Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal is Best

• 17-11-2005 1:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

Doing a presentation on monday about why Donegal is the Best County in Ireland...so far I've got:
    - Slieve League
    - Town called Muff
    - Most Corrupt Garda
    - Gaeltacht
    - Fantastic Golf Courses
    - Surfing in Bundoran and Inishowen...
    Any others (funny or serious...)??:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

-The national park
    -A place called Cockhill
    -A place called Grania's Gap (spelling?) which is inbetween Cockhill and Muff.
    -The fact that its feckin' MASSSIVE! (is it the biggist county in ireland? not sure..)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Cork's the biggest county in Ireland.

Donegal is also powered pretty much entirely by renewable energy generated within the county.
    There's Grianán Ailleach, the old ring fort.
    Then there's the poison glen which has got to be the coldest place in the country!

• Registered Users Posts: 45,879 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Louise77 wrote:
    why Donegal is the Best County in Ireland....Town called Muff
    Im lost on that one.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

OT: Does Muff still have the Top filling station, where people would go in and buy the keyrings with Top Muff on them?

I'll not even start on the Muff Diving Club! :D

Donegal has a big fishing port in Smellybegs, erm, Killybegs. :)

It has the most northerly Irish point at Malin head

Lots of dodgy roads

Sin é.

Donegal (Carrickfinn) airport, Glenveagh national park, bluestack mountains, Dunlewey (a lovely lovely place), Glencolmcille, (another lovely place) Barnesmore gap including "Biddy's O'Barnes", highest secondry school in Ireland altitude wise - Raphoe VS., Glenties which was a winner in the national tidy towns comp.
    Dont forget people like Daniel O'Donnell, Rory gallagher, Enya, Clannad etc
    Gay Byrne spends his summer time here.

Ah sure the list is endless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

dont forget the town call muff

• Registered Users Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

It's Texaco at Muff now :(

Is someone from Muff called a Muffler ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭jimmeh

shay given!

byte

Ironically, I was in Muff today, though the furthest I went was to a filling station/Mace on the way in. Chauffeur duties brought me there.

"Texaco Muff" just hasn't the same ring to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭bettlebrox

Great Beaches. (Fintra, Rossnowlagh, Murvagh, and more)
    The people!
    Girls with black hair and blue eyes. (not so common once ye leave Eire)
    The way people speak. (How about ye?)
    The accent.
    The Bluestacks.
    Me Mammy! :)
    Bundoran.

Too bad you don't want comments about bad things about Donegal!
    But, here's goes anyway! :D
    Higher unemployment than the rest of Ireland.
    High Housing prices. (at least around Donegal Town).
    The county council's planning permission policy or lack of sometimes (see the awful HUGE building where the cinema used to be, and Paddy's back yard).
    The blight of white ugly bungalows in some of the most scenic spots.
    The rain!
    Bundoran!!

byte

Hah! Murvagh is supposed to be a local secret!! :) Though there is another secret beach not far from it! ;)

As for Bundoran, nah, can't stand the place. Well, apart from the bowling alley and cinema!

House prices in Doonygal Town are expensive compared to Twin Towns or Letterkenny, though that's possibly more to do with the vast amount of construction in the two latter areas.

As for Gruagorm House (Old Cinema), what's wrong with it? Only problem I see is the totally empty ground floor :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Sin scéal eile

Donegal ist great, true, but BUNDORAN????

That place is a kip (although I spent many a night dancing in the Hollyrood Nightclub - ahhh the memories...:) )

My Favourites:

- Port
    - Fintra Strand
    - Glenveagh National Park
    - The Bundoran By-pass
    - All ob the above mentioned (minus Bundoran)
    - Donegal broders on Co. Sligo.

byte

What about Silver Strand in Malinbeg, or is it Malinmore? With the many many steps down to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

2nd deepest port in Ireland - Rathmullens Pier,
    Flight Of the earls - Rathmullen again
    Capture Of Red Hugh O Donnall - Yet again Rathmullen

yeah i'm from rathmullen in case you hadn't guessed!

danniemcq wrote:
    2nd deepest port in Ireland - Rathmullens Pier,
    Flight Of the earls - Rathmullen again
    Capture Of Red Hugh O Donnall - Yet again Rathmullen

yeah i'm from rathmullen in case you hadn't guessed!
    You could have fooled me :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Miss Polaris

and with all that coastline we cant forget the fantastic scuba diving!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 gipo

gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

gipo wrote:
    gardai

haha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Some of the best wreck diving in Ireland.

Donegal ist great, true, but BUNDORAN????

It a great place to contain all the rowdy Northerners during the Summer (or should I call them East-Northerners?) ;) Just joking.

Bundoran got a grand big beach (with a wonderful riptide). :D

Honestly, it's not a bad place to spend an hour or two on a nice day.

byte wrote:
    Hah! Murvagh is supposed to be a local secret!! :) Though there is another secret beach not far from it! ;)
    I can edit my post and call it the Backstrands so none of the tourists will ever find it! :D
    byte wrote:
    House prices in Doonygal Town are expensive compared to Twin Towns or Letterkenny, though that's possibly more to do with the vast amount of construction in the two latter areas.
    A friend of mine was enteraining the sister in Letterkenny a few weeks ago (she lives in Dublin) and she was surprised how much cheaper housing was there compared to Donegal Town (and way cheaper than Dublin but that's not surprising).
    byte wrote:
    As for Gruagorm House (Old Cinema), what's wrong with it? Only problem I see is the totally empty ground floor :(
    It's just so bland and uninspiring in an ugly way, it doesn't blend with the rest of the street. It's style is totally different from any neighbouring building (and will probably look outdated in about 10 years) and it's height dominates that whole section of the street.

I think it's a good example of bad urban planning, in that Donegal Town is a rather pretty town and sticking a new modern looking building splat dab in the middle affects the feel and balance of the town. If you look at many of our mainland European neighbours, buildings like this would not be allowed in an older town center. (I will admit that we all have different tastes and this building doesn't inspire me).

Plus, for many of the tourist that visit Ireland, don't come here to look at office buildings. I think a building of a different design and of lesser height (at least on the main street side) would have been a better fit. And I think building like this should have been kept on the outskirts of town, or further from the town center, or grouped with like buildings.

Plus, there are some rumors about the allowable height of the building that I won't talk about here ...
    Peace wrote:
    Some of the best wreck diving in Ireland.
    First few times I read that I thought it said "best wreck driving in Ireland"! :D

byte

Yeah, true the building is a but ugly and uhm "in your face".

I think the bottom floor has been sold, dunno what will be going in there though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Louise77 wrote:
    Doing a presentation on monday about why Donegal is the Best County in Ireland...so far I've got:
    - Slieve League
    - Town called Muff
    - Most Corrupt Garda
    - Gaeltacht
    - Fantastic Golf Courses
    - Surfing in Bundoran and Inishowen...
    Any others (funny or serious...)??:D

Don't forget, pubs that don't follow the closing time regulations

• Registered Users Posts: 29 MR BIG

errigal mountain, second highest in ireland. em...... oh yeah the dirty club babes! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

- Donegal broders on Co. Sligo.

As it happens, it doesn't. Leitrim is in between, albeit for about 4 or 5 miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Dont forget Smoking in the Pubs after Hours everywhere :D

bennyc wrote:
    Dont forget Smoking in the Pubs after Hours everywhere :D
    Schhh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

R0ot wrote:
    Don't forget, pubs that don't follow the closing time regulations
    Tell me about it still fooked from the holidays:eek: