Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long Road ahead!!

• 09-06-2011 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭

I write this post as I lie here in my folks front room, in pain, thanks to a smashed up femur sustained last Sunday. I'd actually written a nice long post explaining the the day itself but it was lost in the ether of having to log back in to post. I can't be bothered to write out another one that long. Suffice it to say I'm devastated as I will miss the Marmotte trip that I had been doing extensive preparation for.

The crash happened as I was nearing the end of a long spin approaching Newcastle village from the Rathcoole direction. I got the last roundabout wrong. A combination of speed, line, camber, greasy and recently rained on roads plus not as grippy as I thought tyres left heading for fracture city. I didn't slide across the road, no the wheels came out from under me and I flew through the air and down hard onto my right side. I immediately knew it was bad even before looking down and seeing the leg pointing in an unnatural direction. Result-A spiral fracture high up the bone with a couple transverse fractures aswell. Some nasty road rash plus ligament damage to fingers. It was more consistant with a motorcycle injury as everyone kept thinking it was! I was lucky, the helmet did its job as I came down hard on my head too.

I wrote quite a bit about the pain in the post that was lost(maybe the drugs are still having an effect and made me mess that up!) I screamed blue murder both on the road as the ambulance crew tried to move me and in hospital when they had to straighten my leg as best they could. I had surgery on Monday and it apparently went well. At this stage though the future is a long way off and things are slow and akward.

Let me be clear. I know cyclists suffer crashes and sustain injuries like mine or worse. However my misery is mutiplied by missing this trip of a lifetime, the work I put into it but also I using this as a platform to build on and move on with my life. I have done feck all and I was hoping to get out of this mundane lifestyle. Now I reduced to hoping I can get back walking before cycling or anything else enters my thoughts. So I'm depressed right now but hope to get stronger mentally to challenge the physical difficulties that lie ahead. I'll get through it.

Thank you to the residents/passersby in Newcastle for giving me that support when I was lying on the road in agony. Particular thanks to the man who looked after my bike. I forget his name but his number is in my phone and I will give him a buzz at some stage. I'll take this opportunity to thank the people I've met from this forum. You are all genuinely nice and helpful. Its been great to know you and maybe if I get back we may meet again.

Physio and the natural healing process aside, if anyone has any advice on recovery/how I may keep up the cardio I've built up, basically any experience you've had I would be greatful for your feedback.

Thanks for your time(the other post might just have bored you if it got through).:)

Gary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Shit buzz man, sorry to hear about the crash, especially as it's ruined your Marmotte hopes (have been in that position myself, albeit with much less severe injuries, so know a little how it feels).

My advice for the moment is just to concentrate on getting better, and not to worry so much about keeping up the fitness or anything like that. Spend your energy healing the body -you will always be able to regain fitness, but pushing on too soon in an attempt to 'not lose too much' could scupper you down the line.

More important, and harder is to try and not get too depressed about it -accidents happen but bones heal and you'll get back out on the road again -none of the training you've done is wasted as it's made you a fitter, healthier human being (and even introduced you to a few of the reprobates on here!), and it will all come back to you.

Heal Quick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Ah man. That's rotten luck.
    Sorry to hear that.
    Hope you make a full recovery quickly. Chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Crap luck. The only thing you'll be able to do about your fitness for the immediate future is to watch your diet. Once mobile, follow doctors' and physios' advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭montac

Hi Gary
    Really sorry to read about your crash - sounds just horrific.
    Hang in there!
    Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I hope you get well soon and all of this to be just a bad memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Holy hell. Can't believe it, gutted for you. I know how much training you were putting in. Was just getting used to the sight of your skinny arse disappearing into the distance at the first sign of a hill. You'll be sorely missed at the club races and the Sunday spins. Heal up soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Velo sorry to hear about you injuries.
    I know being laid up especially when you were aiming at something is hard to take. Give it sometime and your Doc and Physios can develop a plan. Then as Lemag says do what your told and work as hard at the plan as possible.

Keep the spirits up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

God sorry to hear about your accident. I know how frustrating injury is having given up soccer, then running because of it. Hopefully you ll be back and perhaps this will give you some inspiration

http://www.cyclingnews.com/blogs/jonathan-vaughters/to-live-and-be-alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

That's horrible :( I am really sorry to hear. You'll be back, bones heal. For now, you have the races on TV to keep yourself motivated. You can't retire now, you're too young.
    For now, eat a bit of cake to make yuo feel better, but know how to stop ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Gary, try and focus your obsessive energies into something else for the time being, don't let lost form eat away at you. You'll heal eventually, and you've got many decades of cycling to enjoy after that. Good luck with the recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 SpartanBaz

Sorry to hear about the crash Gary but don't worry, at least it's nothing permanent and you will heal. I had a bad accident last August when cycling in France and have had a slow and difficult recovery too, so I know what you'll be going through. But I'm back out cycling now, doing some running, and have just entered a race for August - almost exactly one year to the day since my accident!

I put together this video (we were wearing helmet cams) while being housebound, I found it better to laugh at the accident and try to learn from it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4miNjtp8wgE

So keep your head up, do your physio work, accept the inevitable depression but enjoy the recovery and being able to do more today than you could yesterday!

Barry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

As was said above...Get healed up properly and dont rush it. The marmotte etc will be there next year and the year after. It is a long road but every day the road gets shorter. Make sure wherever you are laid up has either Eurosport or ITV4 as they show the Tour live every day.
    I have 1 or 2 cycling books here if you want I cant post them or drop them to you.
    Just shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Jaysus - really sorry to hear that Gary.

Keep the spirits up and hope you're back on your feet - and pedals - again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Jeez Gary, that's desperate news. You were a man on a mission with the Marmotte coming up. It sucks that you'll miss it this year. Next year though, I can see you trucking up those French hills. maybe keep that as your focus while you recuperate? Keep the head up in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Jesus that's rough. Hard luck Gary, gutted for you.

I don't know if it's an option or if you'd see it as rubbing salt in the wounds, but if I already had the flights etc. booked for a few days in France I'd go, on crutches if necessary. The Alps are beautiful, and there are few places in the world I'd rather spend a few days with my feet up, drinking wine and eating stuff covered in melted cheese (that's all they eat in the Savoie as far as I can tell). It's going to be a bit miserable, but I'd rather be miserable somewhere beautiful than miserable in Dublin.

Let the cardio go. Better to put your energies into doing what the physio tells you and in keeping sane. The cardio will come back of its own accord once you're healed and faster than it came the first time. The body remembers.

Keep the faith, Gary, I'm sure you'll be back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Very sorry to hear about your injuries Velo, had a compound fracture to my femur as a kid and can still remember how painful it was. In terms of exercise, the best person to talk will be your physio. FWIW, I ended up with a fair amount of time in the pool during the early stages of recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

I'm gutted for you Gary. I was talking to you at the top of Wicklow Gap on the Around the Mountains Spin about the Marmotte. I could appreciate your enthusiasm for it which was amplified by your training and the rewards it was obviously reaping. While I know it's hard to appreciate at the moment, the good news is that the Marmotte is on every year, and Telegraphe, Galibier, Glandon and Alpe d'Huez will still be there long after you've healed and got back in peak shape.

One of the lads in LCRC sustained a similar injury during the winter coming down Captain's Hill in Leixlip. He's back racing in the last few weeks and has put the injury well behind him.

Keep the faith-a good winter/spring on the bike will have you back in good shape for the start of next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

That is some rotten luck, but chin up, you'll be back flying up those hills again. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

GEt well soon Gary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Always crap to hear of such a bad accident especially with such a trip planned, hopefully you will be back on your feet soon and fully healed. Im sure from the sounds of it you will be back in the saddle as soon as is safe and getting ready to fulfill your dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Ah, thanks for all the comments. They do lift the spirits. Good to hear from people I knew well from here and the club(don't want to sound clingy and mention particular names but you know who you are) and from those I haven't met before. Maybe I'm obsessing a bit about keeping some level of fitness, I just wanna get better.

Perhaps a career in comedy for me, apparently I had the doctors and nurses in stitches in the re-sus room, though that would mean copius amounts of drugs and gas for such a performance in the future. Plus maybe do a Wayne Rooney and go off and get a HRBR special in the meantime!:DBTW that cling wrap I used under my helmet on the Orwell winter rides was nothing to do with such hair treatments-it was simply for warmth!

I must say well done again to Tawfeeredux(just read the Donegal report). A1 next year and hopefully some continental racing for you. Good luck also to the Orwell guys in the races to come.

I'm tired so i'll sign off.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Sorry to hear that. Thankfully I've not been in your situation but if I were I'd try to focus my energy as already suggested. Focusing on physio work, etc., is obviously the priority but between times I'd read through all of those potentially educational books (cycling related, nutrition related, etc.) the reading of which I've always put on the long finger due to invariably favouring something that keeps me moving about over something that requires me to sit still. I'd also work on my flexibility in those areas that I could (neck, shoulders, wrists, etc.) 'cos I've often neglected those areas, due to lack of time, despite their importance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

Jaysis man. Sorry to hear that. Injury can be very mentally frustrating but keep the chin up. I would defo go as said already if you could. All de best
    Darragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

That's terrible. Try not to let it get you down, and be sure to keep coming on boards to get a regular dose of broomwagon nonsense. I don't even know you except on here, but the camaraderie on the forum can be great when you just need a little something to smile about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

That's terrible bad luck. Try and think positively as best you can. It sounds like the surgery went well so recovery may be much quicker than you're currently anticipating. I'd expect that as soon as you can put weight on it you'll be advised to start walking and it may not be long until you can spin lightly on a turbo. Good luck with the recovery - hang in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Sorry to hear about this, keep your chin up and all the best on the road to Marmotte 2012!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Best of luck with the recovery, do exactly what the docs and physio tell you and it won't be long before you're back. Chin up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Very bad luck, especialy when you had so much invested in the Marmotte and in setting out to change your 'mundane lifestyle'.
    But you have a bigger challenge than the Marmotte now - to stay positive and, if necessary, to take another direction in whatever road it is you wish to take.
    Life is a broad canvas. Riding a bike is one way to help navigate it and I have little doubt that you will get back to that. However, if necessary, you will find other avenues and it won't be 'the end of the world' if you don't get to do that Marmotte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Hey Gary - was talking to Owen earlier and he told me about your crash. Really sorry to hear the story - I think anyone that's been out with you over the last while knows how much work you were putting in for the Marmotte trip. If there's one thing I'm sure a lot of people here will agree - you've shown a single mindedness that will help a huge amount in your road to recovery. I know it's easy to say from where I'm sitting, but time passes, and the pain will subside, you'll get better, and you'll be dying to get back out on the bike. Keep the chin up buddy - and get well soon
    Neal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭WakeyTyke

Had an accident similar to yours Gary, got a corner all wrong, broke my hip. Stay positive - I was back on the bike in 6 months and within 12 months I was back to the level I was at before the crash. There will be other Marmotte's and bigger and better things will lie ahead for you. Believe me, this will make you mentally stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Sorry to hear about the fall Gary! Keep the spirits up, bones heal well and you'll be back on the bike in no time. The Alps aren't going anywhere anytime soon, you'll be back out there next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Sorry to hear about this, Gary.

I do feel your pain - I am still out of action from a crash back in early March.

I would definitely recommend that you not be shy about the pain medication. Not taking it makes sleep impossible, which really takes a toll. As weird as some of the pain meds can make you feel, sleep deprivation is worse.

Depression is part of it, to be sure. Try to look towards the end of the journey; I know that's not so easy. Put your efforts into alternative pursuits for a while. I know that won't be anything physical for a bit, but there are probably many movies and/or books that you haven't seen of late.

Spend time with family. Cyclists tend to neglect family. I have been guilty of that. Watch out for how you interact with others for the next while - it can be hard to maintain a pleasant demeanor when things aren't going so great.

Lastly, where are your x-ray pics? Spiral fracture and not a single x-ray posted up? Come on, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Sorry to hear about your spill Gary. The effort you'd put into preparing of the Marmotte trip was very evident when seeing you disappear up a climb.
    Refocus that energy into keeping your spirits up and getting better.
    Hope to see you disappearing up a hill soon.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Sorry to hear about your accident Gary. That's rotten luck.

Having been laid up myself last year I can recommend a regime of at least 20 Marlboro Red a day, coupled with copious amounts of TV watching and a diet of pizza and hamburgers. For the pain, nothing beats the proven combo of prescription pain killers and alcohol. As you no doubt know well yourself, I came back stronger than ever this year. ;)

Seriously though, get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 gav07

Gary, terrible news. Was looking forward to your company on the trip in a few weeks.
    Your training will stand to you and get up back up to full tilt quicker than the rest - in time for La Marmotte 2012.
    Good luck with the recovery.
    Gav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Sounds like you escaped a broken hip which I think would have been worse that your bad leg break. I crashed at this time of year a long time ago, it meant I got to sit at home and watch the Tour De France live everyday, and go out to the garden afterwards to soak up the sun. You'll be back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Something else to help you pass the time - you can fight crime:

rear-window.jpg

The only extras you'll need are: a camera with a ridiculously large lens, a glamorous and vulnerable accomplice, and a permanent worried facial expression. Oh, and a psychotic neighbour too. Probably best to keep well back from open windows though, unless you live in a bungalow. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

Gary, that was an awful dose of bad luck for sure. You are now owed at least 10 years worth of totally charmed, incident free cycling. All you have to do is get back on the bike to start enjoying it!

My short motorcycling career ended in similar fashion, lying at the side of the road looking at a bend in my leg where there shouldn't have been one.
    It's easy to think: broken leg = MAJOR damage. And of course it is major damage at the time. But I was amazed at how quickly it solidified and healed up. I'll bet the injury to your fingers will give you grief for longer than your broken femur does.

I was also cycling a fair bit at the time of my spill, so I was aiming to get pedaling again ASAP. I found the bike very sympathetic to my semi-healed state (bone OK but weak/tight muscles), easier than walking in fact. So for a month or so during my recovery I cycled everywhere with a crutch bungeed to my crossbar.

The depression is difficult to handle alright. The worst of the pain is short lived (if you're lucky) but you then have to lounge around just feeling your fitness ebb away. To counter this, you can always lash into something else now and then, just for the sake of getting fired up - get yourself a pair of dumbells or set up an overhead bar for some chin ups (just be careful getting up and down!).

The weeks will fly by and you'll feel ready to roll again in no time. Hang in there for now and enjoy the summer. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

Hi Gary, remember me? We had a chat about Planet-X's at the Sally Gap crossroads sometime last year?

Very sorry to hear about your accident. I got hit by a car two weeks ago approaching Kilternan from Johnny Foxes and received rib injuries. I should be cycling in France right now but had to postpone trip and instead I'm hobbling around the house devouring painkillers. I had been feeling sorry for myself but your injuries put things in perspective and I realise how lucky I am.

My thoughts are with you and I wish you all the best for a successful recovery. Be strong, time is a great healer and things do get better.

All the best, Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Sorry to hear about this, velo. I've gone through that roundabout perhaps hundreds of times. It's a nasty one, especially with the garage immediately after.

Take your time getting over your injuries. Everything else is just detail.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Don't despair Gary - I'm sure you'll come back stronger than ever before. I've not had that type of injury (at least not since I broke my leg in 3 places when I was run over by, of all things, a bike at the age of 5), but I have had some long term back issues which severely restricted my ability to do any exercise for about 10 years. I am stronger, fitter and faster that I've ever been in my life now.

As others have pointed out, it will be much easier to regain lost fitness than it ever was to gain it in the first place.

The challenges will still be there when you get back, and you'll probably be even more determined to overcome them