Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Society - Luttrelstown Castle 25th February @ 11.30am

• 03-02-2017 11:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 843 ✭✭✭

After our warm-up event on the Wicklow coast in January it's time for the Society year to kick up a gear now as our first counting event towards Golfer of the Year/Ryder Jug qualification approaches.

The venue for this outing is Luttrelstown Castle, http://www.luttrellstowncastle.com/en/golf/ which is number 55 on the Golf Digest Top 100 courses in Ireland 2017. Measuring 6,779 yards off the white tees, 6,437 yards off the greens it should be a good test of ball striking.

I haven't played the course in years so it's one I'm really looking forward to checking out and if the video on their website is anything to go by then we have a treat in store. The first tee time is at 11.30am and the last is at 12.10. Teamer invites have just been issued so let me know your availability at your convenience. We have 20 slots booked at the moment so it would be good to know early if we need any more.

For those who know the course any views on where we should have longest drive or nearest the pin?

I understand that soft spikes are compulsory on the course so please bear that in mind when preparing your gear for the event. Any questions, feel free to give me a shout.

ballyk

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

Looking forward to this one. Great course and a good test. Really enjoy playing the course whenever I get the chance. LD 7th hole & NTP 15th would be my choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Ah sh1te, I'll be flying back across the Atlantic that morning so won't make this.

Was looking forward to it too. Its been a couple of years since I played there, but always enjoyed it.

Think its maybe the 13th that should be nearest the pin, but really needs to be played off the whites to make it a properly daunting tee shot. Played off the greens takes the water out of the equation to a large degree.

Not sure on long drive. I have a par 4 in my head that has a slightly elevated tee box & the fairway opens up below you which would be a nice hole to open the shoulders on. Think its on the front 9, but can't remember which hole it is unfortunately.

You could just go for the par 5 18th, where a long drive really opens up a big risk-reward approach to the green which is protected by water in front.

Enjoy it lads, I'll be jealous.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Early tee for me please Gaffer.

I generally try and get out on the course a few times each year. First tee is genuinely less than 1km from my front door :)

1. Straight away pa4 4. what you see is what you get, but to far left is OB.
    2. Par 5, blind approach to green, keep left side
    3. Tricky par 4, downhill, tight fairway and even tighter approach to green with water all around, short left lay up is the job.
    4. Decent par 3, miss is left, right is water.
    5. Dogleg left, tee shot is right of fairway, but don't be to long. top of the hill is fine. Approach over water and back up a hill, miss is right of the green
    6. Short par 3. Big trouble left and trees right, but you should find your ball there but will be a tricky recovery What I reckon 3Putt wants as NDP. However, it can be slightly uphill and you more than likely won't see the hole. IMO there are better options.
    7. Par 4 elevated tee box, the hole Space recommends for LD. Good Option.
    8. Par 5, makeable in 2, but a high green can see your balls roll back down the hill if you come up short.
    9. Decent par 4 a good drive can leave a short approach to the green
    10. Tricky, big trees, be right of fairway, but not to long as she bends around to the left
    11. This hole is a beast of the back sticks, but not to bad off the front, might be 100yards in the diff. Water all down left side, but plenty of room on right
    12. Par 5, 2 fairway options, makeable in 2 with a very good drive. If you are not near the top of the hill with your drive, beware your second shot as water down right side and poxy rough down left. got to keep it straight here
    13. Par 3. Great hole for NP. Super off the back but probably to tough back there for NP. We will be forward though
    14. Looonnnnnnngggggggggg par 4. It will take 2 perfect shots here to make the green. Keep right of the big tree on your approach
    15. Short and testing par 3 with a tricky green. Another good option for NP.
    16. CAn't remember if this is a short par 4 or short par 5!! Pretty sure short par 4 actually, slight dogleg to right, but even right side of fairway here will be fine.
    17. A beast. Long par 4, maybe index 1. must be long and right side to have a chance of making the green, tasty dogleg bending to the left and trees will catch you.
    18. Par 5, great finish. risk reward hole with a big drive. water in front and there is more of it than you might first realise.

So, NP.... 13th or 15th. I think 15th could be good actually even thought it is shorter.
    LD. lots of options. 1st, 3rd, 7th, 8th, 9th, 11th, 14th, 16th 17th & 18th all doable.

But I probably agree with Space, 7th is a good one, and if going with either 13 or 15 for NP, is spaces them out nicely

Oh yea, great practice facilities here guys, one of the best. In the gate immediately on your left there is a laneway up to the long range. but you got to go into the proshop to buy balls first, so leave your clubs in the car and drive back up.
    there is a great little short game area with 3 holes & bunkers. its walkable from the carpark, left of the first tee. (I don't think you are supposed to play them or even retrieve your balls, but it's grand if there is nobody around

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Back to your house for tea after so Seve?!!!

Unfortunately I won't know until closer to the date if I can go yet.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Back to your house for tea after so Seve?!!!

Unfortunately I won't know until closer to the date if I can go yet.

The missus is heading off that day so I told her she couldn't go till I was finished golf. :P So I'll probably be legging it after, but you are most welcome to drop over :D

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Seve OB wrote: »
    Early tee for me please Gaffer.

I generally try and get out on the course a few times each year. First tee is genuinely less than 1km from my front door :)

1. Straight away pa4 4. what you see is what you get, but to far left is OB.
    2. Par 5, blind approach to green, keep left side
    3. Tricky par 4, downhill, tight fairway and even tighter approach to green with water all around, short left lay up is the job.
    4. Decent par 3, miss is left, right is water.
    5. Dogleg left, tee shot is right of fairway, but don't be to long. top of the hill is fine. Approach over water and back up a hill, miss is right of the green
    6. Short par 3. Big trouble left and trees right, but you should find your ball there but will be a tricky recovery What I reckon 3Putt wants as NDP. However, it can be slightly uphill and you more than likely won't see the hole. IMO there are better options.
    7. Par 4 elevated tee box, the hole Space recommends for LD. Good Option.
    8. Par 5, makeable in 2, but a high green can see your balls roll back down the hill if you come up short.
    9. Decent par 4 a good drive can leave a short approach to the green
    10. Tricky, big trees, be right of fairway, but not to long as she bends around to the left
    11. This hole is a beast of the back sticks, but not to bad off the front, might be 100yards in the diff. Water all down left side, but plenty of room on right
    12. Par 5, 2 fairway options, makeable in 2 with a very good drive. If you are not near the top of the hill with your drive, beware your second shot as water down right side and poxy rough down left. got to keep it straight here
    13. Par 3. Great hole for NP. Super off the back but probably to tough back there for NP. We will be forward though
    14. Looonnnnnnngggggggggg par 4. It will take 2 perfect shots here to make the green. Keep right of the big tree on your approach
    15. Short and testing par 3 with a tricky green. Another good option for NP.
    16. CAn't remember if this is a short par 4 or short par 5!! Pretty sure short par 4 actually, slight dogleg to right, but even right side of fairway here will be fine.
    17. A beast. Long par 4, maybe index 1. must be long and right side to have a chance of making the green, tasty dogleg bending to the left and trees will catch you.
    18. Par 5, great finish. risk reward hole with a big drive. water in front and there is more of it than you might first realise.

All sounds so simple when you put it like that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Early tee time if possible for me too please.
    What's the best side on 12 Seve, as in which side has more room. And is it driver?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Early tee time if possible for me too please.
    What's the best side on 12 Seve, as in which side has more room. And is it driver?

Definitely driver on 12. The left side leaves the easier approach if you're long enough. If you go right it's a definite 3 shot hole.

Went over on Friday on my way home from work, about 4:50. Peter Lawrie was at the door and seemed to be locking up. I asked him was it to late to grab a bag of balls and he looed at me, then his watch and said I'd be hitting them in the dark. Told him I didn't care, I just got a new club and wanted to try it out so he gave me half a bag of balls on the house. decent chap.

I'll most likely have a guest at this one gaffer.

• Registered Users Posts: 843 ✭✭✭ballyk

That was sound of him. Fair play. I wonder how he is finding civilian life after being on the tour for so long.

I'll add your guest to the provisional list and put him/her on the same tee-time as you.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Alanm

I'm in too and would like an early tee time if possible. Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭athlone99

Unfortunately I have a match that night so that rules me out! Hopefully get to most of the rest of the events. Best of luck to the new captain for the year!

Ok lads and lasses, just over a week now to the first proper outing of the year. At the moment we have 3 slots left. Any other takers or potential takers?

There could be some easy GOTY points for the taking and a chance to be at the top of the leaderboard for a month.... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

ballyk wrote: »
    Ok lads and lasses, just over a week now to the first proper outing of the year. At the moment we have 3 slots left. Any other takers or potential takers?

There could be some easy GOTY points for the taking and a chance to be at the top of the leaderboard for a month.... :P

Really looking forward to it, hope you have the usual nice weather arranged

If we get as lucky as we did with the Wicklow outing I'll be delighted. I have a request in with the mother to borrow the Child of Prague just to make doubly sure! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭doublecross

At the moment it's looking like I won't be able to make it. I've declined on Teamer. If my plans change when's the cutoff for accepting?

That's fine. Do you think you'll know by Thursday evening?

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭doublecross

That's fine. Do you think you'll know by Thursday evening?

Ya, defo know by then. Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭kieran.

BallyK when will there be a time sheet I need to make arrangements, cheers.

Provisional timesheet set out below. There may be some minor changes at the end of the timesheet as we have two players to be confirmed. If anyone has an issue with this please let me know.

Time: | Player 1 | Player 2 | Player 3| Player 4
    11.30: | Roadrunner | SeveOB | SeveOB's guest | Alanm
    11.40: | jarrieta | BigChap1759 | princess poppy | Macker1
    11.50: | Break80 | 3putt | ThecHamp26 | Kieran.
    12.00: | a post punk | acalmenvoy| dylanmc30 | paulos53
    12.10: | The Big Easy | ballyk | charlieIRL (TBC) | doublecross (TBC)

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Damien M

Provisional timesheet set out below. There may be some minor changes at the end of the timesheet as we have two players to be confirmed. If anyone has an issue with this please let me know.

Just got around to confirming on Teamer there, had to juggle a few things around, if you guys can squeeze me in somewhere please that'd be great.

What's the going rate for a birdie these days? :D

Damien M wrote: »
    What's the going rate for a birdie these days? :D

We don't pay out for birdies, only for 2's (optional extra) and as per the rules you must collect on the day or at the next outing.
    Visitors are entitled to compete for a visitors prize, nearest the pin, longest drive, 2's club but if victorious they must collect their prize on the day or at the following outing otherwise it will be forfeited and added back into the prize fund.

We don't pay out for birdies, only for 2's (optional extra) and as per the rules you must collect on the day or at the next outing.

My comment was in jest, hence the smiley face. (Birdies/2s; for the purposes of this comment they're the same thing....I paid into a competition for scoring a 2). The first time in my life I ever get a birdie/2 and I get two in a round. Normally I'm going around in 5s and 6s. :o

I've kinda resigned to not seeing any pot anyway.

But, your points are irrelevant.
    A) the person with the pot had left by the time I reached the clubhouse.

B) I attended the next outing and the person in charge of the pot had left by time I reached the clubhouse. For what's it's worth I scored the two birdies at The Heritage and attended the next consecutive outing in the New Forest.

Yes I was late to the first tee, but I apologised to my playing partners. I had intended to join as a member but ultimately couldn't commit to enough outings.

no need for the pm, i got your reply here!
    pretty sure there was more to it than that, but lets just leave it there rather than chase you around the country to get the dollar to you.
    Damien M wrote: »
    My comment was in jest, hence the smiley face. (Birdies/2s; for the purposes of this comment they're the same thing....I paid into a competition for scoring a 2). The first time in my life I ever get a birdie/2 and I get two in a round. Normally I'm going around in 5s and 6s. :o

I've kinda resigned to not seeing any pot anyway.

But, your points are irrelevant.
    A) the person with the pot had left by the time I reached the clubhouse.

B) I attended the next outing and the person in charge of the pot had left by time I reached the clubhouse. For what's it's worth I scored the two birdies at The Heritage and attended the next consecutive outing in the New Forest.

Yes I was late to the first tee, but I apologised to my playing partners. I had intended to join as a member but ultimately couldn't commit to enough outings.

no need for the pm, i got your reply here!
    pretty sure there was more to it than that, but lets just leave it there rather than chase you around the country to get the dollar to you.

I’ve already easily refuted all your arguments as regards the fulfilling of the criteria- I ticked all the little boxes already. In England and to a lesser extent elsewhere, solicitors are known as ‘briefs’- they brief the barrister on the diminutive aspects of the case; just so the barrister doesn’t get left with egg on their face when their points are successfully refuted-just sayin’. To reiterate-I won/shared the prize in The Heritage and attended the social gathering in the clubhouse afterwards, and went to the clubhouse after New Forest- on both occasions I fulfilled the criteria. :pac:

Not sure what you want me to do, if needs be I can write a letter of apology to each golfer I held up that day. If you’re going to sanction me for my tardiness, sanction me but at least have the gumption to tell me about it as opposed to withholding my (share of the) prize - I presume the committee reserves the same ire for those 60-70 members who never even bother to extend courtesy to the organising committee by RSVPing to each outing on Teamer? So many red 'X's each time, now that would infuriate me. :eek:

"pretty sure there was more to it than that"

There wasn't any more to it than that. I went to the clubhouse on both occasions and socialised with the golfers, quite difficult for someone with Aspergers. I was late and apologised. :rolleyes:

"but lets just leave it there rather than chase you around the country to get the dollar to you"

I don't expect anyone to chase me around, again, maybe someone is leading you up the garden path here. I did offer to drive out to meet the aforementioned potholder and my offer was spurned.

Never even won the ubiquitous pack of 3 golf balls, first time in my life I won summat at golf and the prize has been denied to me. And you guys claim to be welcoming to visitors, huh...

Ok guys, just a few updates on the event on Saturday.

Entry will be €45 for members and €50 for non-members. Given the quality of the venue I think this is actually very good value. Other outings will be cheaper.

We will be playing off the green tees as the members are still playing their 14 hole winter league.

Updated timesheet to follow later in the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭paulos53

Ok guys, just a few updates on the event on Saturday.

Entry will be €45 for members and €50 for non-members. Given the quality of the venue I think this is actually very good value. Other outings will be cheaper.

We will be playing off the green tees as the members are still playing their 14 hole winter league.

Updated timesheet to follow later in the week.

All 18 holes open for us I hope?

paulos53 wrote: »
    All 18 holes open for us I hope?

Of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭a post punk

Cheers Ballyk a nice sleep in so Saturday:)) looking forward to this course the reports are good!