castletownman wrote: » Went to bed before the end, but having looked back at a clip of the "finale", I am surely not the only one who thought the Parting Glass was a bit haphazard? Finbarr Furey in particular was a bit incoherent, which is a surprise as usually he has a terrific voice. It is still a beautiful song, but I feel there was too many musicians involved in the performance. Loathe for me to criticise same on social media though, in case I get lynched
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » Miriam O’C looked like a gormless idiot throughout.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » What in the name of jaysus was Tiernan on about, saying that old men become more feminised when they get ill and generally emphasising how OLD and SICK he was? Just thought that whole rambling was weird and really insensitive to Gay’s family.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » I say ‘excira’ and ‘delira’ all the time too!
downwesht wrote: » Best Late Late show since Gay retired,says a lot really! Mike Murphy looked the better for leaving RTE and was his usual fun self.
Mrcaramelchoc wrote: » another thing i didnt like was that smart arsed snide comment frank mcnamara said to ryan,about having a million viewers of the late late back in the day not like now. what a prick.ryan should have said yea well at least im not in debit up to my oxters you insufferable langer.
downwesht wrote: » Best Late Late show since Gay retired,says a lot really! Mike Murphy looked the better for leaving RTE and was his usual fun self. Shame Nell didn't get her rant in.The McNamaras got to feature though ....Theresa butted in nicely! The music segments were dire and as for the rendition of The Parting Glass.....diabolical.Where was Christy Moore or Sinead O Connor....Jesus even Shane McGowan would have done a better job!!!
mistersifter wrote: » At one point Tubridy said "just have a sip of your water there and we'll hear from you anon" in an attempt to get rid. You could hear Nell shouting angrily off mic, "NOW is anon" :eek: He didn't handle it badly in the end despite some suggestions otherwise. But he shouldnt have approached her at all. I think he thought he was being spontaneous and amusing (?) by bringing her up the water - until his plan went tits up. It was typical Late Late looney stuff. Not quite up there with the time Pat Kenny got stage invaded by the aul fella who called him and Gay "insufferable arseholes" , but still awkward and amusing in equal measures.
splinter65 wrote: » I don’t think Tubridy is very popular amongst the entertainment circle in Ireland. I have a feeling he sees himself as a bit superior.
Expunge wrote: » Larry is a contractor. Balfe became staff relatively late in his career, apparently. That's the difference.[ yeah but he could have sued like that other auld bint that used to read out what it said in the papers or something like that. they let her go at 65/66 and she sued RTE for ageism. Got 50,000 and has been a panelist on Maura and Daithi several times since. Easy know its tax payers money they continue to spray around.
pflanagan132 wrote: » Yeah, I wondered about Christy Moore, Shane McGowan and Sinead O'Connor. The last two are probably in homes for the bewildered. Christy Dignam was also missed. Gay was different class. When you think of him, Wogan and Eamon Andrews, it shows how standards have plummeted.
golondrinas wrote: » Expunge wrote: » Larry is a contractor. Balfe became staff relatively late in his career, apparently. That's the difference.[ yeah but he could have sued like that other auld bint that used to read out what it said in the papers or something like that. they let her go at 65/66 and she sued RTE for ageism. Got 50,000 and has been a panelist on Maura and Daithi several times since. Easy know its tax payers money they continue to spray around. True. I'm no expert but they seem to be very strict about it when it comes to run of the mill staff members at the moment. A lot of the on air people have been upset about it e.g. Michael Murphy, Balfe and David Davin Power. There's some talk that Davin Power is taking a case to the courts about it. The problem seems to be the many various types of employment that they have allowed over the years. It's a fricken mess in there. Even Revenue have told them to get their act together in recent times. Public money needed to fix these issues each time.
serfboard wrote: » In direct contrast to Gay, Tubridy is not as interested in people. He's more interested in books. He'd be better used presenting a book show on radio.
tylercheribini wrote: » I wonder did everyone have a go on Twink back in the day.
paleoperson wrote: » oh, I missed that, I hope someone puts it up on youtube. If not I'll try to catch a repeat and do it myself. I don't think anything will ever top the frontline guy though, almost the 10 year anniversary of it:
zorro2566 wrote: » Is that where she got the term 'zip up yer micky' from?
Say Your Number wrote: » I did like the sadistic pleasure he got out of using a supersoaker on the Toy Show audience.
Peig Sayers wrote: » Taped it and just watched it now but it ended when Brian Keenan was speaking. Did Nell ever get to talk? Looked twisted with a touch of dementia thrown in :eek:
JDD wrote: » Graham Norton does a good job of the chat show, but it's entertainment guests only, not a forum for debate. The reason why RTE looks lightweight is probably because all terrestrial tv is becoming less and less event television. Programs that capture the public imagination will more and more be Netflix/prime/apple tv programs which are unlikely to be live.