Charles Babbage wrote: » The joined to protect the safety of the public and thry are doing that. What's the problem?
hmmm wrote: » Don't worry, it sounds made up. Any guard worth their salt would have heard of this and shut it down quickly. The Guards have done a good job balancing trying to enforce the restrictions while not being too heavy handed. A few mistakes, but nothing as bad as some of the UK forces. This thread is full of Trumpian extremists - it would be nice to have a thread where we could discuss how we realistically open up safely over the next few weeks.
RugbyLad11 wrote: » My local barber is open, you need to make an appointment and he has his blinds down so people can't see inside. I know people won't be happy to hear that but I say fair play to him we need to get this country back up and running. Imagine the guards raiding a barbers and arresting people for getting their haircut...
scamalert wrote: » id guess propably every town in ireland by now has few barbers garages and other places doing job off side, you do realize some people still work every day, and have to look presentable, not everyone hides in a corner like a little b%tch thinking it will go away once government says so.
VonLuck wrote: » I'd hate to be in a position of power right now. No matter what you do you will be criticised. If you give in to pressure and relax measures you'll be blamed that the number of cases / deaths could have been lower. If it's successful, you'll receive criticism that the measures were too strict and are crippling the economy. The reality is that no one knows for sure what the right approach is. The important thing is that there is a plan in place and that it needs to be followed through, regardless of whether you agree with it or not.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » I think it isnt about defending owns statement. A fact remains that Ireland will have on the 9th of August, longest lockdown for restaurants etc. on the whole planet. Only way to disprove is it to say oh hey, look at Madagascar, they locked up their restaurant staff for 7 months because of fears of 0.65% mortality rate disease. It would be funny if true, but it isnt true. No one comes even close to our 5 months effective lockdown thats the painful thing :(:(
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » Assuming this story is true what precautions is your local barber taking? Is he wearing gloves or a mask? Is he properly cleaning and disinfecting his equipment? Does he have family or friends in one of the high risk groups?What about his clients? The same questions apply to them as well.
rob316 wrote: » We can't afford this, our children are already going to be paying off the bank bailout. We can't add another 20/30 billion to it. Lets see how pro-lockdown people are when the next budget comes around.
Stheno wrote: » Eh you do know that restaurants are scheduled to open on June 19th? Have you posted one single post outside this foeumsince you joined yesterday???
easypazz wrote: » What threat does a lad on a bike with a litre of milk pose?
costacorta wrote: » What threat would 1000 guys on a bike with a litre of milk do ?
shocksy wrote: » The road map has been laid out. Deal with it.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » he takes all the necessary steps to protect himself and his customer.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » This can be done in 3 short phases with 2 weeks between each other, all the outdoor workers first (construction etc) then 2 weeks later small shops/barbers/restaurants with small capacity and then lastly open up large shops/TK maxx etc etc. Do it on capacity level rather than industry/area. No one knows if barbers or pubs would be more infectious, so its better to open by capacity and estimate worst case scenarios and see if empty hospitals can handle.
NIMAN wrote: » It will be interesting to see how much support there will be for any austerity measures that have to be brought in in the coming years to pay for all this.
these studies indicate that close & prolonged contact is required for #COVID19 transmission. The risk is highest in enclosed environments; household, long-term care facilities and public transport.
High infection rates seen in household, friend & family gatherings, transport suggest that closed contacts in congregation is likely the key driver of productive transmission. Casual, short interactions are not the main driver of the epidemic though keep social distancing!
hmmm wrote: » By doing this in 3 week phases, we will know exactly which group of changes have caused a rise in the number of cases, and we hopefully only have to roll back one phase at most.
easypazz wrote: » €700m handed to private hospitals I think I read. Enough for a brand new state of the art hospital somewhere. The money poured into this, and very questions asked, is obscene.
SNNUS wrote: » Just an observation but, I have not heard of any supermarket closing because of a COVID19 outbreak. I would have thought at the start of this that this would happen a lot as the supermarkets are the place you would think would be most risky due to amount of people etc and that it could make all staff isolate if it did happen.
Skyfloater wrote: » Was any reason given why we have to wait another two weeks until the 18th before building sites, garden centres and DIY stores open? What quantifiable thing is supposed to happen between now and the 18th?
[Deleted User] wrote: » Reinfection rate is less than 1. ICU is less than 100. Number of cases isn’t high, especially if you exclude nursing homes and medical staff. Yet we’ll still have a form of lockdown for at least quarter of a year. Baffling that we’re not reopening sooner and cocooning the elders. I hope people will support the austerity as much as the lockdown, because we’ve gotta pay big for every day this drags on.