danbohan wrote: » are you one or just an expert on them ?
Zubeneschamali wrote: » A bugger? What's SF policy on those?
danbohan wrote: » on buggers or leprechauns ?,
Zubeneschamali wrote: » I'm wondering what SF policy on crafty little buggers is: You know the story about the solid Irish citizen who thinks he's found a way to better himself when a Leprechaun he catches promises him a big pile of gold if he'll let him go, and next day the gold turns to a pile of dead leaves? I'd imagine SF are in favour, since that's exactly what their economic policy is about.
danbohan wrote: » SFs entire election campaign is built on fantasy. might well be true ,but then so is the other partys as well , we are been lied to night and day by all the partys , why this sorry mess has to go on for 3 weeks is beyond me
Pete_Cavan wrote: » Like I said, SFs plan falls down on the fact that it is based on spending the NPRF twice (which is not possible btw). Also, by telling the IMF to take a long walk off a short pier and defaulting on loans we will not be able to get any money for next year. Then there is the issue that reversing cuts and not increasing taxes will leave us needing more money than we already do. These are simple facts which SF have ignored so it is complete fantasy. I'll take it you have examples of similar holes in policies from the other parties?
danbohan wrote: » we will be told our economic policy by imf /eu
danbohan wrote: » i am not defending sinn feins economic policy or lack of . so everthing is grand is it ? your prepared to believe fianna fails policy or fianna fail light ie fine gael , i am not we dont have an economic policy , we will be told our economic policy by imf /eu
Pete_Cavan wrote: » We will not be told our economic policy by the EU/IMF but our policies will have to be carried out within the terms of their bailout agreement. FF, FG and Lab are realistic about this fact and each have set out different policies taking account of the restraints of this agreement. At least they are being realistic. SF on the other hand are just shouting populist nonsense in order to pick up votes, they know they will not be part of the next government so will not have to implement any of their policies. The fact that the numbers for their plan doesnt add up doesnt seem to matter to them. Anybody could put together an economics policy based on spending the NPRF several times and balancing the books by not increasing income or reducing expenditure but SF are the only ones with the audacity to put it to the people and promise everything will be fine and rosy. It is pure fantasy and voting for it is denying reality.
danbohan wrote: » will not be told our economic policy by the EU/IMF but our policies will have to be carried out within the terms of their bailout agreement. and the difference is ?
Pete_Cavan wrote: » The difference is we are told we have to reduce the budget deficit, how we reduce it is up to us.
danbohan wrote: » and everything we do has to be pre approved by them .
Zubeneschamali wrote: » You guys think the IRA won? This is even funnier than voting for Sinn Fein!
metzengerstein wrote: » ive always read partys policies and sin feins have always been the best and seemed like they think in reality .the others all in a fantasy land .
metzengerstein wrote: » im not really sure ,i usually spoil my vote because ive no time for any politicians all a shower of scum ,who have no clue what they are doing and make this country and its people suffer and be miserable . ive always read partys policies and sin feins have always been the best and seemed like they think in reality .the others all in a fantasy land . i dont think they will ever get elected though as people seem to be afraid of what theyl do.but if they actauly where serious and would put there proposals in place .i think it could be great they want to help the people rather than putting things in place that we dont need .and how can the country get any worse its already fubard. so i may give them my vote this year .
NotorietyH wrote: » I think you've got that backwards. Sinn Fein live in a fantasy land where they can spend the Pension Reserve fund twice.
johnie89 wrote: » I thought they were going to spend it once, and then go to the bond markets to continue funding day to day spending as the economy recovers.
johnie89 wrote: » When, If I invest my money in a doggy bank, ....
caseyann wrote: » You think without those people who fought and died and protected Irish families, and possibly members of your own family who were IRA members you would even be a dot on the horizon? Or that Irish people would have gained any form of Independence or equality in our country.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » The IRA and Sinn Fein I'm talking about are the ones which exist and existed in my lifetime, not the ones which existed 90 years ago. They fought a 30 year campaign to unite Ireland. They lost. Then they gave up the bomb and bullet to have a try at politics instead. They will have too do it without my vote, and the votes of many who were paying attention when they wanted to destroy our state.
johnie89 wrote: » I thought they were going to spend it once, and then go to the bond markets to continue funding day to day spending as the economy recovers. Remember without having to take on the bank debt, our sovereign debt becomes a lot easier to manage. As I'm sure you know sovereign debt is rarely paid back, its just serviced. At the moment under FF and FG's plans we will continue to service it (forever) at a cost of 5billion in interest a year. How much would the debt cost to service if the bank guarantee wasn't included? I dont believe that if we 'burn the bond holders' of the banks that they will then penalize us when we go to the bond markets. After a year of having more money in the economy (as we wont be pouring it into the black hole that is the banks) we will see economic growth. Then when we go to the bond markets, they wont demand as much interest as they will be confident of our recovery.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Keep it up, caseyann, I hope lots of young and first-time voters get a good look at the real thinking of Sinn Féin on the subject of the Brits, 800 years of oppression, etc. It's not just about mad economics, folks, there are much more serious problems within SF.
caseyann wrote: » Everyone condemns the IRA.Funny that concentration on IRA from all sides but no concentration on the loyalists.
C14N wrote: » Are you serious? How could you possibly say that people only hate the IRA and not the loyalists? Everyone knows they were a massive cause of problems, the difference is that they weren't on "our" side. People are inclined to feel more ashamed about the atrocities the IRA committed because they were supposed to be for the Irish. Regardless of your opinion on whether you support the IRA or not, it's a terrible reason to vote Sinn Féin. We're not enemies with England (or anybody) anymore.
C14N wrote: » Regardless of your opinion on whether you support the IRA or not, it's a terrible reason to vote Sinn Féin. We're not enemies with England (or anybody) anymore.