Lumi wrote: » Mod Note Some of the bickering, personal attacks and hostile posts on this thread are painful to read! most have been deleted. All posts relating to discussion of Weather Warnings have been moved to the dedicated thread HERE All posts relating to winter weather preparations/driving tips have been moved HERE Can we get back to discussing the weather please - civilly.
sryanbruen wrote: » To be honest, with the state of the stratosphere, anything could happen. I do not put my money on a cold reload by any means, nor do I put my money on a warm spell. To me, a cold reload is more likely than a warm spell that's for sure due to the southerly track of the Polar Jet and the state of the zonal winds. I'd say to keep your eyes on the posts we do and we'll start talking if any certainty grows on what's exactly going to happen. The stratosphere is just too unique that there's nothing historically to base off of.
Nettle Soup wrote: » Kermit, Sryanbruen, what is your take on a possible cold re-load in a weeks time?
_Dara_ wrote: » There no indication that teachers aren’t getting involved in the digging. They’re probably looking for as many hands as they can get. A teacher replied to you on this thread very thread to say that they’d be getting involved in the digging. And asking people to help is helping people LEAVE their houses. What are you on about? Talk about unfocused grousing. A truly pathetic swipe at teachers here. Perhaps you should ask for volunteers to dig that chip off your shoulder?
Amalgam wrote: » He came back today, with ice cold legs and hungry.. the ungrateful, evasive little git. Ratty and demanding, got his food then fecked off again..
Rodin wrote: » My point is they're happy enough to ask parents above their own staff.
gyppo wrote: » Hi, I have an appointment in the Hermitage clinic tomorrow AM. Will be coming from Athlone area. Any issues in the lucan/liffey valley area? Thanks!
Amalgam wrote: » I've quite likely lost a cat to this storm, sadly. The guilt is like a billiard ball in my chest/under my skin. I was looking after someone's cat and I warned them that he was a nervous wreck due to local, uneutered cats.. He wasn't making himself available for food/to be fed.. and to maybe put him up in care, no.. said they'd chance it. I haven't seen him in 48 hours. He weathered the last two flurries okay, over the years, by making himself available to various neighbours, but.. it is brutal now, the road and gardens are spotless, no details to mark them out. Drifts everywhere. Well above the height of a cat. Our regular fox, like clockwork, is doing his rounds of the gardens, same time, same tracks, the only disturbance in the snow.
finnharpsboy wrote: » Cleared our road yesterday.... the old man and myself started about 9:30 and by 12 was still just the 2 of us. Eventually had a way out about 1:30 when a 2 neighbours came out to help. The back is stiff today along with the shoulders and ham strings Once I got out the lads put a toll on anyone else coming or going haha.... €1 to get in, €2 to get out. By the time i got back they had about €35 made
sdanseo wrote: » There's always someone in a t-shirt!!
mickmackey1 wrote: » Latest red warning - fat lads may keel over from shovelling too much snow :pac:
thebiglad wrote: » We cleared our estate estate earlier - I was in a t shirt than, so long as you're working don't feel the cold. Shovelling tons of snow is hot work!
STB. wrote: » Did you get the rise you expected by posting totally whacko comments ? There is life after the north west. I suggest you either invent a device that predicts acceptable weather patterns or otherwise get a job with the Emergency Coordination Committee. You can then play God and watch people die. And your expectations that the teachers shovel the snow is daft. They should probably call down to your gaf and shovel it too so your kids can attend.