TCDStudent1 wrote: » Is it nonsense though? Was it not actually proven on the first weekend after the restrictions were implemented when many videos circulated of people not social distancing?
timmy_mallet wrote: » Our barbers more contagious then theirs? What are the 'vastly different variables' that would mean barbers have more/less impact on COVID-19 cases?
Crocked wrote: » You said hospital capacity increases by four fold or more, that is patiently not true. There is neither the staff or space to do that. That's why the western world shut down their economies and built some extra capacity as best they could. The fact our efforts were so far successful in reducing the need to the extra capacity should be lauded. We got fairly close to using up all ICU capacity as it was. Good to know thousands of people dying is grand for you though, cause sure they'd have died anyway!!
iamwhoiam wrote: » There would be many deaths apart from Covid if they were to cocoon until August .
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » Well the fact that you created 22% unemployment in the state should also be lauded. 14% permanent unemployment September onward into the next year. How many suicide deaths will occur from us sitting at home and putting younger generation into poverty? how many drug addicts will we create? Leo will not even give you an estimate, because it would be much higher than 1300. And younger generation has 50 + years ahead of them. Government has made a huge error and it will be very clear in a matter of 6 months from now.
kippy wrote: » Or two countries with vastly different variables.
hmmm wrote: » Your big plan is instead of telling people what they should be doing in the face of a new pandemic, you're going to tell them to use "cop on" and "common sense"? OK.
storker wrote: » Yes...you know, the kind of common sense that had the crowds heading for Cheltenham and packing out pubs in Dublin even after virus warnings had been given.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » When in reality, out of population of 5m of Ireland or 10m of Sweden you will have 100,000 + disregarding ANY rules you impose. This thread is talking about idealism of - hey, lockdown, people stay at home unless exercising or getting food. Reality = house parties. That will be the case even if Leo puts on a gardai uniform and starts walking door to door doing checks.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » Here is another joke, Denmark opening barbers on 21 April and Ireland on 20th of July. Either 1 government is reckless or 1 government is clueless.
Cina wrote: » To be clear, I didn't at any point argue that our roadmap isn't overly restrictive compared to other countries, only that it's wrong to underestimate how dangerous this virus actually is if nothing is done about it or if people start to become too lax about it.
Cina wrote: » I agree a middle ground is needed, whatever that is. Our roadmap is overly slow and restrictive. At the same time I think it's dangerous to try downplay this virus now after we've successfully implemented measures to curb its progress. Italy and Spain had to lock their people indoors completely for two months because their health services were collapsing under coronavirus, but people seem eager to forget that. We shouldn't underestimate what this virus can do if measures aren't in place.
kippy wrote: » What would you have done and when?
Asal beag dubh wrote: » Even if you think that a righteous cull of older people who are on death's door anyway is justifiable ... on the tenuous grounds that it's a fair trade off for getting the economy back up and running and for younger people's mental health ...... please take a look at some of the videos that front line healthcare workers have been posting from areas that are overwhelmed from the virus. These people are on the brink. Some have died due to their efforts (from the virus or suicide) and many will probably suffer from some form of PTSD for years to come. These people didn't sign up for this level of risk/stress/trauma but they keep going. Many are still posting messages pleading with people to stay at home. Thankfully we haven't reached this level in Ireland but we weren't far off it - many, many HCW have been sick from COVID. We need to protect them and make sure that if there is a spike, that they're available and have the capacity and energy to deal with it. Please show some consideration.
mooseknunkle wrote: » I followed the restrictions for the first 4 weeks and done my part,two weeks ago i started going for longer walks well outside of the 2km radius just me and my dog ,today i got a haircut from a barber and im going to travel over 100km to meet up with a friend sometime tomorrow. I've given up on these restrictions and won't be following them any longer,best to luck to anyone on here whos willing to sit on their hands at home for the next 3 months and believe everything the government is telling them.
Cina wrote: » They're not overhwhelmed because we went into lockdown. Have you seen Italy? Or the US? Prime examples of what happens when countries didn't do what we did early enough. The problem is that people like you see the lower death rates and assume that means the virus isn't actually as deadly as we've been told, despite those low death rates only being there because we've all been under strict f*cking lockdowns. Maybe they do need to open everything up again for a while so you lot can see what will happen if this virus is left unchecked. Coronoavirus has already been proven to be extremely infectious, with much higher mortality rates than the flu yet you still get people claiming it's not as bad as it's made out to be. mental. It's amazing how the internet brigade seemingly know more than most top scientists and doctors worldwide. Fair play to ye.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » I would protect the at risk group. I would literally impose lockdowns on people with asthma and over 60 year olds. I would strongly suggest that there is no interaction between elderly and the young until a vaccine or a treatment drug is developed. These arent nice measures but have to be done. I would encourage public to wash their hands more frequently and follow social distancing where it is possible. And shut down any large public gatherings (1000 + people at concerts etc) temporarily. We have young, healthy population who can survive HIV let alone a 0.65% mortality virus. Why keep them indoors and let their immune system degrade? Our immune systems develop through our interaction with the world, with good bacteria and bad bacteria, not through sitting at home watching netflix.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » Its tragic dont get me wrong. Its tragic that Ireland has had 65 times more deaths than New Zealand given identical population size. Am I angry? yes. Do i think government have failed us? yes. Do i think that we should continue making mistakes of sitting at home and wait for a virus to go away? no.
Deleted User wrote: » I mean, its a no brainer really isn't it. Over 90% of the deaths are over 65. Majority of the hospitalizations as well. Lock them down will solve our problems. But we actually encouraged them to come out.
The Jman wrote: » I work in a large department store which sells homewares, seasonal product and clothing. What phase of reopening do ppl think we would fall into? At first I was resigned to June 29th but now I'm not so sure.
kippy wrote: » It's literally not that simple. What's the age profile of those that required hospitilasitaion? What's the percentage of known cases in ireland that needed hospitilisation?
stephenjmcd wrote: » Updates from Germany and Austria being carried on RTE, "Germany's biggest state Bavaria will allow restaurants to reopen from 18 May, the state premier said, after a shutdown to halt transmission of the novel coronavirus that has crippled the economy. In the progressive plan to restart the gastronomy sector, Markus Soeder said restaurants will first be allowed to offer outdoor dining from 18 May, before extending the opening to indoor dining a week later. " Austria Austria's health minister said the coronavirus pandemic in the country was under control, three weeks after it began to ease a strict lockdown. "The situation is very constant, very stable," Rudolf Anschober said, adding the daily increase in new infections had shrunk to 0.2%, down from up to 50% in mid-March. Small shops and hardware and gardening stores reopened in mid-April after a month-long lockdown though wearing masks in shops and public transport, and practising social distancing became mandatory. Bigger shops followed suit this weekend, and restrictions that largely forbid people from leaving their homes were lifted. Classes in schools are resuming this month, and restaurants are expected to reopen by mid-May.
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » The part of your post that I highlighted in bold is I believe very relevant to what has happened (so far) in Austria since the easing of restrictions there. The wearing of masks will not apply here or at least there are no plans for it to.