landofthetree wrote: » A large group breaking the rules. What else are they but scum? Tens of thousands of people haven't got to go to funerals because of restrictions. Yet SF just ignore the rules.
landofthetree wrote: » The scum breaking the C19 rules as per usual.https://www.rte.ie/amp/1150536/
maccored wrote: » says more about yourself that post than anything
Bishop of hope wrote: » It is í suppose, the #not my Taoiseach should be dead and buried at this stage though don't you think? It's childish and undemocratic at best. Taoiseach means chief says Marylou, I'm his chief. Jesus.
25% or 1 in 4 Irish adults score at or below level 1 for numeracy. At this level a person may have problems doing simple math calculations. 42% of Irish adults score at or below level 1 on using technology to solve problems and accomplish tasks.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Your lack of education on this point is your responsibility, not mine.
Bowie wrote: » Well you need edit you comment. It reads as if you are ridiculing the people on both sides who signed up to peace. The IRA signed up when it was right for the IRA I'd imagine.
Bonniedog wrote: » No harm to you but you clearly do not understand what the "veto" is. It is not some esoteric ritual, it is simply that a united Ireland would require the consent of a majority in 6 counties. That is in Sunningdale, Hillsborough AND the GFA. Only difference is that SF now accept the "veto"/consent clause. Not only that, but they are happy to sit in Stormont running the place on behalf of London. Now, if you think that is remotely near republicans having achieved their objective then good luck to you. Seems that current pipe dream is based on winning the sectarian riding stakes at some stage in the future. Which ironically is much less likely given the shinners' support for abortion!
John Hume wrote: The fundamental change that has taken place as a result of the Anglo-Irish Agreement is a change that is deeply and fully understood by every Unionist. What it means is that their exclusive hold on power has gone and is not coming back. The power of veto on British policy which they have always had, and which goes to the heart of our problem here, has gone and is not coming back. The loss is uncomfortable for their leaders, for while they held that privileged position they never had to be politicians or exercise the art of politics, which is the art of representing one’s own view while treating others with fairness. For traditional Unionism in Northern Ireland, other points of view have never actually existed. To this day, as they boast about the proposals which they have placed before the British Government about the future of Northern Ireland – the future of us all – the insult which their behaviour represents doesn’t seem to have occurred to them. Not only have they not presented these proposals to those of us who represent other views – views which must be accommodated if we are to have a future: they haven’t even published them for the information of their own followers. They are still oligarchs. The faithful will line up when the drums beat. The other points of view, to which lip-service is publicly paid, don’t really count.
blanch152 wrote: » I am pointing out the ridiculous nature of Francie's definition of politicians lying. If he is correct, the IRA and Sinn Fein are the biggest liars of the lot. The IRA should have signed up to peace 40 years before they did eventually cop on.
Mortelaro wrote: » He certainly didn't surrender, he got 90% of the Republic's population to amend articles 2 and 3 of its constitution removing the claim to jurisdiction over northern Ireland
blanch152 wrote: » The veto is still there the last I checked.
FrancieBrady wrote: » And I think the British should have capitulated 40 years earlier and removed the Unionist and Loyalist veto. A veto they had used for 80 years (with the blessing of FG and FF) to subjugate, gerrymander, and oppress our fellow Irish people. Had the British copped on to that simple thing, say 'No' to Unionists in 1968/69 then there'd have been no violence, no conflict/war and 3000+ people would have had the chance to live out their lives in peace. Like Michael Martin knew he would coalesce with FG if it came to it, the Brtish KNEW what the problems were in 1969 but they took a side and tried to re-oppress and re-subjugate on behalf of Unionism/Loyalism. If you tell the story of what happened on this island and you do not put the primary blame for what happened at the door of those with the primary responsibility, then to me you are also a liar, an historian who cannot be trusted in other words. Why would we trust a word out of yours or Michael Martin's mouth when you lie about fundamental things so easily?
Bowie wrote: » Can you clarify something. Why are you looking to ridicule the IRA for signing up to peace? Are you just trying to get a rise or do you miss the Troubles? Not a very moral or responsible attitude to try belittle sides took politics and peace over violence. By the way 'No Surrender' was Paisley's line. That's him no surrendering on the left.
maccored wrote: » slow news day?
Bishop of hope wrote: » Poor old bad losers. Someday these lads might put their brain in gear before they open their mouths.https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/mary-lou-is-my-taoiseach-isnt-a-micheal-slur-says-sf-td-thomas-gould-1008202.html
blanch152 wrote: » The IRA gave up on it, were they telling a lie when they said "Brits Out, No Surrender"? By your definition, they were telling the biggest porkies.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I'm not protesting it. I am defending the right to protest. Like you, those protestors have a right to their opinion and to express it. Sorry to ruin your perceptions there.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Sure.
FrancieBrady wrote: » The IRA didn't achieve their aim militarily. It wasn't necessarily a lie, they tried and failed.
blanch152 wrote: » Start a thread about O'Leary and I might comment on that. However, I am perfectly entitled to hold the opinion that Paddy Holohan's repeated homophobic, racist and misogynist rants across a number of podcasts are much more sinister and much more disturbing than a single tweet which has been twisted by you out of context. Genuineness and empathy are not characteristics oozing from your posts. In fact, they most often demonstrate the opposite.