Phil.x wrote: 12months time bus lanes will be gone.
Phil.x wrote: » 12months time bus lanes will be gone.
beauf wrote: » If you sitting in traffic use something that isn't. Electric bicycle or moped etc.
Marlay wrote: » Both of those options cost a fairly significant initial outlay, which not everyone can afford. Also not everyone wants, or is capable of using them. I was pointing out that the journey time by bus is not necessarily any more attractive than that by car depending on where in the city your journey starts. As journey time is often the most important factor in choosing a mode of transport, that seemed relevant.
blanch152 wrote: » You can get a new electric scooter for €1495.https://www.bikeworld.ie/site/motorcycle/new-artisan-electric-scooter/ Costs of running it would be far cheaper than a car. You must be driving some shoddy car if you couldn't sell it and buy a second-hand scooter, meaning that there is no initial outlay at all.
Interested Observer wrote: » I don't need a car to commute but I need a car.
jimmycrackcorm wrote: » There are good arguments for the likes of MN but from a cost and practical perspective, providing the ability to have buses travel as freely as possible is the most effective improvement for the lives of thousands upon thousands of people.
LuckyLloyd wrote: » Has there ever been a piece of investigative journalism on the owners of car parks in Dublin City Centre that looks into their links to lobby groups and politicians? They seem to wield a power over transport plans / management way above and beyond what's reasonable.
markpb wrote: » Personally I don't believe there's any corruption or undue influence going on. A very long time ago, the courts ruled that constitutional property rights could extend to lots of things, not just property in the normal sense. If DCC make life too difficult to motorists to reach the private car parks in the city centre, the owners/operators could sue the council on the grounds that their property rights are being infringed. DCC have to walk a careful tightrope on this one. The fact that the government gave those car park owners a grant to build there probably makes it even harder for DCC.
BonnieSituation wrote: » Only hopefully? I thought they WOULD be gone. Hmmm... I think you need to think that through. --- First time I've managed to be awake going down the quays this week. It's working very well. Even the sequencing letting cars through seems to calm the whole thing. ie. Drivers know they'll be moving soon enough. Garda car on eastside of OCB so I'm guessing there was a guard in the middle on the island. Couldn't see.over. Hopefully that shared that eejit ahead of my bus who thought he was going to be turning right!
Dravokivich wrote: » I don't get the ire for multi-story car parks.
magicbastarder wrote: » yep, they'll have rolled out turf and turned the quays into a long thin riverside park.
magicbastarder wrote: » brown thomas getting the planning permission (from DCC, one would assume) was one of the most idiotic planning decisions i can think of. a multi-storey car park with an entrance on clarendon street and an exit on south william street, preventing proper pedestrianisation on two of the most obviously pedestrianisable (is that a word?) streets in the city centre.
markpb wrote: » I assume permission was granted in the 70s or 80s when cars were king and pedestrianising streets was almost entirely unheard of.
Phil.x wrote: » Now wouldn't that be great, but then the cyclists would moan that the grass is too long and people are in their way.
Phil.x wrote: » Have you ever seen a toolbox let alone carry one, never mind the lengths of copper piping.
Dravokivich wrote: » I don't get the ire for multi-story car parks. i think they should be spread a bit more around the city instead of so closely packed around Jervis and Dame St areas. But I feel they can present a very viable alternative to on-street parking, which can then open up the potential for greater pedestrian / cyclist usage.
ArmaniJeanss wrote: » Weren't you a cyclist only a year or so ago, extolling the virtues of two wheel commuters and giving out about vans and trucks?
07Lapierre wrote: » Edit: here's a better example:http://www.alamy.com/stock-photo-bremen-germany-21st-jan-2015-plumber-theodor-roehm-rides-with-his-78621975.html
Deedsie wrote: » These changes are to accommodate bus and luas users. The only one moaning nonsensically here is you.
Phil.x wrote: » No
Phil.x wrote: » I blame the likes of George hook for being anti cyclist on national airwaves and subconsciously brainwashing motorists to hate cyclists.
LeinsterDub wrote: » Get out of your car so