Leroy42 wrote: » Maybe tell us what you would like them to do. Facetime the rape maybe?
Nixonbot wrote: » Lots of victim-blaming going on here I see.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » Nice bike.
realitykeeper wrote: » And that`s another thing, if I were a victim of rape or whatever, I would go tell the Gardaí. None of these allegations ring true and the utter prejudice displayed against the clergy by all levels of society reinforce the perception that this is a witch hunt.
realitykeeper wrote: » The fact that these unproven allegations are described as "credible" is an example of why so much mainstream news is describe as "fake" these days. I can parse the truth from the media reports, which is why I quoted the article. A lot of people just believe everything they read without taking account of the editorial biases, inaccuracies, inconsistencies etc
Vinculus wrote: » Everybody's getting all shouty and angry about this Pope thing. Maybe we need something to distract you all before it all gets out of hand. Maybe something like an epidemic of some type. Oh wait!!
realitykeeper wrote: » And that`s another thing, if I were a victim of rape or whatever, I would go tell the GardaNone of these allegations ring true and the utter prejudice displayed against the clergy by all levels of society reinforce the perception that this is a witch hunt.
Calvin Puny Marmoset wrote: » Cheers.. Here's a better photo of it without that awful looking cross and stage in the back ground I guess if I'm asked nicely I could give the Catholic High Wizard a lift on the back when he's finished casting his spells on the sheeple.
Omar Orange Ignoramus wrote: » The express.co.uk haven't made one of their usual photo montage of an epidemic as of yet (just war games and a robot takeover), so can assume were all safe from Ebola for the time being. A plague of locusts mightn't be far though, off seeing as the devil himself has been walking the earth, stealing young souls, dressed mainly in prada and/or black.
tylercheribini wrote: » If a priest chooses to break his vows then at least do so with a consenting adult like many also did.
Seth Brundle wrote: » Those who went with a consenting adults were treated worse than those who raped children. Compare the church's reaction to Casey and to Brendan Smyth for example.
Water John wrote: » One cleric was worried that women might be getting pleasure from wearing tampons. Told this by the doctor he consulted. I see Ronan Mullen is out again. Saying we shouldn't be, disrespectful of the Pope's visit. Where does that guy really get off?
Water John wrote: » I see Ronan Mullen is out again. Saying we shouldn't be, disrespectful of the Pope's visit. Where does that guy really get off?
Speaking at the launch of a new study challenging the Catholic Church’s stance on homosexuality, the former president said she was also “terrified” by gay priests and nuns who taught children that homosexuality was wrong. She said: “A phenomenon that I have found very commonly are what I call the ‘fake hetero homophobes’ within the clergy, who live double lives as gay men and women, but who [wear a veil] that is really stridently homophobic.
To do so, prayer and penance will help. I invite the entire holy faithful People of God to a penitential exercise of prayer and fasting, following the Lord’s command.[1] This can awaken our conscience and arouse our solidarity and commitment to a culture of care that says “never again” to every form of abuse.
“If one member suffers, all suffer together with it”, said Saint Paul
Leroy42 wrote: » This bit is quite extraordinary in the Popes letter (the letter is pretty much self surviving rubbish to be honest). So he wants each and every catholic to pay a price to try to atone for the sins of the few. Yet we have many on here claiming that such scandals cannot taint the whole church. Suddenly, it seems the secretive and protectionist church needs the help of everyone to sort this out! Have a read of the letter, it is actually staggering tone deaf. Lots of we failed to live up to standards, its on each of to strive for the lords ways. Yeah right. The bishop in the US seems to be having an awful time the last 20 years!
realitykeeper wrote: » Since you love the continuous use of the phrase witch hunt, I will repeat it. This witch hunt against the Catholic Church is dangerous.
quintana76 wrote: » Suggesting we protest against the Pope as our clown of a Taoiseach visits a Muslim Brotherhood mosque for a photo shoot. There is no hope.
erica74 wrote: » I don't think that's the case. I have read stories about them fighting court decisions and dragging things out, certainly not easily picking up the tab.I do think that there is something very strange about the lack of action from our government. I can't explain what. In high profile abuse ring cases, gardai, senior government officials etc have been implicated, maybe it's a similar story here? I think I remember when the Brendan Smyth case was going on (it may well have been a different case) there was evidence of police involvement and cover up.
Leroy42 wrote: » Add to that that historic cases of abuse are very difficult to convict on. First off the victim needs to want to go through all that again. 2nd the priest may not still be alive Records not available Many of the victims were in homes/care and as such the records reside in the church, who can easily block access.
Leroy42 wrote: » I do think that religion continues to carry quite a significant weight in many countries. Taking on the CC is going to cost quite a lot of votes. They are expecting 500k at this event, that is quite a lot of potential voters who seem ok with the CC as it stands. This things are political. The fact that Leo is welcoming an organisation that treats him as a sinner and going to spend eternity in hell, shows that the CC is still a powerful political force.
batgoat wrote: » Maybe this situation would never have arisen if the church had actually reported the crimes? But instead you're making this about the poor church and they're really the victims... Everything goes back to, the church intentionally made it impossible to investigate.
Leroy42 wrote: » One simple question. If one was to start a religious organisation, do you think we should start off with an organisation with systemic child abuse and an inbuilt sexism code.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » 30 or 40 years ago if a victim went to the Gardai they wouldn't have been believed, because the priests were regarded as pillars of the community who literally could do no wrong. How wrong we were, in all too many cases. But while thankfully Irish society has finally moved on from this mentality of bowing and scraping and unwarranted deference,
Irish Kings wrote: » Those who are now in authority in the state are not pro Catholic Church, so why not a single arrest for questioning, or warrant issued for searching their files in recent years, never mind a trial or conviction for the bishops that covered up these crimes in Ireland ? Most of these Bishops are still alive and well. The state is on the only body in Ireland that can obtain and administer justice for the victims of these crimes and cover ups, so why are the state authorities still refusing to do so and getting away with it, along with the bishops responsible ?
Discodog wrote: » Maybe they are afraid that they will face compensation claims as it's obvious the state knew about abuse.
realitykeeper wrote: And that`s another thing, if I were a victim of rape or whatever, I would go tell the GardaÃ. None of these allegations ring true and the utter prejudice displayed against the clergy by all levels of society reinforce the perception that this is a witch hunt.