the kelt wrote: » How come other countries in far worse situations can put in place plans as to what will happen in the future, put those plans to the people and execute those plans based on if “x happens and we do x then we can have a situation of y” It’s isn’t about negotiation or being owed anything, it’s about levelling with people. At no stage during this pandemic should we have an approach of figuring it out as we go along, that would be suicidal, heaven help us if people are ok with this pandemic is being dealt with on a basis of let’s figure it out as we go along. Rather than as some believe we are only in a state of relative lockdown because a few lads were in a packed pub in temple bar the criteria and timing of the lockdown was planned with measure put in place to mitigate the issues. We put together multiple plans to cope with the worst case scenario rather than figuring it out as we went along such as extra capacity and use of private hospitals etc etc and thankfully the vast majority hasn’t been needed. But other countries have been capable of plans and execution as to how we move on so no reason why we cannot either imho.
kippy wrote: » No. There's lots of things that could be added to that list or amended.
normanoffside wrote: » There is no proof that going out for exercise can spread the virus. Please show me if you have any. Thanks
kippy wrote: » Exercise itself isn't the issue. It's the social distance/contact with surfaces that causes the problems. The more people have the virus the more chance you have of picking it up in the community. Be it from places congregate, such as gyms, changing rooms, pitches etc. So reducing exercise options reduces the risk or people picking it up in the community. Obviously the more prevalent the virus is (as Italy) the more chance people going out for exercise will pick it up. Again. This is all basic logic.
MadYaker wrote: » Condidering the gardai can't even enforce current restrictions what would be the point in the government announcing more restrictions? I think they have no choice but to allow more movement after May 5th. The longer this goes on more people will ignore the restrictions anyway and I don't think there's anything that can be done about it. I haven't been stopped once by Gardai since this started.
kippy wrote: » This is the crux of it. It can't be much more restrictive as there are too many fools out there who just can't do what they are told for a small portion of their life.
kippy wrote: » Softer lockdowns can work if started early enough and if compliance is high. Again the variables at play are not the same in every country or situation.
The more prevalent the virus is the more rational that stopping people go outside for exercise becomes... But again people who don't understand basic logic are never going to understand what I've just said. So it's pointless even pointing it out.
easypazz wrote: » Such as?
DeanAustin wrote: » They said from the start that the restrictions couldn’t be enforced and that it would be up to people to take personal responsibility. Likewise if they introduce tougher measures. It’s up to people then to either listen to advice being given with then intention of ridding our society of the virus or ignore it.
drunkmonkey wrote: » It's worse than that, in the panic to free up bed capacity they transferred old folk from the hospitals into the nursing homes, some of these had Covid. That's according to Newstalk this morning. They literally caused the problem which should have been the number 1 thing they didn't do. A majority of the deaths in nursing homes are a result of this policy. It's about the dumbest thing the government could have done.
kippy wrote: » Ah jesus. Complete stoppage of international travel outside of goods. Mandatory 2 week quarentine of all incoming to the country. Petrol and diesel restrictions for all but essential vehicles. Mandatory quarentine of medical staff. The list could go on.
iamwhoiam wrote: » You will get a minority who wont listen or abide so how do you deal with them ? While the rest of us all hunker down they do as they damn well please
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » How long is it now since the restrictions came in? and people were complyign with it for the most part? I've seen softer workdowns set up at the same time and with mild compliance at work fine. I still don't understand how people make the mistake of "going outside" means potentially spreading the virus. It doesn't. Meeting people spreads it. And you can get exercise without meeting people.
kippy wrote: » Complete stoppage of international travel outside of goods.
kippy wrote: » A Mandatory 2 week quarentine of all incoming to the country.
kippy wrote: » Petrol and diesel restrictions for all but essential vehicles.
kippy wrote: » Mandatory quarentine of medical staff.
kippy wrote: » The list could go on.
MadYaker wrote: » Who are you going to be quarantining if you block all international travel? You're talking out your ring. How does restricting fuel reduce transmission of the virus????
prunudo wrote: » https://extra.ie/2020/04/26/news/irish-news/hse-patients-virus-care-homes/amp Presume this is what they were referring too, sounds shambolic. The mask is slipping on the handling of this situation.
MadYaker wrote: » You're talking out your ring. How does restricting fuel reduce transmission of the virus????
easypazz wrote: » Some international travel is still essential for medical, repatriation, food supply, other than that none of us are allowed travel to an airport, you must have missed that. Doesn't affect any of who live here. Wouldn't change the lockdown conditions for Joe Public. We are only allowed make essential journeys anyway so this is silly. Pretty sure procedures are in place anyway, testing, ppe, COVID only ward etc. Again how would this affect lockdown conditions for Joe Public. Please continue, because so far not 1 of your proposals will make a blind bit of difference to Joe Publics lockdown conditions, as stated in the gov.ie list.
drunkmonkey wrote: » I don't agree with limiting fuel to people. All the other measure should have been implemented at the start of lockdown without question. Medical staff should no be returning to their homes in the community and neither should Guards, it's very harsh but their families are out and about. Plenty of accommodation available in nice locations for all these front lines.
kippy wrote: » Not being allowed outside the house for anything wouldn't make a bit of difference to Joe Public?
easypazz wrote: » How? Ban exercise, would you be happy then?
easypazz wrote: » What are you on about now. If we couldn't go out for food we would all die. First you want to restrict fuel, now you want to stop eating.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Sweet Jesus there now going to use drones to make sure nobody goes to their second homes. I presume they'll be given refunds when this is over to people paying mortgages on them. Drones are intrusive, I have one and don't use it for spying but I'm well aware of what an invasion of privacy they can be in the wrong hands.
easypazz wrote: » now you want to stop eating.
kippy wrote: » As I said, am not suggesting they be enacted, just that they are all more restrictive than the current situation which is what the ever moving goalposts were set at. It's absolutely ludacris that restrictions and mandatory quarentine around international travel wasn't put in place months ago alright
kippy wrote: » I don't disagree. But like 'work' there are certain environments and work practices that can be maintained in this new reality, others where some additional safeguards have to be put in place, and others that have to be stopped altogether.