pyramuid man wrote: » Politicians should not have any say in how banks conduct their business. In my opinion, they drove a lot of the excessive borrowing that caused the bubble in the first place.
ChikiChiki wrote: » Yeah, he lost the premises. Lads like that who mix in high society circles will always get a few opportunities to bounce back unlike most of us if we were in a tricky spot. He will once again adorn the front page of Barry Egans Indo Christmas spread. I have no doubt about it.
glasso wrote: » it's getting a bit late for a comeback for him. by all accounts he is supposed to be (from people I know who know him socially) great fun out and about.
buried wrote: » But they don't, they haven't had a say since the 70's, politicians don't set the rates, the banks do that, central and commercial. Politicians didn't tell the banks to hand out 200,000 euro loans to people whose only profession was being a babysitter. The banks did that on their own head, with no regulations, and then when it all spectacularly fell on its arse, the banks demanded that the politicians bail them out.
PhilOssophy wrote: » Weddings by Franc. Did anything ever symbolise the waste of the Celtic Tiger more and the sh1te people did.
corner of hells wrote: » I saw a bloke wearing a jacket made out of decking.
retalivity wrote: » the only one i remember is the French one who died.
facehugger99 wrote: » Joan of Arc? Napoleon? Sophie Toscan du Plantier?
CrankyHaus wrote: » Seems like a good time for this:https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/dreams-die-with-death-of-katy-1.990174 John Waters' Obituary for Katy French. That's right. Before you knew him as the figurehead of Ireland's nascent nutty Alt-Right he was the designated arselicker of Fianna Fail's Celtic Tiger Ireland. A better symbol of how drastically the country has changed would be hard to find. Some highlights: "She was a child. She was my daughter and Eoghan's daughter and Eamon's daughter and Pat's daughter and Bertie's daughter. She was your daughter, your little sister. She was a child of Ireland in the time of its rebirth. I am crying, writing this. How can you cry for someone you've only once said hello to? Katy was the daughter of our dreams, in the sense that it was the dreams of her people that gave birth to what is tritely called her celebrity." "Driven by angelic recall, they plod on clay feet into the mire of three-dimensional reality. They do not know, are not conscious, that their appetites are infinitely greater than the world's capacity to satisfy them." "She did not, other than literally, die of whatever it will say on her death certificate. She died of desire, of being utterly human. What can I say? The dream is over." Which seques somewhat incongruously into: "As Pope Benedict reminds us in his new encyclical, we have no idea what we would really like. "We do not know this reality at all; even in those moments when we think we can reach out and touch it, it eludes us." All we know is that it is not what we have."
CrankyHaus wrote: » "She did not, other than literally, die of whatever it will say on her death certificate. She died of desire, of being utterly human.
retalivity wrote: » Much more famous than them, according to every rag at the time.
Randy Archer wrote: » Funny enough, she got burned for her 21st birthday, which was a few months before she died. Media had made a big big deal of it but it turned out that sfa “famous” people bothered to turn up. Rather humiliating . A lot of people sniggered and sneered , even media folk. You know things really hit the fan when John Watters, who knew nothing about her and would have been completely at the opposite end of the spectrum ,felt the need to write about her That same weekend, two scobbies , brothers I think, from some council estate in Waterford , died of drugs . Little to no coverage of that
sheepondrugs wrote: His offices are in Lucan now at Grifeeen shopping centre. Must be a change from Baggot St or wherever.
Sunny Disposition wrote: » Some of that article went a bit above my head tbh, but there was a warmth to John Waters' writing then. He seemed like a very decent sort of an everyman then, his decline is quite sad in my opinion.
CrankyHaus wrote: » Seems like a good time for this:https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/dreams-die-with-death-of-katy-1.990174 John Waters' Obituary for Katy French. That's right. Before you knew him as the figurehead of Ireland's nascent nutty Alt-Right he was the designated arselicker of Fianna Fail's Celtic Tiger Ireland. A better symbol of how drastically the country has changed would be hard to find
From the Irish Times: During his address, the ambassador referred to Ireland's wealth, saying Ministers of State earn more that the German chancellor, and 20 per cent of the population were public servants. In a reference to negotiations over hospital consultant contracts, he said doctors who were offered salaries of €200,000 a year had described the salary as "Mickey Mouse money". Mr Mitchell said last night they were the only words the ambassador said in English and that the audience laughed at the comments. Mr Mitchell said Mr Pauls also criticised the Government's immigration policy, saying Ireland learned nothing from Germany's experiences. He told a story about attending the National Concert Hall when an announcement was made for the owner of a 93D-registered car to move it. He said no one moved as all Irish cars are '06 and '07. He said that US visitors had stopped coming to Ireland because of the heavy traffic and that Ireland has a bleak time in the past due to the Famine and had a history "sadder than Poland". Mr Pauls said a house had sold in Clontarf for over €20 million and one could buy a skyscraper for that in Frankfurt.
John_Rambo wrote: » He's been succeeding in failure for a long time now, he wrote a Eurovision song that came last, he was an unsuccessful Independent candidate, he refused to use email when it came out (what a pro), he supported the invasion of Iraq in the belief that there were weapons of mass destruction, opposed gay marriage, claimed there's no such thing as depression, blamed catholic clerical child abuse on gay people and was imprisoned because he didn't pay a parking fine because he felt he'd returned to his car only shortly after the grace period. And people still employ him.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » Ridiculous Irish weddings are still a legacy of Celtic Tiger. Standing outside in the fcuking cold in the middle of December trying to light lanterns to set off into the sky. I was at one a couple of years ago where the party kept getting broken up so we could watch the couples "first dance" for the fifth time - the bride had a number of songs that were special to her, apparently. All the while being warned repeatedly over the microphone not to take photos or videos, the only record of the day was to be the official "approved media". All this after she was an hour and a half late to the church. The poor fella she married would only wash himself on special occasions if he was let, I think they'll be very happy. My wife was asked to be a bridesmaid recently. She hadnt a clue why she was being summoned for makeup at 5:30am for a wedding 8 hours later. It all made sense when she walked in, glowing in the dark like Singin Bernie Walsh. She didnt realise that all women of all hair colours and complexions need to be tangoed for the traditional Irish wedding - poor woman was mortified. God be with the days when a wedding was judged solely on how much mash and veg was served with the dinner.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » My auld fella was one of these. He'd buy it in January, and start hinting at an upgrade over the summer. By November he'd be turning down the radio mid drive going "do you hear that? Something rattling, that's a sign it needs to be changed", then go again. He used cycle everywhere up to 1999, suddenly he was driving to the chipper across the road because he'd "to get petrol anyway". He did switch from a Focus ("best car on the road") to an Avensis ("them Fords are $hite") in 2003 which was the most exciting thing to happen in our house for a while. The Avensis came with a free toasted sandwich maker for some reason, and himself sat outside in a rage polishing the interior of a new car while we were all inside scalding our mouths with volcanic cheese. Good times
ChikiChiki wrote: » I've been at a few foreign weddings of Irish people, with smaller gatherings and less formal. Way better craic in my opinion. And obviously a fraction of the cost and stress.
McGaggs wrote: » I forgot about the SSIAs. I didn't have one because I was a poor student when they started.