lord quackinton wrote: » https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/dont-wear-gloves-shopping-or-out-and-about-hse-infection-control-experts-warn-39179163.html Now we are so stupid we don’t know how to wear and dispose of plastic gloves No one can deny we are living in a nanny state, this virus has just magnified it The state and its arms Know best , the people are dum dums who cant be trusted to act rationally
easypazz wrote: » Is that down from 900 in hospital yesterday. Need to see new cases go down next.
stephenjmcd wrote: » At 8pm yesteday there was 665 confirmed cases and 241 suspected. 8am today 672 and 331 suspected. 8pm today 680 and 247 suspected. So pretty stable really no big increase.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Which completely contradicts itself. If offices can open 10th August they will, be up to them to decide or give staff the option of working from home or not. I'll be back in soon as my office reopens
NDWC wrote: » Why are there people saying we haven't been in lockdown? Of course we have. Ok fair enough it hasn't been a Wuhan style "weld the doors shut" type lockdown but for all intents and purposes it's been a lockdown. Who cares what term is used? The lads on here that are constantly crying about posters using the term lockdown need to get a life.
FintanMcluskey wrote: » No thats a film or fantasy of yours you are describing. This is as strict a lockdown as Ireland could implement.
JMNolan wrote: » That's the danger of having a plan that is so long to execute, the majority will use their own judgement to decide what to do. Especially when we see Italy, France, Spain and the rest of Europe opening up as we speak. No one has explained why we are so different to the rest of Europe.
alwald wrote: » It means the lockdown restrictions are working and must continue...work from home will be mandatory by the way so I doubt anyone will be back to the office after 10/08 just because they miss their chat/gossip with their colleagues.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Work from home wont be mandatory, offices are allowed to open from 10th August. I've seen 2 emails from quite large companies in Dublin city centre (600+ staff) to staff giving them the option to continue to work from home if they wish but that they can return to the office from 10th August so long as phase 5 goes ahead on that date, social distancing measures to be in place. 1 of these offices is a major law firm with government contracts so I'd trust what they say. My own office I've not heard yet but expecting the very same.
alwald wrote: » Remote working continues for all workers or businesses that can do so A lot of companies care about how they are perceived in LinkedIn/Social media and not respecting the government guidelines will give them bad publicity.
SusieBlue wrote: » Did it ever occur to you that people might have had other motivations for wanting to return to work other than having a gossip with their work mates? Lockdown is not a cure for coronavirus. Lockdown is simply suppressing the inevitable spike in cases we will see as soon as we reopen services and industries. It isn’t working, it’s just delaying. Indefinite lockdown will not make the virus go away.
SusieBlue wrote: » Lockdown is not a cure for coronavirus. Lockdown is simply suppressing the inevitable spike in cases we will see as soon as we reopen services and industries. It isn’t working, it’s just delaying. Indefinite lockdown will not make the virus go away.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Good for them. You'll be in for a shock on the 10th so when offices will be open. Not everyone in every office can work from home indefinitely. Projects to be finished and deadlines to be kept.
alwald wrote: » You are taking the content of my post too personally Stephen...I hope you will sleep well!
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » You should tell that to most of the world who had lockdowns. Surely with your vast knowledge someone would have listened to you?
stephenjmcd wrote: » Eh no I'm not talking it personally, I've given you the facts from 2 large companies that I know of. So believe whatever you want. I'll sleep great thanks.
Ahwell wrote: » And how exactly are you qualified to make such a definite prediction?
gozunda wrote: Yeah you've told us many times now you dont believe anything about the Pandemic the experts are telling you...
easypazz wrote: Never said that.
easypazz wrote: » On 23 January director of the HSE's Health Protection Surveillance Centre said the risk of coronavirus cases in Ireland was “quite low”, “If we were to see a case in a European country the risk of a secondary case – a person transmitting to somebody else – is also low”. The above was the position of Irish "experts" in January. These same clueless people are now presiding over possibly the most conservative unwinding plan in Europe or even the world. It is disappointing that so many people continue to blindly follow their doctrine and never question anything.
easypazz wrote: » What threat does a lad on a bike with a litre of milk pose?
retro:electro wrote: » It’s the lack of it being challenged in the mainstream is what I can’t understand. The timeline seems to have swallowed up wholesale by most in the public eye. Nobody seems to be questioning why TF we have three more months of this ahead of us while the rest of Europe is lifting restrictions left right and centre. A few more weeks, yeah grand. Three more months being dragged out while the rest of the world is moving on is fcuking torturous and nonsensical
RugbyLad11 wrote: » My local barber is open, you need to make an appointment and he has his blinds down so people can't see inside. I know people won't be happy to hear that but I say fair play to him we need to get this country back up and running.Imagine the guards raiding a barbers and arresting people for getting their haircut...
SusieBlue wrote: » Common sense, perhaps? We don’t have a cure, any immunity or a vaccine. All it takes is one asymptomatic person to restart the spread again when things reopen. Remember, we now have over 21k confirmed cases and we started with just 1 person. There’s no reason why that won’t happen again. What makes you think there WON’T be a spike in cases when we ease restrictions? As per the government directive, which you can view yourself online, we are currently in the delay phase. Note the use of the word ‘delay’. It doesn’t say anything about eradicating the virus, or killing off the virus, or curing the virus. It simply says delay.
Arghus wrote: » You make good arguments in favour of keeping the lockdown in place.