conorhal wrote: » How about this, stop selling NAMA properties at massive discounts to vulture funds and sell them to citizens? A block of apartments near me were sold at less then 50 grand a unit to a vulture fund, why could these not have been sold at the same discount to people on the housing list?
LotharIngum wrote: » I grew up in a council house in the 80s. It had 4 bedrooms. I and one sibling got jobs, moved out, worked hard and bought our own houses. I have three other siblings who worked maybe less than a year of their whole lives between them. They all moved out one at a time as they got council houses. They still don't work, at least not on the level anyway. My mum was left in the council house and about 10 years ago they gave her a transfer into a lovely new 3 bed house with a huge garden. So when we were all together at Christmas in my mums house the conversation was oh a fence post has broken in my garden and the council haven't sent anyone to fix it for two months and the neighbors dog is getting in and sh1tting on my lawn. I have a mouse in the attic and I cant get the council to come out. Sure one of my kitchen cupboards has the handle falling off it. Myself and my older sister were just rolling our eyes at each other in disbelief. Cue a big fight when she was caught rolling her eyes. She just stood up and shouted out that she was sick of hearing this. She said she was paying a mortgage for the last 20 years and still had 10 to go, and had to shell out all the time when things go wrong, while you guys wont even get up off your arses to fix your own stuff. You have a free house, you get money for nothing. you don't have to get up in the morning. You get free childcare that you don't even need. You haven't a care in the world. And you cant shut up about the bloody councilnto fixing your fence post, your mouse, and your door handle. Buy a mouse trap, pay someone to fix one single fence post and buy a screw driver and a door handle in woodies. At that she stormed out. Me who was left sitting there because I hadn't got caught rolling my eyes then had to listen to the rest of the sh1t. How they pay taxes (VAT) and they are entitled to this and that and how they pay €50 rent and they have to cut their own grass. How my sister deosnt know how good SHE has it that she doesn't have to shop in lidl and has a company car and on and on about the things she actually worked for her whole life. My dear lord Jesus, it was painful. And you know what. Same sh!t every year. They are just entitled and anyone who tells them that is a begrudger and god knows what else. I hate going home at Christmas. Simple truth is you don't learn the value of something until you have had to work for it. That cant be taught. You have to work to find out.
NIMAN wrote: » When the entire homelessness crisis is invented by saying "we have 10,000 homeless" when we actually don't, it just shows its all a sham. We have people sitting in rented accommodation who are in the homeless figures. How can that be right?We have people supposedly 'on the streets' and being offered accommodation, but turning it down as it doesn't suit them.Its all a joke, and fair play to this guy for calling it out on the Claire Byrne show last night. Its now an industry and vested interests have to keep peddling the myth.
Sweet.Science wrote: » Social housing made sense in the 80s when anyone with a job could buy a house for 20 grand . Now working people cant get on the property ladder while people who dont work get a free 3 bed semi
LotharIngum wrote: » My big sis did and they still aren't talking to her. I kept my mouth shut, but it was painful.
jmayo wrote: » You and your sister are what is right and commendable, your family are what is so so wrong with this state.
jmayo wrote: » Why the fook should someone on the housing list, most likely on benefits, get a cheap gaff and people scraping by renting and paying for their own accommodation not get any help in getting a home ? You and your sister are what is right and commendable, your family are what is so so wrong with this state.
weldoninhio wrote: » You should have backed your sister up. No good sitting there nodding then coming on here giving out about them.
jmayo wrote: » Why the fook should someone on the housing list, most likely on benefits, get a cheap gaff and people scraping by renting and paying for their own accommodation not get any help in getting a home ?
NIMAN wrote: » We need to get away from the concept that we must own a house. You should be able to rent for life if you want to.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Not half enough attention and oversight is directed towards the charity sector, especially those operating in the homelessness space. Many of them are little more than fronts for trade unions such as Unite, or as a place to give a former ‘community activist’ a 6 figure salary. You know there’s greasy paws in the till when you have days where there are more homeless charities than rough sleepers. Someone needs to lift that slate up and see what’s crawling underneath.
After reading the above I’d a look at Focus Ireland’s latest Annual Report to see how it spends the money it gets in. Income in 2017 was €28.6m. Of that, €23m went on Charitable Activities (see below); €3m on fundraising; and €0.3m on interest costs, resulting in a surplus for the year of €2.4m. Note 7 to the financial statements contained in Focus Ireland’s 2017 annual report show the breakdown of the €23m spent under the heading of ‘Charitable Activities’. Included in this €23m… €13.9m went on staff costs €4.2m on premises costs €2.2m on support costs (Finance, IT, HR etc.) €1.0m on advocacy €0.9m on administration €0.9m on programme activities Link to the above is here: https://www.focusireland.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Focus-Ireland-Company-Consolidated-Financial-Statement.pdf
LotharIngum wrote: » Well to be fair my sister was right. I agree 100% with her. But I am what is wrong with the country. I just ducked and shuddered when the tirade came at me, because it was much easier to just sit their and nod and say you are right you have it so hard, than it would have been to receive the abuse and venom for not agreeing with them. I took the easy option and I said , "Yes you are right. You poor sods.". While thinking, "Jesus, what entitled tripe".
Keatsian wrote: » Thousands of people who are "scraping by renting" are eligible for social housing, but they never get it because the government won't build it. Social housing is not just for those on the dole. I don't know the exact threshold now, but if your tax home pay is under something like 32k you're eligible. Direct your ire at the State that won't meet its own housing commitments.
LotharIngum wrote: » I don't give to any charity now unless they publish the salary and bonus of the bosses and that they are paid less than I am.
jmayo wrote: » Why the fook should someone on the housing list, most likely on benefits, get a cheap gaff and people scraping by renting and paying for their own accommodation not get any help in getting a home
Idbatterim wrote: » why would you give to the homeless charity? you arent done for enough tax by those vermin? they have created the problem, let them sort it!
DontThankMe wrote: » There is no homeless crisis in comparison to other EU countries homeless levels in Ireland are similar to those in other countries around Europe.
LotharIngum wrote: » Any charity. If the CEO earns more than I do, I don't consider it a charity. You have a point. If a charity gets funding from the government then I am already paying for it. Never thought of that before.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » https://www.thejournal.ie/conor-skeehan-homelessness-normal-4428104-Jan2019/ What’s this??? Someone speaking sense and the truth about homelessness and charities receiving hundreds of millions from tax payers?? Watch him get crucified by the usual free house brigade.
jmayo wrote: » Why the fook should someone on the housing list, most likely on benefits, get a cheap gaff and people scraping by renting and paying for their own accommodation not get any help in getting a home ? ...
Deleted User wrote: » He’s right……homelessness has become a business for certain groups. It is in their interest to bang this particular drum in the media as often and as loud as possible because this is their bread and butter. These guys would be out of a job if we eradicated homelessness.https://www.pmvtrust.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Approved-and-Signed-PMVT-Audited-Accounts-for-2017-Excluding-income-and-expenditure.pdf Total employment costs for 2017 – €14.9million (page 24) Total state funding – €14.4million (page 11) Think about that for a second. Every penny the Government gives these guys, plus the first half a million raised via collection, plus the €200k used to fund tht collection (also page 13) is spent on staff salaries and pensions. Before a cup of tea or a sleeping bag or a pair of dry socks is handed out, they take the first €15million+. If they didn’t exist, and that €15 mill was handed out to an organisation that already receives funding that covers the wages (or vice versa), it would all go towards where it’s needed (barring a small % increase in the number of staff they'd have to employ). Scandalous, really. Edit: I am in no way disparaging the great work that people do for PMCVT. But when homeless people would be better off to the tune of €15,000,000 then questions have to be asked.
Keatsian wrote: » Ok, if we're doing that can we get rid of the rule that lets landlords evict tenants to make way for themselves, a relative, or to sell?