Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Concerning trends with the Indian variant. Really can't see indoor dining returning as planned sadly.
Itssoeasy wrote: » :rolleyes: based on what exactly ? I know it’s not going to happen but coronavirus and the donkey it rode in on need to **** off.
crooked cockney villain wrote: » While this lad is on a wind up and hates pubs and socialising, I would sadly have to half concur. Tony is chomping at the chance to do it one more time. The fact that everybody who can die from it is now fully vaccinated and therefore are probably at as much risk of Covid death as flu death, or even less, doesn't matter to them. If the Indian variant is at 20% this week it seems likely it would be at circa 50% by the time the pubs are due. These wastes of space won't turn down the opportunity I feel. Whether Mehole has the balls to tell them to feck off who knows, particularly as two weeks from now we will have further proof from England that endemic rates of Indian variant mean absolutely feck all in terms of death and serious illness. I'd seriously hope any further putting the breaks on leads to civil disobedience, and more.
saabsaab wrote: » Who is winding up who?
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » That’s the biggest myth being peddled in this whole thing. The vaccine roll out has been a shambles of a mixture of luck and who you know.
Allinall wrote: » That's just McDowell's opinion.
Allinall wrote: » Ok. Didn’t realise that. In that case, the restaurants have a good case. Will be interesting to see the outcome.
crooked cockney villain wrote: » Remember in April 2020, when the most optimistic predictions had a Covid vaccine at three years away, Simon Harris, then minister of health, said that pubs would never re open until after the vaccine would be rolled out?
Itssoeasy wrote: » I heard the word “sobering” mentioned on the wireless at lunch time. I wouldn’t be at all surprised as much as I hate to admit it, that indoors in pubs may not happen on July 5th. I’ve this awful feeling it won’t happen. I hope to Christ I’m wrong but just hearing the Taoiseach talk on the radio I’m not as bullish as I had been.
crooked cockney villain wrote: » NPHET and the government. It became less about health and more about pushing us to the brink of insanity circa last July. It's a war. Remember in April 2020, when the most optimistic predictions had a Covid vaccine at three years away, Simon Harris, then minister of health, said that pubs would never re open until after the vaccine would be rolled out? That Harris was so blase, too bad lads, social life is suspended for the next three years, tells you all you need to know about these people.
Coillte_Bhoy wrote: » Except he didnt say that, but hey keep peddling your lies if it makes you feel good and before a mod comes after me, maybe it should be up to that poster to provide a direct quote? No? Didnt think so, it's a blatant lie.
...April 20th, the day after Minister for Health Simon Harris suggested pubs might not fully reopen until after a vaccine is found.
PTH2009 wrote: » Is it this Thursday that there making the decision ?Really really hope they do reopen indoors and don't cave into the pressure from NPHET/Dr Tony and keep them outdoors til Mid July or even mid August (after the bank holiday weekend) The Delta Variant and the slow Vaccination programme in which a lot of younger people are still not vaccinated would be enough grounds to postpone
PTH2009 wrote: » Is it this Thursday that there making the decision ?Really really hope they do reopen indoors and don't cave into the pressure from NPHET/Dr Tony and keep them outdoors til Mid July or even mid August (after the bank holiday weekend)The Delta Variant and the slow Vaccination programme in which a lot of younger people are still not vaccinated would be enough grounds to postpone
PTH2009 wrote: » Is it this Thursday that there making the decision ? Really really hope they do reopen indoors and don't cave into the pressure from NPHET/Dr Tony and keep them outdoors til Mid July or even mid August (after the bank holiday weekend) The Delta Variant and the slow Vaccination programme in which a lot of younger people are still not vaccinated would be enough grounds to postpone
Itssoeasy wrote: » No next Thursday. It’s a wait and see game kind of. It’s why I’ve been not bothering about when pubs were supposed to be opening because like everything, I won’t believe it until it happens.
Tenzor07 wrote: » 3 Irish people it seems however love the restrictions and want more though...:mad:
PTH2009 wrote: » Feel the same, They've been open how long over in the UK and around Europe and hasn't led to anything major but this is a different beast of virus here and it likes alcohol particularly when its consumed at a indoor hospitality venue
MOH wrote: » If you're going to accuse people of blatant lies, you might want to spend 15 seconds searching to ensure your accusation isn't itself a blatant lie. That's about how long it took me to find this.
PTH2009 wrote: » Word is out that NPHET have recommended Indoor Pubs don't open on the 5th July
giveitholly wrote: » Source/Link?
PTH2009 wrote: » Saw it on Facebook