Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MAG demo Dublin 22nd Sept.

• 10-09-2012 2:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭

I'm not a member of MAG but I will turn up for this. Apparently the one they had last year was badly marshalled and I've been told it was lucky their wasn't an accident ??

Irish Bikers will take to the streets to protest new EU regulations.

Irish riders will take to the streets in opposition to an EU proposal which seeks to extend roadworthiness testing to motorcycles, based on flawed figures presented by the EU Commission.
    http://www.magireland.org/2012/campaigns/rwt/mag-ireland-no-con-test-demo-22nd-sept/

no-con-test-demo-2012.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭carsQhere

Apparently the one they had last year was badly marshalled and I've been told it was lucky their wasn't an accident ??

You obviously weren't there.

For the record (yet again)... All MAG Ireland demos are marshalled and have a Garda escort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭SaoriseBiker

carsQhere wrote: »
    You obviously weren't there.

For the record (yet again)... All MAG Ireland demos are marshalled and have a Garda escort.
    No I wasn't, it's what a guy told me. Will be there regardless :)

Im going aswell

anyone wanna rideout of naas?

urbanledge wrote: »
    Im going aswell

anyone wanna rideout of naas?
    Might be worth a thought for the Kildare men, live in Pearse St meself, only 10 mins from Wilton Terrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Will this be the same as last year where there are multiple meeting points outside of Dublin prior to everyone heading to final point?

Sez on mag theres a few meeting points,
    bike world (long mile)is one of them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Grand, I'm sure more details will come out. Last time it was new lands cross etc.

I'm told further details should be available by the end of this week. If you're on twitter, follow @mag_ireland to catch the official announcements.

As of now, there are three ride-in points. Balbriggan, Bikeworld and Cornelscourt SC.

If you're on facebook, you'll find the MAG page at www.facebook.com/magireland.org which will also have the meet up points.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,019 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

No I wasn't, it's what a guy told me.

:rolleyes: I'm not involved in MAG any more, and that sort of crap is a large part of it. He said, she said, MAG said, and who cares what the truth was.

There is no future for Boards as long as it stays on the complete toss that is the Vanilla "platform", we've given those Canadian twats far more chances than they deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭kevin-46

kevin-46 wrote: »
    There's a few going, don't think I can make it myself, here's a thread on it already -

MAG demo Dublin 22nd Sept.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056751039

anyone heading from northside area im in artane

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

Just to reiterate this one:
    Balbriggan meeting point IS CANCELLED as there is no MAG rep available to lead the group in. If you’re coming from the North or North East, please make your way directly to the main assemply point at Wilton Terrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

anyone heading from northside area im in artane

Way too late now as I'm leaving in 20 minutes but I'll be going through Artane, yellow BMW R1100S with a Captain America open face helmet ~ if anyone see's me say please, I'm friendly :D

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bradknowell

Way too late now as I'm leaving in 20 minutes but I'll be going through Artane, yellow BMW R1100S with a Captain America open face helmet ~ if anyone see's me say please, I'm friendly :D

Many turn up at it?

Was over 100 bikes before the start, saw more rolling in as things got moving. Bit of a delayed start, there was a small change to the route.

seen u at ferview lights i was the zzr and the other fella on a bmw

P1080583.JPG
    Got ya!I was on the suzuki supermoto with the orange bags

P1080578.JPG

P1080577.JPG

P1080576.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

seen u at ferview lights i was the zzr and the other fella on a bmw

Oh cool, I didn't mean any disrespect by shooting off like I did but I had to go meet a few at Bike World via a message I'd to do via Inchicore first.

Jeeze we got a cracking day for it, by the time I got home I was soaked in sweat!.

Oh cool, I didn't mean any disrespect by shooting off like I did but I had to go meet a few at Bike World via a message I'd to do via Inchicore first.

Jeeze we got a cracking day for it, by the time I got home I was soaked in sweat!.
    We should do it every Saturday :) Felt like a rock star or something with people taking our pics etc :P :D

Update from MAG Ireland via e-mail this morning:
    Thanks to all of you who turned up on Saturday. This Friday 28th Gay Mitchell MEP will be accepting a letter from MAG Ireland to take to the EU Commission. He will be meeting with us at the Dail Merrion Square West AT 2pm. I know this is an awkward time for many of you, but you are all welcome to come along.

Gay used to ride a bike when he was younger and loves looking at bikes.

Some good pics from MAG on Facebook -

http://www.facebook.com/#!/magireland.org

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

it was a good day.. I'm not a mag member- I agree that a weekday would have achieved more attention but in fairness it stopped town for a bit and if we set the french off then we'll have done our part ha...the traffic bikes played a blinder fair play to them....just one thing tho... its sad to see how many people don't understand the basic principle of staying in line....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Notch000

steveone wrote: »
    it was a good day.. I'm not a mag member- I agree that a weekday would have achieved more attention but in fairness it stopped town for a bit and if we set the french off then we'll have done our part ha...the traffic bikes played a blinder fair play to them....just one thing tho... its sad to see how many people don't understand the basic principle of staying in line....

same as was there, great spin out. im not pwersonally affialiated with mag either. There was one guy there completly taking the piss on an R1 on full grey leathers he was tearing around & stopping videoing the lot on a go pro. I think he only joined on oconnel street, Should make a great video tho, hopefully it will turn up soon.

Agreed on the bike police they did a fantastic job

Like myself, most of the people posting here on the demo are not members of MAG ( I used to be). Is anyone on the forum a member ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

didn't hear or see much activity today..how did the handover go after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Like myself, most of the people posting here on the demo are not members of MAG ( I used to be). Is anyone on the forum a member ?

Pretty sure carsqhere is.

steveone wrote: »
    didn't hear or see much activity today..how did the handover go after?

They had a message on facebook that they got a good turn out of bikes and that Gay took time to chat to everyone at the hand over. It seems to have gone well.

Pretty sure carsqhere is.

I've been a MAG member since about 1999 and joined the board of MAG about 3 years ago.

I wasn't available to attend at the Gay Mitchell meeting myself, but I'm told it was positive & constructive.

Take a look at this headline in the Sunday World today. Is that the best Finn Gillespie could do?? Hardly sends out the right message now, does it?

And the photo is captioned "angry bikers on Dublin's O'Connell Street" :rolleyes:

How are we supposed to win battles against non-bikers when this is what gets written in a bike column for bikers??

2012-09-30221333.jpg