Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork First Year Girls Filmed Tearing Each Other Apart Over a Guy

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Abi wrote: »
    And she didn't exactly say "don't fight, hes just a boy" either. did you actually see the video? That fight wasn't just organised between the two girls, theres a lot more to it. And the one that pushed the first girl into the fight, I'm all over her like white on rice. She laughed her way back to her friends that all filmed it.

Whether you like it or not, that's basic human psychology. It's been shown over and over that when trouble goes down the overwhelming majority of people will look the other way or watch in fascination. As illustrated by thousands of adults watching children pull one another's hair. The hero is rare, especially amongst adolescents.
    I know you have family yourself, imagine how out of control you'd feel if there are children at your childrens school influencing yours in such a way that they get involved in organised physical fights outside of school.
    I'd like to think that they'll grow-up independent-minded enough not to give a **** what other kids tell them to do. If not, and they do get into a scrap I hope they give as good as they get. I'd far rather them be in an even scrap than be bullied in silence - the silent bullying that goes on every day of the week doesn't get filmed though, so there's no visual shock factor.

Again, what if was some bitch firing another kid into the ring going after your kid?

The bitch is irrelevant, IMO. If it weren't her, it would be someone else dropping the flag. My three year old daughter would have either of them, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Whether you like it or not, that's basic human psychology. It's been shown over and over that when trouble goes down the overwhelming majority of people will look the other way or watch in fascination. As illustrated by thousands of adults watching children pull one another's hair. The hero is rare, especially amongst adolescents.

I'd like to think that they'll grow-up independent-minded enough not to give a **** what other kids tell them to do. If not, and they do get into a scrap I hope they give as good as they get. I'd far rather them be in an even scrap than be bullied in silence - the silent bullying that goes on every day of the week doesn't get filmed though, so there's no visual shock factor.

The bitch is irrelevant, IMO. If it weren't her, it would be someone else dropping the flag. My three year old daughter would have either of them, in fairness.

I took your post with some level of acceptance until I saw this. It leans towards the idea that you don't care about your children partaking in fights, onlooked by the masses..

If you really saw an internet video with your daughters hair being pulled off her head, are you genuinely be okay about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Liked by kittens

And she didn't exactly say "don't fight, hes just a boy" either. did you actually see the video? That fight wasn't just organised between the two girls, theres a lot more to it. And the one that pushed the first girl into the fight, I'm all over her like white on rice. She laughed her way back to her friends that all filmed it.

I know you have family yourself, imagine how out of control you'd feel if there are children at your childrens school influencing yours in such a way that they get involved in organised physical fights outside of school.

Yes, it's fair to say you have to allow them a certain amount of freedom, but if that is where its going, you have to reel it in a little. These are very impressionable kids, and their education is the set up for the rest of their lives. If their social issues overshadow their education, then we've got a fúcking problem.

Again, what if was some bitch firing another kid into the ring going after your kid?

It's uncivilised, no matter what way anyone dices it up.
    Im sure this was most certainly a case of peer pressure....Im sure the two girls will become the best of mates eventually and the person who put the vid on the net....Wow...thanks for highlighting it....She/he will take over from Neil P oneday?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Youtube has it fingerprinted now and it's automatically removed

It's on LiveLeak though

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=7a8_1350072117

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

It's on LiveLeak though

I never thought I'd click on that link again. Theres no arguing the fight was pre-empted, but watch the face of the one walking back after pushing for the fight.

Her worst nightmare would be to be my daughter, I'll tell you that much.

Again, for the terminally stupid, I mean that in the non violent sense.

There are certain materialistic things that matter to children of that age, and it would be all cut off by me, I'd almost spoon feed them again till I got them straight again, I'd be that much of a pain in the ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

all I can say as a teacher is nothing would surprise you and everyone's parenting is different..............

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

It's on LiveLeak though

Cool youtube can 'fingerprint' dodgy videos by analyzing the frames? Interesting, I wonder how they filter out the porn though (not that I would be looking), surely they can't finger print all boobs etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I never thought I'd click on that link again. Theres no arguing the fight was pre-empted, but watch the face of the one walking back after pushing for the fight.

There are certain materialistic things that matter to children of that age, and it would be all cut off by me, I'd almost spoon feed them again till I got them straight again, I'd be that much of a pain in the ass.

Maybe she could have a career as a fight promoter. She could get a stupid haircut and call herself Donna King.

I hope to see more of these fights only with a bit more standup in future. Did you see that black woman getting an uppercut on the bus? That was pretty awesome too. KLUNK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Cool youtube can 'fingerprint' dodgy videos by analyzing the frames? Interesting, I wonder how they filter out the porn though (not that I would be looking), surely they can't finger print all boobs etc.

Most people know a pair of boobs when they see them, even if they have never seen that particular pair of boobs before. YT filtering works the same way

• Registered Users Posts: 49 BusyMum12

So who won?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

BusyMum12 wrote: »
    So who won?

The **** that caused it all. From what I remember from school (and I went to a mixed tech) there is always some **** mixing and stirring in such instances, running back between both groups egging it on and from what I can tell from that video, it was the little Donk King wannabe smirking at the start of it all. Every dog has it's day and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

So who won?

They're both losers!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i agree with you,
    i have looked at the starting one minuit five times, and the one with the bright top with the bag slung over her shoulder pushed one girl onto another,
    and the whole thing was all aranged, as the circle was there before the start of fight,
    the lads stood there with hands in pockets and did not stand in and try to stop it, the rest of the girls also just stood there enjoying two girls absolutely trashing one another,
    i would say that everyone who stood there and did not try to stop it should be brought to boot also, they were gathered round knowing it was about to happen,
    i have never seen or heard it happen with girls,
    but i have heard of this kind of thing happen with lads,
    those girls could of hurt one another.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

The right attitudes need to be encouraged from an early age, before they grow up thinking it's okay to batter the shít out of people as adults. Are we supposed to assume that once they click 18 they'll have sense and it will never happen again? Will they shite.

I never said that fighting is right, I believe they should be punished. I do think that a huge fuss has been made over nothing. This should be an issue for the parents of the two involved and the school. Nobody else, I don't think the media attention it has attracted is warranted. This sort of thing happens so regularly.

That is disgusting.

Yep, but what I'm really trying to say is it is a lot more common than some people on here make it out to be. Hell there were even fights in primary school.

I'm sorry, but if it entertains you, then you're part of the culture. Those girls came out of it with probably sore scalps and bruises and scrapes. It could have been a hell of a lot worse.

I couldn't have that on my conscience if something worse happened.

I don't think I'm alone in saying that I find fights entertaining, in school 99% of pupils would gather round to watch a fight. If you are out in town and a drunken brawl breaks out, just take a look at the large crowds that gather to watch. Boxing and wrestling are popular because many people like to watch fights.

Personally I'd like to settle my fights with words, but if both parties to a fight want to settle it with a fair fight let them be (Now this logic should not be applied to children, like those in the video). The travelers would argue that bare knuckle fighting is their way of settling disagreements.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

just watched it there, found a much better schoolgirl fight on redtube i must say

• Registered Users Posts: 49 BusyMum12

Well their only hope is to claim they are members of the Travelling community and this is how they settle their disputes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

Some shoddy camera work

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

Iang87 wrote: »
    just watched it there, found a much better schoolgirl fight on redtube i must say

You still use redtube ? try youjizz :pac:

Well their only hope is to claim they are members of the Travelling community and this is how they settle their disputes.
    you reminded me,
    the last i saw something like that, it was that bare knuckle boxing that the travelling community do,
    the spectators stood around as was done in the girl boxing video,
    the girl who pushed the girl to fight, i am glad she is neither my daughter or neice, it was a nasty thing to do, instead of stopping her or trying, she just encouraged this thing to happen, seemed to get it started by looking at video.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

Was great to see Katie Taylor actually boxing the heads off those other female Olympians tho !

It's grand when you're paying for a license to watch it.

Come on Ireland !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Why is YouTube taking it down? :confused: Don't they have heaps of videos of others boxing the heads off each other? What's special about this one?

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

I noticed they've gotten alot of attention in the media, jaaaaysus they're two young ones having a scrap, it happens every day all over Ireland, I hope there's no ''assault charges'' thrown around, fair enough if the parents of the girls are going mad, its up to them, I still dont think the law need get involved. In a few weeks they'll be back being bestos.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

Cork papers have headlined with it. The school in question has suspended three students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

The comments on liveleak are fantastic.
    i love hearing irish being spoken, sometimes you can hear words that sound like english.
    I kind of feel the same way about the Cork accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

notwise wrote: »
    Hang on.....

Link?

It was about 6 years ago, just before the social media really took off so it was mainly sent around as an email. Dont' think it can be found on the web. Apparently a student at a party, a very pretty girl, obviously had taken something and in the middle of a massive crowd of college student lads performing with her vodka bottle. It was seriously disturbing and I have a friend from Ballincollig who said she suffered from serious depression afterwards. The internet is the devil.

I think i might actually no the person who did it!

Although i heard it was a banana?

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Cork papers have headlined with it. The school in question has suspended three students.

Always been happening and always will. The ones to suspend are the girl who started it, seen at the beginning, the ones who filmed it and the idiot who put it on the net. The two girls who did the actual fighting should be left alone, they were used by the others.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Dave! wrote: »
    Why is YouTube taking it down? :confused: Don't they have heaps of videos of others boxing the heads off each other? What's special about this one?

Probably under the the "youths fighting" rule or something.

it will all be forgottone tomorrow,
    i hope the school dont think that it is to blame, it did not happen on school grounds, there is nothing schools can do once the pupils are outside the entrance gates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Is this clip still available anywhere?.

I haven't seen it.