Gael23 wrote: » Just read the document in detail. I strongly welcome a plan but this is not a good plan. It offers little hope and is conservative to the extreme. Social distancing cannot possibly be maintained on public transport and in pubs p/restaurants when they reopen. If I read correctly even phase 5 represents something very far from normal life
kippy wrote: » Jesus, things won't go back to they way they were. Things will be different. How much more obvious does that need to be? You've outlined a couple of the differences in your post yourself.
snotboogie wrote: » This! People doing countdowns to pints in August lol. You'll still be two metres away from everyone not in your household
Gael23 wrote: » That’s nigh on impossible to control and for the guards to prove your with people not from your household
JRant wrote: » It gets even more complicated than that. If we are still on strict restrictions long after other countries have opened up then every visitor and person returning back needs to be put into mandatory 2 weeks of quarantine and that includes anyone traveling down from the North. Otherwise, it's completely pointless.
Pitch n Putt wrote: » Posted this in main Covid thread earlier regarding the meat factory outbreaks Surely are clusters but they then in turn contribute to community spread Dawn Meats at least had the good sense to close after 4 reported cases. How in the name of god those fools in Roscrea continued and actually still continue is beyond belief. They stated that those infected are in self isolation in line with HSE guidelines. The HSE would want to be making a clear statement to these essential workplaces that If you get 5/10/20 cases that you shut the f**king doors immediately for 21 days minimum to try and control the outbreak. It’s no good isolating those that have it while it spreads like wildfire through the factory. This is the problem with the whole lockdown and essential workplaces. Apart from hospitals and care facilities there has to be a point where operations must cease. Employers will keep going indefinitely as it’s all about the numbers to them. Someone needS to protect the workers How is it that NPHET /HSE has guidelines for when we can move the next phase or go back a phase but no plans or guidelines were clearly stated regarding an outbreak in essential workplaces? The result is what’s currently happening with the meat factory. Employers want to keep going at any cost and with a cluster of 80 plus in the one factory that’s clear to see. The factory in Roscrea clearly states they were following HSE guidelines of self isolating the workers.Clarity is needed obviously for some employers as to when enough is enough. Whoever made the decision to continue operations needs to be held accountable for endangering the rest of the workers in this factory.
Gael23 wrote: » It says from the 8th of June you can go to other households so I took that to mean visits to family
rob316 wrote: » france are opening hairdressers next week
rob316 wrote: » Effectively closing shopping centres for 6 months is insane. This whole thing is reckless and will have untold damage to our country and economy. This is too slow, france are opening hairdressers next week, we aren't 10 weeks behind them. Street level retailers will be able to open 2 months before shopping centres. Talk about killing one sector.
Pitch n Putt wrote: » Regarding Dr Holohan I think he’s getting more dangerous by the day. As they say the power is going to his head. Clearly seen at the briefings with his dismissive attitude to reporters/journalists
snotboogie wrote: » Pubs who can't control social distancing won't be allowed to open. Look at the document, there are zero plans to lift social distancing
lawrencesummers wrote: » In regards the overall relaxation of restrictions and the cultural changes this pandemic will have on us I think some changes in general are needed, these are just my ideas. A lot of comparison has been made with the Spanish flu, but this is a very different world to then in a lot of ways, we have in every community highly qualified GP’s, We have online, radio, TV , print media that distributes information immediately which is key in getting people to change behavior. Our understanding of disease is much advanced on that. We will never see a disease like Spanish flu do as much damage because the world is vastly different. We used to find it funny seeing people in Asia wearing masks. That will change, we are going to see people in the “western world” who are from the western world adopting this practice from here on and it serves a good purpose. If you are sick, have a cough etc then wearing a mask should be prescribed. How many times do you see someone on public transport with a cold / flu coughing or sneezing. I wasn’t aware until last year but In many Asian countries people wear masks not just for paranoia reasons to avoid getting sick but because as soon as they feel any bit sick they want to stop themselves spreading. Apparently women use it sometimes as a way to avoid having to put on make up as well! We need to start treating the seasonal flu a lot differently also. It is a very comparable disease to Covid-19, in time when the figures are in it could even be a worse by a small margin. To severely limit a pandemic like this happening again we need Change testing. If we get to a situation medically where test kits with instant or near instant test results for viruses can be developed and kept at home then we can change how flu is contained, something like this would be possible: Feel sick, stay home test yourself, verify with GP, get online sick cert, isolate and Stay out of work for 1 week. Move to government sick pay for week. Retest after one week and repeat if needed. If someone is in the workplace they can be required to provide negative test to remain in work. With instant testing the containment of viruses becomes a lot better.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Very good points actually. I was one of those prior to the covid19 outbreak who used to laugh when I would see Asians on telly with thier masks. Now in Ireland I have seen plenty of people with masks. I don't have one, but I am starting to feel like the odd one out. I feel pressure to conform. Your point about how people deal with colds and flu is a good one as well. How many times has someone in work arrived with a cold and given it to the office? Because of work pressure and so on.
magic17 wrote: » We are being extremely cautious because our healthcare system is days away from collapse if restrictions are relaxed as the Taoiseach said last night. That in itself is an absolute disgrace and shows we can't re-open our society sooner because of the sheer neglect our healthcare has been subjected to.
ChelseaRentBoy wrote: » Yes but in fairness have you heard some of the questions? I wouldn't have been so calm tbh.
rob316 wrote: » Thats the crux of it our health system is so poor we have to shut down the country for 6 months. Shocking really.
Monitor1985 wrote: » Does anyone know if it's possible to get a letter to grant permission to travel from Waterford County to Portlaoise to look after an elderly person who has recently been injured? Their family member is having trouble making the daily trip due to work and caring for their family and it would be a big help if someone could stay with the elderly person until either recovery or something more permanent is sorted. Would the Gardai write such a letter granting permission, or who would I ask?
Discodog wrote: » You don't need one. You are allowed to travel if it's to provide support for someone that's cocooning.