Cork Boy 53 wrote: » So you are saying the Gardaí are busybodies for enforcing the laws of the land. What other laws do you think they should not be enforcing? Maybe drink driving, driving without insurance? Do tell us.
road_high wrote: » Indeed. I’ve quite a different view of Irish society coming out of this. It’s quite chilling how easily so many follow the mob group think, devoid of any critical faculties whatsoever. Is it our rote-learning based education that installs such a tunnel visioned one dimensional approach to problem solving? The derision and sneering at anyone with a slightly different view- pathetic given our own national record with regards to nursing homes is nothing to crow about... As for the Gardai- an institution I once very much admired and was proud of as our police force. Tarnished as pathetic nit pickers in my eyes. Surely there’s someone sane in the whole organisation somewhere with a different view to the 1984 approach? I can assure all I’m no Gemma Doherty type, I despise all cracked pot conspiracy theorists with equal measure but there’s no way in a democratic society the kind of measures going on for the past 6 weeks are in any sustainable beyond the current without a lot deeper scrutiny than is currently the case
Strumms wrote: » People going for a jog are doing zero harm, same with people walking, the government and health people are advocating actually that for your health and wellbeing you DO. This government site is very good at outlining what people can and should do. Stuff with people in mind who CAN go out and also for cocooners at home..https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/5a4293-staying-active-during-covid-19/#outdoor-activity
lord quackinton wrote: » I don’t get The snitching side of things The country is full of welfare fraud and a thriving black market and no one says peep Someone goes for a walk in the local woods or puck a ball around or pop into the back door of a pub and the rats are out informing the filth Compete joke
road_high wrote: » As for the Gardai- an institution I once very much admired and was proud of as our police force. Tarnished as pathetic nit pickers in my eyes. Surely there’s someone sane in the whole organisation somewhere with a different view to the 1984 approach? I can assure all I’m no Gemma Doherty type, I despise all cracked pot conspiracy theorists with equal measure but there’s no way in a democratic society the kind of measures going on for the past 6 weeks are in any sustainable beyond the current without a lot deeper scrutiny than is currently the case
lord quackinton wrote: » That’s what the lockdown Nazis don’t get When the world economy takes a nose dive it is the poorest countries and the poorest people that take the hit Currently the Irish government is borrowing billions to pay people out of work due to this lockdown The really poor people in the third world are left even worse off because the developed world is full of cowards who would rather save themselves then help the real dirt poor non white people For example Penney’s are closed and they give thousands of jobs to Asia , that’s stopped now and those Asian workers have no income and are now not even able to feed their children Can the lockdown Nazis imagine a world where their is no welfare and your baby cries because of hunger A lot of stupid and Selfish people on here who Back the lockdown who refuse to think of others
fin12 wrote: » Was anyone else shocked when they announced the new number of cases today? I was listening to the news on the radio and when the figure was announced I was like what? Like I thought I heard wrong so I went straight onto the Irish examiner to confirm it.
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » Actually after a good start the Gardai are of late not enforcing the new laws anywhere near as strictly as they should be. To state they are adopting a 1984 approach is complete and utter nonsense and smacks of someone who has issues with paranoia.
JoeA3 wrote: » I’m sure this has been raised as a concern here already by others but... Is anyone else concerned that Tony Holohan, a man most of us knew little to nothing about up to 6 weeks ago, is really the guy in charge of our fate now? I listened to him this evening in dismay. Talk about an utterly confused message. Community spread is virtually zero. For the past 2 weeks. So despite all the curtain twitchers and fist thumping on this thread from the bunker dwellers, it seems the lads going out for a jog really aren’t doing any harm. The new case numbers appear high at a glance, primarily due to the situation in the nursing homes - and Tony himself is responsible for the mismanagement of that fiasco. So now we have Tony saying “no, I would not relax restrictions if today was May 5th”. This is apparently the same guy who survived the cervical cancer fiasco, and here we are - Leo is essentially letting him dictate our lives for the next god knows how long. Is it any fcuking wonder people are geting disenfranchised with the whole thing.
gozunda wrote: » Its evident you really understand nothing. Cloud cuckoo land really must be a lovely place to be There's 'belligerent ****' and 'nutters' all right. They're not who you think ...
pjohnson wrote: » When they are also terrified of the idea of being tracked by the government you are right at Gemma and John levels of alternate reality. The general disregard for law, law enforcement, and calling those who follow the law Nazi's hints at something else. I do hear that some dealers are starting to struggle.
Diarmuid wrote: » Interesting bit in the BBC about the toll the lockdown in Italy is taking on mental health The language on this thread has gone seriously downhill. Nazis, lockdown merchants etc doesn't add to the discussion. I think we are getting to the point where the lack of leadership and clear path is becoming very apparent. Very low community spread and the virus heavily contained to known and well controlled locations (albeit running amok in those areas), this should make the next steps very straightforward. However instead we are being led down the same path of "keep the restrictions with no end in sight" and no plan to backing out of this. I saw a good analogy of the situation. Each country has climbed a ladder, some have gone higher than others. All now need to plan to come back down that ladder, *one step at a time*. But there is no discussion of this. Why isn't there clear goals and plans in place and all being communicated? We have metrics to track this spread so use them. "if the community spread is below x for y days then we enact this plan" "if it's below z for w days then we enact this plan" None of this. All just, great job, keep it up indefinitely. Very frustrating but not surprising.
drunkmonkey wrote: » I read an article in the Irish Times this morning that now seems to have disappeared, it was calling out problems in the contact tracing, wrong phone numbers so they couldn't even contact the person to tell them they had it while these people are roaming free. Basically if they called the number 5 times and no response there was nothing more they could do, also some tests had no phone numbers. It's concerning this is happening at such a basic level, also concerning the article seems to be pulled as it was one of the top storys. Can't see restrictions being lifted if we can't get the simple things correctly in place.
poppers wrote: » hardly the contact tracing teams fault if they are given the wrong number for "johhny Murphy"
Polar101 wrote: » I did military service for a year when I was younger. That was basically a lockdown with 160 other idiots while getting told what to do - definitely couldn't go 2km from the barracks even if I had "essential" business. Weekly or fortnightly they'd let us go home for a bit. The food was ****e and some asshole would shout everyone awake at 6am. Now I've been "locked" at home for a month or so, don't have those other idiots living in the same room and I can eat/drink whatever I want. This could be worse. Wouldn't mind getting rid of the 2km limit, though - some variety to daily walks would be lovely.
Diarmuid wrote: » Why isn't there clear goals and plans in place and all being communicated? We have metrics to track this spread so use them. "if the community spread is below x for y days then we enact this plan" "if it's below z for w days then we enact this plan" None of this. All just, great job, keep it up indefinitely. Very frustrating but not surprising.