Kermit.de.frog wrote: » https://twitter.com/paulkrugman/status/1255135447618957317 It certainly does Paul. But certain people need to get to the pubs and get their hair done and stuff ...because priorities
hmmm wrote: » Not true, but you can do your own research. There is no short-term "solution". We all work together to suppress the virus, and hope a vaccine arrives in the next 18 months. This isn't about rewards for good behaviour.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » The future is worse if the measures are lifted too early because you end up in an endless cycle until there is a vaccine. This will do more economic and societal damage than the current measures. Posters are free to deny it and believe differently of course.
stephenjmcd wrote: » https://twitter.com/EdConwaySky/status/1255100687953920000?s=19 And this was last weekshttps://twitter.com/jerseyrobins/status/1255108330369974273?s=19
dublincelt wrote: » Neighbours planning a big barbecue this weekend going by all the prep work taking place over the last couple of days. Cant believe the mindset of some people. Headwrecking! :mad:
RugbyLad11 wrote: » Isn't UK one of the most obese obese countries in Europe?
aidoh wrote: » Well done on another lazy post reducing peoples' very real concerns over the long-term implications of a lockdown with seemingly no exit strategy to "SelFisH pAdDy JuSt WaNtS tO gO tO tHe PuB!" Bar one or two oddballs in this thread, or maybe pub landlords understandably, no one who is critical of the lockdown extensions here is demanding to be rammed into a pub any time soon. I'm so sick of that ridiculous scapegoat. Letting some people get back to work so they can regain some certainty over paying bills and supporting their families. Visiting the front garden of loved ones who we haven't seen in nearly two months and even just being able to talk to them through the p0xy window. Perhaps going for a walk somewhere isolated that happens to be more than 20 minutes away from where we're currently holed up. These are what people want to be able to do again ASAP without the threat of a fine or potential imprisonment... because priorities.
Deleted User wrote: » Ivan Yates giving it welly on Newstalk now about this lockdown. Good man Ivan! Asking difficult questions. He is asking why journalists are not allowed ask questions at these press briefings every night with Tony Holohan. Dead right.
normanoffside wrote: » Great to see a change in tone from the media today, they've obviously been checking in here (and elsewhere) Keep fighting the good fight.
Arghus wrote: » Journalists do ask questions every day at the press briefings. Two thirds of each day is journalists asking questions.
hmmm wrote: » Not true, but you can do your own research. There is no short-term "solution". We all work together to suppress the virus, and hope a vaccine arrives in the next 18 months. This isn't about rewards for good behaviour. We will have an 80% economy until a vaccine arrives. There is no other way unless we are happy to see large numbers of deaths in this country.
Doctor Jimbob wrote: » We're doing very well in comparison to every country anywhere near us.
road_high wrote: » Yes, pre arranged ones.
trapp wrote: » Dear oh dear oh dear we have another one. Listen my poor man the virus affects our older population more. To suggest an equal amount of people in their 30s or 40s would die as have in their 80s is clueless on a grand napoleonic scale my friend. No my man, the solution is we slowly and carefully find a way of living alongside the virus as best we can. Yes people will die, it will be a tough few years my man, this a pandemic if you didn't know But to suggest we all sit at home watching netflix for a few years until a vaccine maybe arrives is more than a bit ridiculous If countries worldwide did this, could you imagine the issues the roll out of said vaccine would cause, as countries scramble to get it. Now if you want to hide in your bunker, wasting your life away on netflix binges, feel free I would though strongly advise you against doing that my poor man, we're in for a tough few years but we will allow our way of life to survive despite the virus and we will come through the other side. Sitting at home as you suggest simply wouldn't work my poor man.
SAMTALK wrote: » Ivan bleating on about hospital beds being empty and city west not being used He's be the very one on whinging if we didnt have enough beds He's a s**t stirrer and a pain in the h**e
castletownman wrote: » Why wait for the vaccine to be developed? We may wait for every single person in the country to be administered it before we can even come close to normality. And why stop there? What if another virus emerges in five years time that we haven't experienced yet? I think we should stay under wraps indefinitely until we find a vaccine for the NEXT virus. What's six years in the grand scheme of things?
fleet_admiral wrote: » I think everybody needs to boycott this thread until the poor man/friend is put to a stop
Arghus wrote: » Your posts are unreadable chores, with that "my man" and "my poor man" nonsense.
Banana Republic. wrote: » Pre-arranged questions but don’t have the answers mostly so that doesn’t make much sense. Journalists yesterday made a great point on the Seismologists data, saying that the medical board had motive more movements in the last week but he questions the valid nature of it by saying sure ppl have to run their cars and they might drive around the block plus ppl go out during the good weather. Dr T agreed that the data didn’t prove anything. One of the best things I’ve heard journo say in the briefings. Usually talking through their hoop or asking the same thing day on day.
aidoh wrote: » It's a big gamble though, do you not think? Waiting AT LEAST 18 months for a vaccine that might NEVER come? Hopefully some good therapeutics will be developed sooner than that but as it stands there are still no reliable treatments. So how many thousands will die because they haven't been treated for non C-19 illnesses for 18 months? How many families will dip below the poverty line in the next 18 months? How many relationships will break down due to frustrations, joblessness etc., leading to further homelessness? I hate to even think about this but how many suicides might we see for similar reasons?
So I'm obviously not an expert but a short term "solution" to get a tiny sliver of normality back might be to redeploy some Gardaí to check in on shops, cafés etc. and ensure that social distancing is being adhered to. If not, the businesses responsible get shut down. I think that would be a lot more effective than fining people for being more than 2km away from their gaff.
hmmm wrote: » I've no idea, but we have a reasonably good estimate of how many will die from Covid. We can only base our strategy on scientific advice, not gut feelings. If serology proves that there is a massive iceberg, happy days -but it hasn't yet. The serology tests done worldwide point to approximately .65% mortality -not as bad as feared, but still close on 30,000 deaths in Ireland alone.In your opinion. If that's also the medical advice based on good science as to how the disease spreads, then we can make decisions based on that science - but that hasn't been conclusively proven yet.