Interested Observer wrote: » If he had to pick someone to start at 7 I'd say he'd pick Henry. I think Murphy might make then bench though.
Witheringeye wrote: » Yeah the team is fairly predictable just did it out of boredom Also, I didn't know fitz played against France...
flangemeistro wrote: » So basically our team that faced France in this year's 6 Nations plus Healy? Groundbreaking
bradders90 wrote: » you wouldnt even have RK on the bench?/!
Mr Tickle wrote: » yours isn't far off what i drew up. You think Henry is ahead of Murphy in Joe's eyes?
Stephen Ferris wrote: Any word on Andrew Trimble’s fitness? I heard he has scar tissue in his foot and he’s going to be out for a couple of weeks. I haven’t spoken to him, he just became a father recently so he’s been fairly busy.
Witheringeye wrote: » I'm supposed to be doing a research paper for college so I've decided to draw up my ideal 23 and what I think joe will go for(oh and I'm presuming Trimble doesn't recover and Healy does) Ideal: 1 Healy 2 best 3 Ross 4 toner 5 poc 6pom 7sob 8heaslip 9 Murray 10 sexton 11 Zebo 12 henshaw 13 fitz 14 bowe 15 Payne 16 McGrath 17 Cronin 18 white 19 Henderson 20 Henry 21 reddan 22 Madigan 23 Dave Kearney Joes team: 1 Healy 2 best 3 Ross 4 toner 5 poc 6 Pom 7sob 8 heaslip 9 Murray 10 sexton 11 fitz 12 henshaw 13 Payne 14 bowe 15 Kearney 16mcgrqth 17 Cronin 18 white 19 Henderson 20 Henry 21reddan 22 Madigan 23 DKearney
baaba maal wrote: » Jaysus, every time I check this thread there is another angle on why Marmion is/isn't/should/shouldn't be in the frame- would you please starting a thread on Marmion v Boss and let everyone else discuss, I don't know- Ireland Team Talk, gossip and rumours?
molloyjh wrote: » Everything that can be said on this has. A number of times. You don't have to move on but you also don't have to near monopolise threads on the topic either. It'd be really nice to be able to read a thread on Ireland right now that doesn't have pages and pages on Marmion vs Boss. If there's something new to add then fine. Otherwise this is just a circular discussion with the same posts again and again.
Deleted User wrote: » I think what he was trying to say is that Madigan is now ahead of Marmion.
The Rape of Lucretia wrote: » They are 100% reliable to be aimed at optimising his players' preparation for the world cup, while deflecting press attention away from anything of substance. Letting them write as if the squad was not already a done deal in his mind does this. As well as ensuring a focused squad, where those who are already out, do keep a sense of focus and motivation for the training in case they are needed call-ups, even though they are really on a hiding to nothing. These games are practice and fitness programme games for the selected squad - not trials, in the sense of their being any competition for places. Others playing are necessary for that greater plan, even though they are not playing for a place. The opposition are enhanced tacklebags if you will. Some of the players lining out are just filling out these team sessions the way you see Joe himself finish out backs warm ups on the wing. Other players just arent even necessary for that, and so, astute guy that he is, being keen to give even his callups a bit of match time even when he cant do that himself, releases them to their provinces.
.ak wrote: » I'd take boss over madigan any day of the week. At least there'd be some sort of direction there.
phog wrote: » I can't see Boss rescuing us in that scenario anyway.
.ak wrote: » Slim chance? Murray's already had a few dodgy knee injuries, Reddan is getting on and could break down... I'd say the chance is high enough. Imagine if we went into a big game with Madigan as backup scrummie and Murray takes a knock in the first few minutes... Tournament over. For what? Bringing an extra prop?
connachta wrote: » We can't.
connachta wrote: » Yes I knew that, but for the slim chance of getting injured just before the game, it could be worth it to take the risk. If the worst happens, Madigan could play 5 or 10 minutes as cover...
irishbucsfan wrote: » Because with 2 scrum halves if one gets injured the day before a game we would have no bench cover, there's a minimum period to make squad callups (think its 48 hours). 3 SHs is pretty much a certainty, but the 3rd SH is unlikely to matter.
total former wrote: » In fact, Joe claims that not only has he not decided which SH he's bringing, he hasn't even decided how many SHs he's bringing. His public utterances might not always be 100% reliable...
connachta wrote: » After all why not picking only 2 SHs and 6 props instead of 5..
molloyjh wrote: » Joe is not going to say he's made up his mind and is no longer bothered looking at options now is he? I want to see Marmion get a run out but the simple fact is he's clearly, by any and every metric we have available to us, behind Boss. Now can we please, please move the feck on!?