Skyfloater wrote: » Was any reason given why we have to wait another two weeks until the 18th before building sites, garden centres and DIY stores open? What quantifiable thing is supposed to happen between now and the 18th?
NIMAN wrote: » And surprisingly there was no news of large number of supermarket staff getting ill. I have visited the same supermarket since all this began, and every single employee is still working from what I can see. So none got sick. I have used it for years and I'd know the faces who work there.
retro:electro wrote: » It’s the lack of it being challenged in the mainstream is what I can’t understand. The timeline seems to have swallowed up wholesale by most in the public eye. Nobody seems to be questioning why TF we have three more months of this ahead of us while the rest of Europe is lifting restrictions left right and centre. A few more weeks, yeah grand. Three more months being dragged out while the rest of the world is moving on is fcuking torturous and nonsensical
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » I am judging NPHET expertise, and my judgement is the response to the pandemic has been very poor. A shambles. Merely for the following reasons: -over 1300 dead -22% unemployment created, 14% unemployment September onwards into next year -Thousands of jobs lost Compare that to New Zealand. Compare it to South Korea, compare it to Czech republic, or Denmark, Norway, Finland. Even Poland with a population of 39m people has had 680 deaths. Unfortunately...
SNNUS wrote: » Just an observation but, I have not heard of any supermarket closing because of a COVID19 outbreak. I would have thought at the start of this that this would happen a lot as the supermarkets are the place you would think would be most risky due to amount of people etc and that it could make all staff isolate if it did happen.
niallo27 wrote: » We had a family bbq today, first time seeing each other in weeks. Father sad in the jeep eating his burger. Families stayed apart within reason. I'd recommend it, be responsible. This 5km thing is horse****
seamusk84 wrote: » Right so to be clear: This weekend I can't hop in the car to spin out within the 5 KM radius for an unnecessary journey to my favorite restaurant because they are other closer by yes? Unnecessary journeys still off the cards even within a 5km radius until 20th July. This is some clusterf**k
JoeA3 wrote: » Same here. We've decided amongst ourselves that enough's enough, we've done our bit and with this weather, we saw no reason not to do likewise.
Porthallian wrote: » Might be the wrong thread so apologies, but with relaxing of restrictions do people foresee flights becoming available for foreign travel? This isn't for a carefree holiday, my girlfriend is from Spain and despite the worse situation over there, she is desperate to get home to her family (particularly her elderly father).
na1 wrote: » Correction: from the 8th June the distance will be extended to 20 km
cadaliac wrote: » so its all ok to breach social distancing now? Is that what you are saying?
hmmm wrote: » Hopefully not everyone decides to make up their own rules or we'll be back to a full lockdown before long. A few weeks ago it was "clap for carers", now it's "we're all having a bbq" and "I know a barber who will let you in if you know the special knock".
KrustyUCC wrote: » sure but the caveat about essential journeys remains the same AFAIK
niallo27 wrote: » Nobody said anything about breaching social distancing
seamusk84 wrote: » I go back to my earlier thoughts that I can't go to a takeaway I like better than one that is closer to me tomorrow even if it is withing the 5km radius.
niallo27 wrote: » We are in full lockdown. Nothing is open. This country can not enforce any stricter of a lockdown.
hmmm wrote: » We're facing a pandemic which is killing 10% of over-70s, killing younger people with certain conditions and killing doctors and nurses throughout the world. We're being asked to make big changes to lower the risk of spread for a few weeks, and you're giving out because you can't get to the takeaway you prefer?
seamusk84 wrote: » I'm using an example to illustrate the point that none of this is clear enough. Jeeze, this is why it a always a risk to post on the Covid forums these days....
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » You are absolutely wrong there. No one apart from the vulnerable high risk groups have been in what I would consider a real lockdown situation at any point since the virus appeared. Not yet anyway.
niallo27 wrote: Had to drive to cork today from limerick for an emergency. There is absolutely nobody on the road, its eery. I stopped on the motorway to close the boot properly. 3 minutes and not one car passed. Fair play to people, nobody is out.
hmmm wrote: » We're facing a pandemic which is killing 10% of over-70s, killing younger people with certain conditions and killing doctors and nurses throughout the world. We're being asked to make big changes to lower the risk of spread for a few weeks months, and you're giving out because you can't get to the takeaway you prefer?