224/1224328152458.html

http://www.eu2013.ie/ireland-and-the-presidency/about-the-presidency/our-sponsors/

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭vectra

131-c-3
    White Insignia in Fermoy this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭coolisin

gerrowadat wrote: »
    It looks like they've stopped doing the manual V6, so it's probably the 2.0 -- it'll probably be guards driving them so automatics would only confuse the poor fellas.

Surely these would fall into Garda requirements of driving around ministers of min 3L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I wonder what happens to them when the 6 months is up ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

I wonder what happens to them when the 6 months is up ?

Sure they'll be worthless once the 132 registrations are out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

My dad buys a car every couple of years I just asked him if he's getting one this year. His reply was "that crowd have made a bags of it, why would I buy a new car now, sure it'll be only new for 6 months" :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Inbox wrote: »
    My dad buys a car every couple of years I just asked him if he's getting one this year. His reply was "that crowd have made a bags of it, why would I buy a new car now, sure it'll be only new for 6 months" :pac:

I don't really understand that, but I wonder if a few have that feeling. Possibly the motor industry hasn't helped themselves at all demanding this change.

I guess it's possible it makes people less likely to change to have a 'brand new' car, as opposed to making people just as likely to buy in July as in Jan. In theory there is less value in it for people like your dad.

Interesting one, if that's they way it works out the motor industry will have no-one to blame but themselves and their amateur psychology...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,181 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Last time we had the presidency the cars were mostly exported to the UK and other EU countries, some were left hand drive for this reason. My guess is a stroke of a pen exempted them from VRT unlike what the rest of us pay, brand new cars can't have been owned by foreign residents for 6 months and I can't find a "sure we are sponsoring the EU Presidency" exemption anywhere in the VRT wording.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Did they even sell 50 a6's last year?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

EM87 wrote: »

That's my Daddy's car!!! Did you see it in Kilkenny?

Saw one the I other day,silver and number in the 80s?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

All Black 2.0TDI 177 SE Multitronics. Identical spec. As Audi Ireland are paying for them it needs to find the car with the highest resale value in Ireland to minimise losses and the 2.0TDI Multi is that car. The losses on 80 x V6s would be eye watering!

@ Guy Incognito - almost 1,000 A6's in 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Saw my first one this morning, BMW 520i, 131-D-105. Well for him! Recession me arse! :rolleyes: LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭veetwin

Saw my first one this morning, BMW 520i, 131-D-105. Well for him! Recession me arse! :rolleyes: LOL

520d surely?

Only seen one 131 reg so far - on a 520d as it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

veetwin wrote: »
    520d surely?

Possibly. Just remember seeing the 520, not sure what was after that. Could have been a "d".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

veetwin wrote: »
    520d surely?

I do not believe there would be a single 5-series sold that wasn't a 520d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Seweryn wrote: »
    I do not believe there would be a single 5-series sold that wasn't a 520d.

Surprised more of them aren't de-badged. Is that an extra?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Surprised more of them aren't de-badged. Is that an extra?

One of the few - if not the only - no cost option on a BMW :D

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭satnavadays

Saw 3 today, first was a Skoda Octavia, Mazda 3 and a VW Tiguan.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

looks like someone isn't too afraid of the " 13 " reg ,

sorry bout the bad quality pic , damn camera phone !!!!!

manorhamiltonruntractors131regcaretc014.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

saw a black 520d 131-so yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Silvera

Spotted so far -
    131-MO-4 (Artic Truck in Galway)
    131-KE-70
    131-D-61 (Jetta)
    131-KE-4 (Citroen)

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Lutecia

Good news !