Had a hilarious chat with a Spanish woman I give private classes to (if ye know what I mean wink wink mum's the word say no more, wha!

;)) tonight and she told me she believes Ireland is the most surreal country she's ever visited (she's very well travelled). I asked her for a few examples and the one that made me laugh the most was her description of the Irish bus system and the fact that buses arrive whenever they feel like it yet people stand there and wait for a bus that might never come! Then the bus heads off into the countryside and picks up a man (or woman!) on the middle of the road in the middle of nowhere who must've been waiting there himself for the bus that might never come. Just standing there. Waiting...
The way she described something that was very normal for me growing up through her eyes as a foreigner had be doubled over laughing.
My own personal favourite surreal moment in Ireland was when myself and my American ex got the bus to Galway from Dublin, then the bus from Galway city out to Clifton where we decided to have a pint of the auld beer. We walked into the bar that was completely empty but heard people singing Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire" somewhere in the bar. Walked into the back of the bar and there were about 20 people from about 7 years old to 90 sitting around a table eating and singing, "BURN BURN BUUUUURN BURN THE RING OF FIRE....THE RING OF FIRE...." in unison. I'm presuming they were all related. Not what you'd expect to find on a quiet Sunday afternoon.
Or your wan dancing about O'Connell Street opposite the GPO and featured one year on the Bank of Ireland calendar as one of the "sights" of our fair capital. Where else would that happen? Hmm?
Have you any surreal stories to share about Ireland? Get me in the mood to go home for Chrimbo...