Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's with all the Anti-Arthur Day campaign ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Wonder how much profit Diageo export out of Ireland every year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

crusher000 wrote: »
    Yes it's a marketing ploy but hay if you have a product and you want to sell what else would you do ?. Lie in a ditch and wait for someone to come along and buy your product ?
    Apparently it's either that or launch an incredibly crass campaign to create a new holiday. I'd like to think though that there's a bit of middle ground between the two

'Arthur's Day' is as artificial an event as the Simpsons' 'Love Day'; the latter is played for laughs but apparently in Ireland we've no problem with a multinational simply inventing a new occasion. All's fair if they get to flog their wares, eh?

Personally I look forward to the day when the cash-for-gold shops band together to launch 'Leprechaun Day', in which we are all encouraged to dress up and dig out any old jewellery for the pawnbrokers. I'm sure the tourists would love to see that
    Germany is famous for it's beerfests and they go on for a week at a time but that's okay
    And they have been ongoing for centuries, typically as local celebrations. Munich's Oktoberfest, for example, has its roots in a royal wedding in 1810. Amazingly, it is possible for an annual event to develop without needing a marketing department to invent it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

People aren't against all the people that fall into "Sure I can go out and have few drinks socially and don't need nannying".

It's the louts drinking themselves into a state(especially on days like this). Fighting, puking, p*ssing and sh*ting all over the streets.

How do we deal with these people?

All well with the "it's all a bit of craic" but images painted of A&E after such binges are sickening. So much crap landing into the laps of Nurses, Doctors and Bouncers. Our hospitals have it bad enough without having to put up with and babysit Ireland's alcoholics.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

whiskeyman wrote: »
    If it takes 750 years for the water in Ballygown to be filtered through calcium-enriched limestone, I think they should market a similar themed day to celebrate this fact.
    Call it 'Calcium-Enriched Limestone Day', and have everyone toast a pint of Ballygowns finest!
    To Calcium Enriched Limestone!!

That'll cut the A&E admissions that day...
    So thats one Calcium-Enriched Limestone on the rocks for you;)

sláinte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

whiskeyman wrote: »
    If it takes 750 years for the water in Ballygown to be filtered through calcium-enriched limestone, I think they should market a similar themed day to celebrate this fact.
    Call it 'Calcium-Enriched Limestone Day', and have everyone toast a pint of Ballygowns finest!
    To Calcium Enriched Limestone!!

That'll cut the A&E admissions that day...

An ironic suggestion given your username :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Get lost Crusty, three cheers for Arthur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

National Shove It Up Me Hoop Day more like.

Am I right? Huh? Wha? Who's With Me?

Can I get a whhaaaaat??

Hoop!

Yeah.

What are we talking about again?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

wuzziwig wrote: »
    Would Crusty and Mike Scott be looking to inject a new lease of life into their flagging careers, I wonder?

A quick look at Christy's gig page and the sold out signs for most gigs would seem to say he doesnt need to boost his career.

Christy has always been this type of person,supporting the Dun Laoighaire Baths,playing concerts in his hometown to raise funds for the local homeless shelter,afri etc

Whether you like his music or not,its just good to see that there is still performers that like to do their bit for something they support.

This being Ireland if people like him were not involved then some would bash them for being locked away celebs

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Reekwind wrote: »
    Apparently it's either that or launch an incredibly crass campaign to create a new holiday. I'd like to think though that there's a bit of middle ground between the two

'Arthur's Day' is as artificial an event as the Simpsons' 'Love Day'; the latter is played for laughs but apparently in Ireland we've no problem with a multinational simply inventing a new occasion. All's fair if they get to flog their wares, eh?

Personally I look forward to the day when the cash-for-gold shops band together to launch 'Leprechaun Day', in which we are all encouraged to dress up and dig out any old jewellery for the pawnbrokers. I'm sure the tourists would love to see that

And they have been ongoing for centuries, typically as local celebrations. Munich's Oktoberfest, for example, has its roots in a royal wedding in 1810. Amazingly, it is possible for an annual event to develop without needing a marketing department to invent it

Well while we're on about crass campaigns creating holidays lets look at Christmas, Valentines and Easter to pick but a few , Didn't see much about Easter eggs or cards in the bible with two of the above, but bombarded with advertising, Christmas adverts started already and all that cheap booze buying before Christmas Day where is Christie's song about this. I'm not defending Diageo but it's okay for some to make a buck on holidays, they create a new day and we're all rightgeous. As for alcohol and past times in Ireland, I was at a showjumping event recently in Germany guess what I could get in abundance , yes alcohol and lot's off it everywhere (lock up the kids jaysus) went to a take away out there that night at 2:00 am in the morning guess what I could buy ? Alcohol bottled (in glass not plastic) or on draught. But then the Germans are mature and we're not. That's why we have to lock our drink away in our cabinets at home in case the children sample it and turn into drink raving pyschos.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

some of the comments about christy moore and mike scott are hateful and really reflect the scum mindset of those who make the snipes.

both are talented musicians having presence for over 50 years each in the music industry.

hey snipers , have you been at the top of your games for so long?
    or do you just make cheap shots at folk along the way?

pathetic

on the subject of arthurs day , ill take the few free pints and a bit of music , other than that , you can stick arthurs day up your arse

• Registered Users Posts: 20,410 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Okay this seems to be building more and more. So let me say 1. I am a drinker and 2. I have never celebrated Arthurs Day.

Christy Moore and The WaterBoys have brought out seperate songs against Arthur Day. Yes it's a marketing ploy but hay if you have a product and you want to sell what else would you do ?. Lie in a ditch and wait for someone to come along and buy your product ? Germany is famous for it's beerfests and they go on for a week at a time but that's okay. Like it or not if tourists give reasons why the visit Ireland one of the reasons will be to drink the Guiness. Not all tourists come here for that but some do. The day can get messy and we've seen the pictures in the paper and clips on youtube.

So why the big campaign now against Guiness ?

The marketing of it as a national holiday.

• Administrators Posts: 53,438 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    some of the comments about christy moore and mike scott are hateful and really reflect the scum mindset of those who make the snipes.

both are talented musicians having presence for over 50 years each in the music industry.

hey snipers , have you been at the top of your games for so long?
    or do you just make cheap shots at folk along the way?

pathetic

on the subject of arthurs day , ill take the few free pints and a bit of music , other than that , you can stick arthurs day up your arse

I think you've missed the point completely. Moore couldn't handle the drink, he needs to realise that not everyone is incapable of handling it.

He should stick to singing his wee country tunes, and leave the attention seeking nonsense out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Arthur Day is just the weekly winge this week. Last week video games. They just need anything to keep them going until the 15 of October and they'll have a field day. If the government taxed wingers and moaners we would make bank

• Registered Users Posts: 19,061 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I would have thought the objection in this Country was about the fact that Guinness is no longer truly 'an Irish' drink??

awec wrote: »
    I think you've missed the point completely. Moore couldn't handle the drink, he needs to realise that not everyone is incapable of handling it.

He should stick to singing his wee country tunes, and leave the attention seeking nonsense out of it.

cretinous comment!

as far as i know he has admitted alcoholism.

i dont think i need to document the tragedy that such a disease can inflict on a person and their loved ones.

so he has a different view on the drinking culture in ireland and decides to voice his opinions, whats wrong with that?

is it because his opinion doesnt agree with yours?
    50 years of his talent brushed aside because he voices an opinion?

wow!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Because we celebrate it as a national day, a day of getting drunk for no reason whatsoever! We have no national day of some kind for the things that matter in our history. We get stupid comments about the "Drunken Irish" which we try to dismiss, then we make a day like this. Nothing wrong with having a few at a weekend or the like, but a national day to a drinks company that are no longer even based in Ireland? It is great to have music and the like promoted, but it shouldn't be by making ourselves seem like absolute alcoholics.

I for one am sick of A&E's being riddled in stupidly drunk people wasting very valuable resources, and I am sick of the dirty "Drunken Irish" comments by some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Because we celebrate it as a national day, a day of getting drunk for no reason whatsoever! We have no national day of some kind for the things that matter in our history. We get stupid comments about the "Drunken Irish" which we try to dismiss, then we make a day like this. Nothing wrong with having a few at a weekend or the like, but a national day to a drinks company that are no longer even based in Ireland? It is great to have music and the like promoted, but it shouldn't be by making ourselves seem like absolute alcoholics.

I for one am sick of A&E's being riddled in stupidly drunk people wasting very valuable resources, and I am sick of the dirty "Drunken Irish" comments by some.

You seem angry

wolfpawnat wrote: »

Spoilsport

Well while we're on about crass campaigns creating holidays lets look at Christmas, Valentines and Easter to pick but a few , Didn't see much about Easter eggs or cards in the bible with two of the above, but bombarded with advertising, Christmas adverts started already and all that cheap booze buying before Christmas Day where is Christie's song about this
    Have you never sat through a mass about the commercialisation of Christmas or read a paper bemoaning the cost of Easter or Valentines? Those are exactly the sort of conversations that happen; albeit often from an awful moralising standpoint. Arthur's Day is this process taken to a new level: actually inventing a new holiday

The fact that Coca-Cola and Hallmark have effectively reshaped those ancient holidays (and Chaucer was writing about Valentines long before the invention of the greeting card) shouldn't give every other company licence to do the same. Otherwise every weekend will become 'Buy X Day'

Essentially it boils down to a company creating what should be a natural/organic development. If people had spontaneously started gathering around to drink Guinness on the 26 Sept, then fine. But the idea of a national holiday being dreamt up on a flipchart in a boardroom... that's not right. It's an attempt to fabricate a national holiday and commercialise just a little bit more of the nation's public space
    As for alcohol and past times in Ireland, I was at a showjumping event recently in Germany guess what I could get in abundance , yes alcohol and lot's off it everywhere (lock up the kids jaysus) went to a take away out there that night at 2:00 am in the morning guess what I could buy ? Alcohol bottled (in glass not plastic) or on draught. But then the Germans are mature and we're not. That's why we have to lock our drink away in our cabinets at home in case the children sample it and turn into drink raving pyschos.
    I'm not fussed about drinking habits per se but a festival that does nothing but promote Guinness? Is that really needed in Ireland? We've hard enough time shaking off that stereotype of the drunken bogger as it is

Mind you, reading some of the comments in this thread (particularly those regarding Moore) and you've got to figure that maybe there is a mental gap between the Germans and the Irish. Perhaps we get the 'holidays' we deserve

everlast75 wrote: »
    I would have thought the objection in this Country was about the fact that Guinness is no longer truly 'an Irish' drink??

What product in this country is truly Irish ?. Apart from beef.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

tin79 wrote: »
    You seem angry

No, just sick of the "Ah you Drunken Irish" jibes and knowing that A&E's across Ireland are full of "Well I only had a few". Other than that, I couldn't care less. If people did drink responsibly on the day, just what they themselves can handle and had a good time then great, if not, it becomes a problem, for them and those who have to deal with their drunken stupidness.
    Spoilsport

Not saying get rid of the day, just that people need to cop on and drink responsibly, whatever that means for them personally.

• Administrators Posts: 53,438 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    cretinous comment!

as far as i know he has admitted alcoholism.

i dont think i need to document the tragedy that such a disease can inflict on a person and their loved ones.

so he has a different view on the drinking culture in ireland and decides to voice his opinions, whats wrong with that?

is it because his opinion doesnt agree with yours?
    5 years of his talent brushed aside because he voices an opinion?

wow!

His preaching to people is daft. Many people can enjoy a drink and are able to know when enough is enough. Christy Moore needs to realise this - not everyone is like him. Give it a rest, and go back to singing about wee villages down the country.

I also couldn't give two sh!tes about his talent either, having talent doesn't mean you are immune from criticism. :)

Though, I do find the outrage from you about people criticising Moore for just voicing an opinion hiliarious given that you've called people "scum" and "cretinous" for disagreeing with you and him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Truly Irish, pork products?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Maybe I'm outside of their demographic and don't get drawn in.

One or two pints no good to me.

Sounds like you've been well drawn in already.

German beerfests usually feature more than one beer from one brewer.

This is central.

It's just disappointing that a whole nation, when told by a drinks company to go out on a particular day and buy their drinks, will not only do as they're told, like lemmings, but be so grateful for the instruction that they'll congratulate each other all day about it.

Though, I do find the outrage from you about people criticising Moore for just voicing an opinion hiliarious given that you've called people "scum" and "cretinous" for disagreeing with you and him.
    I'm assuming that the latter comments were directed against those morons who equate alcoholism with just being "unable to handle a drink". Telling someone to shut up because they've had alcohol problems isn't particularly classy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Siucra?

Its name is even spelled in Irish!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,961 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Yes it's a marketing ploy but hay if you have a product and you want to sell what else would you do ?.
    Well, cheaper Guinness on the day would help ... while I'm not strongly against it, I can't forget that Diageo is a multinational corporation, and everything about the day seems to be aimed at their bottom line. They try to make it sound like they're "giving something back", but it's all take and no give. That's my problem with it: the hypocrisy.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Reekwind wrote: »
    I'm assuming that the latter comments were directed against those morons who equate alcoholism with just being "unable to handle a drink". Telling someone to shut up because they've had alcohol problems isn't particularly classy

It was more of, because you had problems with something, doesn't mean everyone else will have problems with the same thing.

His preaching to people is daft. Many people can enjoy a drink and are able to know when enough is enough. Christy Moore needs to realise this - not everyone is like him. Give it a rest, and go back to singing about wee villages down the country.

I also couldn't give two sh!tes about his talent either, having talent doesn't mean you are immune from criticism. :)

no im calling people cretinous and scum for making snidey comments about two of irelands most talented musicians , these childish swipes appear to be because he has voiced an opinion that some disagree with.
    both musicians have enjoyed enormous success and have their songs ingrained into the irish psyche.

to suggest they are nothing more than country pub crooners is ludicrous so do criticise away at moore and scott but do try to back these claims up or else i can only surmise your talking through your backside.