PTH2009 wrote: » this time last week everyone was positive about Dr Tonys message on the late late and felt we were on course but now its seems were slowly going back to square 1 :(
Man Vs ManUre wrote: » My question is, if I run (walk) into a police checkpoint will the crow flies answer prevent me from being arrested?? I didn’t even really encounter any people during this walk this morning.
jams100 wrote: » Is this coronavirus really that bad? 1,014 deaths ÷ How many days? (40) = 25 (Each death a tragedy) On average 170 baby's are born everyday. I get the deaths couldve been more if not for the restrictions. Median age is about 82, this sounds terrible i know but would many of those people who died of corona virus die this year anyway?Are we storing up more deaths from suicides/cancers which aren't being diagnosed etc? I personally feel journalists should be probing more, they all seem to ask the same questions each day. Look any decision thats taken will be hard but the easier decision in my opinion is to extend the lockdown, is it the right decision? I think no
jams100 wrote: » Is this coronavirus really that bad? 1,014 deaths ÷ How many days? (40) = 25 (Each death a tragedy) On average 170 baby's are born everyday. I get the deaths couldve been more if not for the restrictions. Median age is about 82, this sounds terrible i know but would many of those people who died of corona virus die this year anyway? Are we storing up more deaths from suicides/cancers which aren't being diagnosed etc? I personally feel journalists should be probing more, they all seem to ask the same questions each day. Look any decision thats taken will be hard but the easier decision in my opinion is to extend the lockdown, is it the right decision? I think no
sterz wrote: » Checkpoints still the same here but was talking about Gardai walking around.
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » Not everyone has your mentality thankfully.
gauchesnell wrote: » Gardai out now near me - same checkpoint all the time. Roads very busy now
Mic 1972 wrote: » The garda are doing their job, not need to have a go at them
sterz wrote: » Seemed to have disappeared the last week where I'm based. Heavy-ish presence a few weeks back but don't see them around any more.
Annabella1 wrote: » Think comparisons with NZ are pointless It is very isolated with few interconnecting flights and travel
road_high wrote: » If checking people’s boots for groceries is your idea of Gardai doing their job then there’s little point in debating with that level of ridiculousness. I doubt there’s anything that will make you see otherwise
Penfailed wrote: » You do realise that those two guards would've been on duty anyway? Basically, you're saying that the guards are a waste of money.
road_high wrote: » Having two Gardai on a shift outside a quiet village- you’ve their salaries, cost of car, fuel, uniforms ,lunches etc. Now multiply that over the whole country, checking boots etc- so yes, you have a monumental waste of money and resources. We’ll hear full the bill over the summer once some journalist decides they’ve no more covid misery to write about and do a bit of investigating rather than rehashing government press releases and people are wondering why their social welfare benefits are being trimmed
fin12 wrote: » That Leo is probably hosting parties in his own gaff.
Penfailed wrote: » Monumental waste of time and resources? I'd say they could check someone's boot in less than a minute. It's hardly monumental.
GazzaL wrote: » It's vital in our fight against the Coronavirus to check if Mr. Ryan bought mint Cornettos or strawberry Cornettos. If we need to pay overtime to get this essential work done then so be it.
road_high wrote: » Yes or my friend (middle class, plain as day not a criminal) whos boot they had to check for groceries coming from the local village. He was delivering them to his elderly parents, both recovering from cancer. When is someone going to shout stop?
road_high wrote: » Why would he do that? And I never said he found it traumatic. Just a nonsensical monumental rubbish waste of time and resources. Which it is
Penfailed wrote: » None of it is permanent! There will be weddings, gigs, all-Irelands, etc. Schools, pubs, colleges, restaurants, etc. will reopen. Some things may change...but everything changes eventually anyway.
LiquidZeb wrote: » You don't think it's insulting for a taxpayer to be harassed while going about their daily business while certain groups act with near impunity?