LuasSimon wrote: » Bit much for Leo to tell people they can’t go anywhere for an afternoon or evening when travellers are having large funerals and 21St birthday party’s and having camps on the curragh .
gauchesnell wrote: » LOL I know. Date stated is 20th April a garda out at a house party with a criminal. Makes a joke of everything
GazzaL wrote: » Comical. No mention of it on RTE news yet, just the same pontificating **** panicking that people are no longer listening to them, threatening us with social and economic obliteration, and trying to move goalposts because we've already smashed the R0 target.
LiquidZeb wrote: » Yeah but the gardai aren't as easily able to bully the travellers into submission so they leave them be. It's easier to hassle the old woman walking her dog on her own instead.
road_high wrote: » Yes or my friend (middle class, plain as day not a criminal) whos boot they had to check for groceries coming from the local village. He was delivering them to his elderly parents, both recovering from cancer. When is someone going to shout stop?
Allinall wrote: » Has he sought counseling for his traumatic experience?
LiquidZeb wrote: » You don't think it's insulting for a taxpayer to be harassed while going about their daily business while certain groups act with near impunity?
Penfailed wrote: » None of it is permanent! There will be weddings, gigs, all-Irelands, etc. Schools, pubs, colleges, restaurants, etc. will reopen. Some things may change...but everything changes eventually anyway.
road_high wrote: » Why would he do that? And I never said he found it traumatic. Just a nonsensical monumental rubbish waste of time and resources. Which it is
Penfailed wrote: » Monumental waste of time and resources? I'd say they could check someone's boot in less than a minute. It's hardly monumental.
GazzaL wrote: » It's vital in our fight against the Coronavirus to check if Mr. Ryan bought mint Cornettos or strawberry Cornettos. If we need to pay overtime to get this essential work done then so be it.
Mic 1972 wrote: » The garda are doing their job, not need to have a go at them
fin12 wrote: » That Leo is probably hosting parties in his own gaff.
road_high wrote: » Having two Gardai on a shift outside a quiet village- you’ve their salaries, cost of car, fuel, uniforms ,lunches etc. Now multiply that over the whole country, checking boots etc- so yes, you have a monumental waste of money and resources. We’ll hear full the bill over the summer once some journalist decides they’ve no more covid misery to write about and do a bit of investigating rather than rehashing government press releases and people are wondering why their social welfare benefits are being trimmed
Penfailed wrote: » You do realise that those two guards would've been on duty anyway? Basically, you're saying that the guards are a waste of money.
road_high wrote: » If checking people’s boots for groceries is your idea of Gardai doing their job then there’s little point in debating with that level of ridiculousness. I doubt there’s anything that will make you see otherwise
Annabella1 wrote: » Think comparisons with NZ are pointless It is very isolated with few interconnecting flights and travel