Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » Some settled children leave school early too, of course, but the disparity is striking: 86 percent of the settled population complete secondary education, as compared with just 8 percent of Travellers. The OECD's Education at a Glance report notes that employment prospects for people without a Leaving Cert have plummeted in recent years. Less than half of early school-leavers now get jobs. Unsurprisingly, one in four female early school leavers and one in five males reporting suffering from depression. The message is clear -- someone who leaves school between age 12 and 15, as most Travellers do, has little chance at a future that does not involve social welfare dependency or crime. Early school-leaving and early marriage, both designed to protect the insularity and thus continuity of Traveller culture, are at the core of Travellers' social problems. These "traditions" ensure that many Travellers end up illiterate and saddled with children even before they are out of their teens. While young settled women are off in university furthering their education and preparing for a career, many of their Traveller peers are stuck in a caravan pregnant and/or raising kids, without even a Junior Cert to their name. This has to end. But by recognizing Travellers as an ethnic minority, defending their "culture" to the hilt, and characterizing any criticism of Travellers as racist right-wing bigotry, the liberal left is only standing in the way of change.
dermo888 wrote: » 'This has to end' - correct. The worst of it has to end. But its a matter of persuasion. Look at how the Aboriginal community in Australia are handled, a community far more disadvantaged and loathed compared to the Irish Travellers. The gypsies in continental Europe are despised too, due to their abject criminality and inability to conform to modern societal norms.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Those stats are indeed hard to believe, but i am quoting directly from the available research. Traveller health and life expectancy is the greatest human rights crisis in modern Ireland - we don't recognise it now, but future generations will judge us harshly for our apathy.
Lollipops23 wrote: » I mean I'm native Irish (as far back as anyone in either side of the family knows, at least 5-6 generations in the Pale, never mind anywhere else!). Those DNA kit yokes say we're 96% Irish, although I take that with a grain of salt. Where does it end?
blanch152 wrote: » The last Census looked at travellers in depth.https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp8iter/p8iter/p8itd/https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp8iter/p8iter/p8itseah/ What these figures show us is that traveller culture results in women being taken out of education at a young age, married off and turned into baby factories. Some say traveller culture is a good thing, I don't. Now it doesn't have figures on life expectancy, but the population profiles would support the idea that there is a lower life expectancy.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I'm on my phone. It's a nightmare trying to multi quote using the mobile app. I have read all the replies, will reply when I'm back at my desk. Chill, petal.
nice_guy80 wrote: » they don't even give the young kids a chance! most traveller families do not take up the free preschool place that are FREE for their children. ITS FREE!!! you just have to bring them there 5 days a week. maybe thats the issue - no free transport. where the kids might learn a few basic skills to help them - washing hands, social skills, proper language and vocabulary, counting, letters, how to play etc any difficulties might be picked up on - speech and language, sight etc that could be treated while the child is young they land into primary school at 5. usually with no uniform, books or anything. Then go running to the local social welfare officer to look for more money for that.
corks finest wrote: » You may laugh,be amazed ,or call me a liar,at Scoil an spioraid naoimh bishoptown, when my son attended, school provided( 3 years) 2 taxis to and from school to campsite off the straight road cork,this changed to a wait for it. LIMO ,excuse that it was cheaper as there were another few traveller kids needed to attend,( at the time I was traveling 13 miles each way,,I was bloody incensed- I questioned the vice head,now principal,( Brian Cuthbert- ex Cork football coach)and was told no comment,it was aired on Red FM who also couldn't get a comment from the school,I went with a video cam stood opposite the entrance to the site, captured every vehicle leaving and entering ,back to the school - still no joy,my point was I was driving a 11 ye old banger yet still made it to school,yet all the travellers vehicles were much newer than mine and they couldn't be bothered to bring their kids on the 10 m drive to school,,,,crazy stuff,this has now stopped AFAIK,100 percent true,pm me anyone who doesent believe me,,,,
tretorn wrote: » https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-accused-of-exaggerating-insurance-claim-absconded-from-court-gardai-37839032.html Good Christ.
BBFAN wrote: » Can't even read that crap.
BBFAN wrote: Can't even read that crap.
BattleCorp wrote: » Is traveller health and life expectancy not a result of their actions rather than them being denied their human rights?
most travellers appear to shun education
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » That must be the same farm they send all the old, sick dogs to. I bet the f*ckin pony regretted it shortly after. How could anyone in their right mind sell an animal to a traveller.
Deleted User wrote: » nobody is promised optimal outcomes in this world man.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Of course. But there's a big difference in being unable to guarantee an optimal upbringing, and going out of your way (in fact, spending money) to deprive a child of that upbringing. Just look at the homelessness crisis. We're spending more money to put families in temporary, chaotic accommodation than it would cost to provide them with a home.
freshpopcorn wrote: » So, what do you think the government should do?
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Don't be asking me such easy questions. 1) Provide halting sites which are capable of accommodating families -we have vast amounts of academic research publications describing how well children do, when surrounded by their families. 2) Fund homework clubs and other extra-mural student supports for travellers and other non-traditional CAO applicants. None of this should cost more than about 30-45 million, it would make a phenomenal difference to our society, and yet most of our politicians show zero interest.
Kivaro wrote: » Righty-O. You are going on "mute".
BBFAN wrote: » corks finest wrote: » You may laugh,be amazed ,or call me a liar,at Scoil an spioraid naoimh bishoptown, when my son attended, school provided( 3 years) 2 taxis to and from school to campsite off the straight road cork,this changed to a wait for it. LIMO ,excuse that it was cheaper as there were another few traveller kids needed to attend,( at the time I was traveling 13 miles each way,,I was bloody incensed- I questioned the vice head,now principal,( Brian Cuthbert- ex Cork football coach)and was told no comment,it was aired on Red FM who also couldn't get a comment from the school,I went with a video cam stood opposite the entrance to the site, captured every vehicle leaving and entering ,back to the school - still no joy,my point was I was driving a 11 ye old banger yet still made it to school,yet all the travellers vehicles were much newer than mine and they couldn't be bothered to bring their kids on the 10 m drive to school,,,,crazy stuff,this has now stopped AFAIK,100 percent true,pm me anyone who doesent believe me,,,, Can't even read that crap.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Don't be asking me such easy questions. 1) Provide halting sites which are capable of accommodating families -we have vast amounts of academic research publications describing how well children do, when surrounded by their families.
normanoffside wrote: » What does this even mean? Are Traveller children not completely surrounded by their families and extended families already? Much more than any other group of society who tend to have working parents and tend not to live with their extended family as neighbours. According to your own point, Traveller kids should be the highest achievers in Ireland.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I doubt that Margaret Cash makes no contribution to the Government, I assume she pays up to 23% VAT on items that she purchases.
ShaneC93 wrote: » That's what a lenient court system results in, they don't care ffor or respect the Gardai or the Justice system because they have no reason to fear - do any crime short of murder, have 100s of convictions and you're still looking at a fully suspended sentence.