-
Voluntary Emergency Services Links
Links of interest to those involved in Voluntary Emergency Services. If you'd like a link added, just reply on this thread and I'll merge it in when I see it. Coastguard http://www.transport.ie/marine/IRCG/index.asp?lang=ENG&loc=2029 Official Site http://www.howthcoastguard.com/ Howth Unit http://doolincoastguard.com/…
-
Basic First Aid courses in your area
The operators of boards.ie have very generously given permission to Voluntary Organisations to advertise basic first aids courses, as they are non-profit-making bodies. Below is a list of Voluntary Organisations who are offering basic first aid courses to the general public, with all the details you need to book yourself a…
-
Charter
# This forum is for the discussion of voluntary emergency services in general and is open to all posters, whether they are serving / former members of a voluntary emergency service, prospective members or just have an interest. That said, if a member makes false claims as to their membership of a service this will result…
-
My lovely Horse Rescue
I’m sitting here dreadfully upset at a video that’s on Facebook re a dreadful incident that happened in Limerick this evening. Dreadful graphic scenes of a very bloodied horse writhing in agony on the road after being driven into cars on a busy road . When I say it was horrific, it really was. Now I want to praise this…
-
Missing Person - Ballycastle, Antrim - George Brennan
Please see details below.
-
Dublin Homeless Awareness
This group look to be doing some great work. Providing first aid and engaging with homeless and distressed persons and whilst the enthusiasm and drive is great to see in young people i doubt i am the only one with some concerns. Having under 18's operating in what i would class as a high risk environment is far from ideal,…
-
Join Dublin Civil Defence
Hi Hopefully some of you can answer this. I am thinking about joining the Civil Defence. I was a member of the Kildare branch a few years ago, but left mainly because it was a 40 minute drive each way to Naas where the base is. Can I join Dublin Civil Defence or do I have to join the Kildare branch again? I ask as I live…
-
The Search for Fungie
I see from the news that a voluntary SAR were recently involved in the search for this Dolphin at sea. Interested to hear people's thoughts on this. I'm not sure this is the right use of their resources. If I for example had fundraised/ donated to this charity this might make me 2nd guess doing it again. Then again maybe…
-
.... this is the end
When your the last poster on the last 4 topics in this forum you know its dead
-
Red Cross
Call gone out to help NAS if required, boss says no, not giving time off. What did you do to help during the Covid Troubles? Feck all.
-
Blurred lines
I see a well known suicide awareness charity based in Limerick City is now providing event first aid cover at FAR level. Probably doing this as good will gesture but its sure to rub the other voluntaries up the wrong way who invest a lot of money and time to training their members up to EFR/EMT etc
-
Civil Defence might lose licence to provide first aid
Hidden in an article about insurance is a piece about the Civil Defence may lose it's licence to provide first aid cover at events: https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/leo-needs-to-sort-this-family-park-closing-over-40000-insurance-cover-38094329.html Meanwhile, the regulator of Civil Defence is hopeful…
-
Tips on CFR Group
Hello lads, I volunteer with the order of Malta in sligo and there's talks about setting up a CFR group in sligo, I was wondering how would this be set up? I live in the ballisodare area and I wanna set one up here, is it also possible to do it solo? Thanks lads
-
Is it Compulsory for Gardai to be present at the scene of a suicide?
I lost a 2nd cousin of mine to suicide two months ago. It was deepening saddening for her family and a very traumatic time. . Her partner and her were split at the time before the death but still remained in the same household although her partner planning on moving out a week later. But listen I am not one to jump to…
-
The best FETAC/PHECC First Aid Courses?
Hi there, I hope this is the right place to be asking this! I would like to do some First Aid courses soon (ideally ones that target working with children as that’s what I’m hoping to do in future) and just some general First Aid as well but was just wondering do any of ye know of courses with any FETAC or PHECC…
-
being a member or two organisations at the same time
Hi I'm looking to join some volunteer organizations. I was looking at joining two at the same time but somebody mentioned to me that this cannot be done. Any truth to this?
-
Volunteer First Responder organisation in Naas?
Hi guys, I'm interested in being a volunteer first responder. I live in Naas, I work in Bray. I'm not aware of any such organisation in Naas, probably because it's got a damn big hospital minutes away from most estates. However... I still feel the need. Does anyone know if there is such an organisation in the Naas area. I…
-
Average Retained Firefighter salary
Hi just wondering if anybody has any idea of the average Retained firefighter salary? It’s just my local station is recruiting and I’m considering applying as the job I’m in is only temporary? Tia PS I hope I have the right location for this post
-
St John's ambulance vs OMAC vs IRC vs Civil defence
Hi there, Appreciate this question may have been asked before but I'm wondering which of the voluntary ambulance services would be considered the best to join if you have a choice between all four? Which has the best training/progression etc and highest level of activity? *Ideally any Limerick specific info but otherwise…
-
Order of malta or Red Cross
I have a choice of the two but would like some info on them. Whats the training like (levels) ? Are any acceppted as stepping stone to a paramedic? What Costs are envolved ? Whats normal duty ? Any other information such as other events they hold ect ps im in athlone area.
-
Anybody in Civil Defence - is it worthwhile?
I am thinking about joining the Civil Defence and just looking for anybody's experience of it. I'm 32 and was previously in the Reserve Defence Forces. I miss that now and was thinking that the Civil Defence might be a good idea. Are most people in it younger and maybe looking for experience for an emergency services…
-
how to join a search
if there is a search going on in your area how can you join up or volunteer? is there a website or number to call?
-
All very quiet around here
So to jump-start the chat can anyone indulge me on changes for an EMT in the upcoming 2016 CPGs
-
IRC blanchardstown area (D15)
Could anybody point me in the right direction to get in touch with the divisional officer of the above or any relevant officer that I could speak to. Ps. Not to join, to discuss members conduct
-
Red Cross First Aid Courses
Hi guys, has anyone done these classes? I contacted the Red Cross to inquire about it and I am wondering, as it's only a two day course and costs (family first aid) 130 per person, is it an in-depth teaching? I am very skeptical of things that have courses for only two days I worry that you can't possible learn and retain…
-
Civil Defence - Communications
Hi, I am considering joining the Civil Defence in the communications wing. Can anyone tell me what I might expect if I was to join? What my duties might be and the sorts of things I might be asked to do? Thanks
-
Looking for a relevant rescue manual suitable for civil defence work?
Hi all, I'm involved, (maybe not as much as I should be, but soon to change) with civil defence and have a query regarding the syllabus if anyone here is aware? I know CD rescue manual was based off the Civil Defence Rescue Manual (I think the 'Towards 2000' structure). I'm wondering if a copy is available online somewhere…
-
Do all orgs transfer people to ED?
Somebody told me that Civil Defence do not transport injured people to hospital. I told him he was talking through his ____. Is there any restriction on some organisations transporting an injured person to the ED? Maybe he was mixed up but I presumed the likes of Civil Defence and Red Cross can provide transport.
-
PHECC OSCE
Any else here playing the waiting game for the last 2 weeks since the OSCE's
-
Civil Defence - afs or casualty?
I'm not sure whether to join the afs or casualty service. The afs is a bit of a put off because they don't do much but train apparently and rarely get duties. If anyone has any insight or opinions that would be helpful, thanks!