Draupnir wrote: » I will definitely try to get to a few of the opens, its just tough with work and wanting to play in my own club competitions, you know yourself. I'm play a chap from Lucan, J.Carey. Don't know much about Lucan or Erins Isle so I am in this for the experience more than anything!
Kingdom wrote: » I think its a decent draw. I'm happy with my "section of 8". I think its an open enough grouping. The draw itself is a good one, there are no handy groups. The first group is interesting because Larry McGinn would quietly fancy himself in Erry. JR on paper has a handy one but Noel likes Clara as well from what I've seen, Harry would be expected to get through his match as would N*gger. Anyone could claim that semi final spot. The next section is interesting, as I feel the winner comes from this section. And not necessarily William Buckley either. Aggie Galvin is playing well this year and won the county matchplay in Clara last year, while running Buckley close in the County stroke two weeks ago. Also in that group, Ian, Jim or George could all emerge to face the winner of Buckley/Galvin and there will be little to choose between them. The 3rd group is more simple. The winner of Harkins or Carey will get to the quarters, and while it seem obvious enough to most that they will face Sean Downes, in reality it will be a bit tougher than that. Old Bill is decent on the "hill" if he can get some momentum, and Mick Hogan owes him one for Stackallen last year, and is playing some solid pitch and putt. The final group is a bit complex too. A former matchplay champ, a local and two of the finer young players around. Given his form James Carroll would be favourite to emerge here, I'd have to concede. As for the direct question asked about N*gger. He's a good player, he was off form facing me, however he scrambled superbly around the greens in Glenville and given some of the pin positions that was no easy feat. If he's on form it could be an epic between ye Harry, but remember Liam Sherry is no mug and Clara's greens are similar to Bridgets.
HITMANHEALY wrote: » Kingdom what do u think of the leinster matchplay draw, i could play gerard mcguirk - the chap u played in the matchplay - whats he like
Kingdom wrote: » No you don't lose the hole. Made this mistake myself in a Juvenile lge match many moons ago. Your interpretation is spot on Tipperman.
Tipperman wrote: » Hitman Are you sure you loose the hole if you take the honour???? My understanding is that you can hit down after your opponent and either leave him play his original shot or ask him to play again... I am not sure on that one as it very rarely happens but it would be good to know as lads could that unknown to themselves etc
Draupnir wrote: » Whats the rule for chipping in while the flag is in the hole? Do I take the ball out without removing the flag or remove the flag and then get my ball?
HITMANHEALY wrote: » Matchplay is easy enough to play: First of all, lenght of putt can differ 2 foot putts can be tricky depending on slope's of greens, if you feel its tricky sont give it, anything uner that i usually give but its up to u, others might have a better explanation on this. always mark ur ball unless told to pick it up Furthest away from the hole always plays even ur on the green and a player is off the green, so ex.you have a 12 foot putt on the green and the other player s 10ft of the green then u go. if you havent got the honour dont go first from the tee box or u will lose the hole. Everything else is basic
Draupnir wrote: » A stupid question coming now but can someone please outline the general rules/etiquette involved in competitive matchplay? Just the kind of things I should be looking out for or doing at the Dublin matchplay would be good. For example, length of putt that I would be expected to give, conceding holes when I am taking my sixth shot from the middle of the next green or something mad like that! Anyway, a brief run down would be majorly helpful so that I dont insult anyone or get myself disqualified!
Draupnir wrote: » It has always seemed strange to me that more clubs don't put a lot into getting juveniles playing. Is there a sense that kids on the course will spoil it for the adult members, particularly the older people who play the game? Kids aren't usually into golf since it involves so much cash, normally requires transport and takes a lot of time. If each club partnered with a school and the PPUI started a schools championship I think it could develop a lot more lifetime members from a young age and get in between 20 and 50 members for each club involved.
Tipperman wrote: » Alan Kelly E.S.B. V John O'Meara Riverdale Celestine Ryan Larkspur Park V Davy Morrissey Lakeside Mark O'Brien Larkspur Park V Frank Dineen St. Anne's Noel Joyce Hillview V John Walsh CollinsDarren Goodall Tralee V Liam O'Donovan Bruff John Garrett Collins V Paul O'Brien Lakeside Kieran Earls Parteen V Paudie O'Sullivan Majestic Mick Walsh Parteen V Jason O'Regan TraleeJames O'Donovan Bruff V Thomas O'Donovan Bruff Darren Collins St. Anne's V James Cleary Hillview Damien Fleming Deerpark V Jimmy O'Neill Larkspur Park John O'Suiilvan Majestic V Declan Sheedy Clare RoadFrank O'Donoghue Templebreedy V Shane Hoare Larkspur Park Ray Murphy Templebreedy V Tommy Hanley Bruff Jonathan Goodall Tralee V J.P. Fletton Tralee Eoin Shannon Collins V John O'Sullivan St. Anne's
Draupnir wrote: » Something else I'd be interested in hearing more about would be the international competitions I see mentioned on the FIPPA website, are these at a higher level than Irish national championships? Is there an actual world championship yet? Strokeplay or matchplay? I'm talking about an individual competition rather than the Team World Cup and Euro Championships which I am aware of already.
mr.jingle wrote: » Hi tipperman well played last wknd! Congrats have to go to murphy the mans a legend and a nice guy to boot i remember dropping my bankcard down in st.stephens in the all irelands a couple o yrs ago an he was out behind me and well basically payed my wknd! Regarding the money situation would we still lose our amateur status if we were to receive vouchers as ya wud in scratch cups, opens...etc Surely if a club can fork out a €300 1st €150 2nd in prices in scratch cups,surely then the nationals should be able to top that sort of prize as it is the one prize everyone wants(but cant get coz of dat damn murphy lad:D)
Wigertoods wrote: » I'm not arguing to the vailidity of this persons claim to a place on the Inter county team having just won the second biggest championship in the game. My point was to show the inconsistancies that the Dublin board leave themselves open to by their selection process. I know who the person was and I felt he was really hard done by at the time.I also would have sympathy with other people who we all know should have played on at least one Inter county team but still await their chance.
HITMANHEALY wrote: » Well the man who won never got on it and i got on it when i won the matchplay - its a weird process leave it up to the board i say
Draupnir wrote: » Absolutely shocking weather the last couple of days, this wont be doing anyones practice regime any good ahead of the Dub. Matchplay. Anyone want to make a prediction for the Senior winner? If I was a gambling man I would put my money on G.Healy to meet the winner of P.Nolan -v- D.Courtney in the final.
Wigertoods wrote: » I'd keep my money in my pocket if I were you Draupnir. The Dublin M/P has quite a habit of throwing up some of the most unpredictable results especially because it's only over 18 holes.A bad start and it's all over very quickly.
Wigertoods wrote: » Wouldn't say that's quite true.I'm pretty sure that winning the Leinster S/P is what got me on the Inter County team in 2003.
GerCPM wrote: » No there isnt Draupnir, but there are International strokeplay opens in Catalonia, France, Italy etc, which are nearly always won by Irish players as we are the best in the world at the game.But in the future, a World matchplay or Strokeplay would be unbelievable, but can never see it happening because of travel.They would need to offer big prize money to entice players to come over, and as Tipperman said that mightened even be possible.What would be possible would be a World Matchplay with only the National Champs going from each country? (both strokeplay and matchplay).PPUI funding maybe
Kingdom wrote: » ... Having said that with people moving more and more into the country and commuting times increasing, Pitch and Putt should be in a position to capitalise on that, in places like Newbridge, Kilcullen, Tullamore, the commuter belt. ...