Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blogger meets his Troll

• Registered Users Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I'd say it was that heavy metal music that was to blame.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

bluewolf wrote: »
    The third location was a friends house.

The Troll was his son. His 17yr old son.

How'd he know it wasn't his friend himself or wife or whatever? I mean even if you buy the "tracked it down to his house" thing.

The son admitted to it. It's not a strictly chronological account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Linoge wrote: »
    I think the whole thing would have been more realistic if in the end he hacked and took control of the troll's computer and kept writing "I love cock" on his FB page.

"When you have a problem and you need help, you can call on The A-Team Anonymous!" :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

unimaginative justice porn,

Nail on head.

Story is bullsh1t. There were at least 3 people living in the "troll's" house. Yet he goes to his father when at that point in theory it could just as easily been the father who was doing it?

Would have been a better story if it was the father and he paid the son off to take the blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Considering my knowledge of programming consists of having seen Swordfish once I was willing to accept that an IP address could be tracked like in the article but since everyone has cleared that up it is starting to look a bit more fanciful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

I'm a little sceptical that he left it at that.... I know for sure I probably would have battered the crap out of him, as many others would have. That's some messed up sh!t.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 CallingYouOut

Couldn't resist this one is too easy! Nice work of fiction.
    People kept asking me 'Why you? Why would these guys want to have a go at you?' I couldn't answer them other than it was a couple of random nutters who didn't appreciate my political views or ethnic origins. Or even someone who couldn't solve my cryptic crosswords!

I don't know of anyone who gets that frustrated over cryptic crosswords.
    In July I was approached by a friend, who's basically an IT genius, and he offered some help. He said that he could trace the hackers and trolls for me using perfectly legal technology, which would lead to their IP addresses. I said yes. Then I baited them - I was deliberately more provocative toward them than ever I'd been before.

Sounds completely illegal, the only way you'd be getting IP addresses is via the host site. Your blog is hosted by blogspot, twitter private server, google private server. Unless your IT genius contacted one of these companies on your behalf I struggle to see how you got these IP addresses.
    It transpired that the abuse had emanated from three separate IP addresses in different corners of Ireland. Two of them were public wifi locations but the third....

The third location was the interesting one.

The third location was a friends house.

The Troll was his son. His 17yr old son.

Now someone's been watching a little too much CSI. As anyone with an ounce of IT information knows IP addresses don't link to locations. Don't believe me? Google your IP and post it in here(http://cqcounter.com/whois/). If your lucky in Ireland it will link to the county you live in. Not a street address. Not an estate.
    I spoke to my friend at length. He told me how his son was always glued to his laptop, tablet or smartphone. How he couldn't watch a TV show without tweeting about it simultaneously. About how he'd become engrossed in conspiracy sites. It also became clear that the other two IP addresses had been used by his son.

Tecnology and conspiracy's! The youth today! Can't watch good ould brainwashing tv! Make note that he is friends with the father in this paragraph
    A couple of days after that conversation I met my friend, his wife and their son in a quiet and discreet location. The son, The Troll who almost driven me mad, was totally unaware that I'd be joining them.

Sounds like he's meeting up with a top secret agent or something, why didn't he just go to his friends house.
    We had a chat. I told them about my wife and son. I told them about my recent illnesses and bereavements and about the builders having been in. I asked after their business and asked The Troll how college is going. All bright and breezy and a trip down memory lane. Then The Troll's Dad tipped me the wink and I opened my bag and took out my manila folder.

Wierd wording, told "them" about my wife and son. If he's friends with the father shouldn't the wife know this? It should be "I told him"
    I showed The Troll's mother and father screengrabs and printouts of his handiwork.

I showed them pictures of ashes and dead flowers.

I pointed out that one of the messages my wife received wishing me dead had arrived when I actually was gravely ill.

Wouldn't the parents have already seen this to have such a meeting? Especially the father? Leaving that aside this is the first time being gravely ill was mentioned. Sympathy parade!
    Then it happened...

The Troll burst into tears. His dad gently restraining him from leaving the table.

I put my hand on his shoulder and asked him "Why?"

The Troll sat there for a moment and said "I don't know. I don't know. I'm sorry. It was like a game thing."

A game thing.

So, that's what it was...

The Troll's mother said "If you want to call the Garda we'll support you in that. I'm ashamed of him."

This doesn't add up at all, read everything else in the story and you expect him to meet someone with serious racial issues. But no, this was all "a game". The mother is also ashamed now, previously she was horrified but not surprised. His dad "gently restraining" him just seems weird too.
    I responded: "I'm not criminalizing a 17 year old kid and ruining his future. But I will write about it - and you must all guarantee me that he'll go and see a counsellor about this or I will go legal on you."

Then I got up to leave. I looked The Troll in the eye and said "Stand up."

He stood. I said " Look at me. I'm a middle aged man with a limp and a wheeze and a son and a wife that I love. I'm not just a little avatar of an eye. You're better than this. You have a name of your own. Be proud of it. Don't hide it again and I won't ruin it if you play ball with your parents. Now shake hands."

"I'm sorry." he said, and looked like he meant it. "Thanks for giving me a break dude."

Then we shook on it.

And that is how I came to shake the hand of a troll.

I'm not criminalising a 17 year old kid, but $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ caching ching ching!

Also if we take a look at the website http://www.traynorseye.com/ not one article has a single comment. Also on http://www.traynorseye.com/2012/04/views-of-my-employer.html he makes this comment:
    What is the point of this post? I'll tell you. Some weeks ago, one of my many confused opinions seems to have very seriously upset someone. In one 24 hour period there were over 100 hacking attempts on my Twitter, Facebook and Gmail accounts as well as on my old Wordpress blog. None were successful and if any had have been then the perpetrators would probably have died from boredom.

Again how can he know there was over 100 hacking attempts to these services when they sure as hell wouldn't let you know if there was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's all true.

I am that 17 year old boy.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's all true.

I am that 17 year old boy.

Do you still like chocolate chip cookies?

Want to meet in a discreet location later?

>_>

<_<

>_>

<_<

HAH! Sucker!

Now that you've responded to my post I've tracked your IP and will soon own your bank account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

As stories go it's not bad though.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Because I don;t know anything about ISP etc I initially believed...I was hoodwinked!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

HAH! Sucker!

Now that you've responded to my post I've tracked your IP and will soon own your bank account.

Careful, he'll hack you and change your hair colour.

Just say his friend did work in an ISP though and illegally traced it for him, then could it be possible?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Just say his friend did work in an ISP though and illegally traced it for him, then could it be possible?

If he wanted to risk his job and possibly prosecution... maybe, AFAIR.

>_>

<_<

HAH! Sucker!

Damn you Nigerian Prince! On the upside, at least you're not Chris Hansen! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I don't think I can believe even one word of that.

The whole thing reads like the sort of sermon a trendy vicar who makes up a completely unprovable story to demonstrate crowbar in some point he wants to make about Jesus.

If I had to pick a specific piece of bull**** it would have to be the "perfectly legal technology, which would lead to their IP addresses".
    There are ways to trace traffic back to an end point IP address of course, but none of these are easy and you still have the problem of matching the IP address to the postal address. I would imagine you would need access to UPC's customer records for this which surely can't be legal can it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Maybe he followed a Trollhunter to find the kid, just like in that Norwegian documentary about the trollhunter from a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I'm sure he wont do it again, after all, he was made to look into someones eyes and then shake their hand,

I would sooner do 20yrs in solitary than have to do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Sounds completely illegal, the only way you'd be getting IP addresses is via the host site. Your blog is hosted by blogspot, twitter private server, google private server. Unless your IT genius contacted one of these companies on your behalf I struggle to see how you got these IP addresses.

No, there's perfectly legal ways to do it.
    Depends on whether the site allows you to add images to their pages by pointing to an external image URL or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

stmol32 wrote: »
    I don't think I can believe even one word of that.

The whole thing reads like the sort of sermon a trendy vicar who makes up a completely unprovable story to demonstrate crowbar in some point he wants to make about Jesus.

If I had to pick a specific piece of bull**** it would have to be the "perfectly legal technology, which would lead to their IP addresses".
    There are ways to trace traffic back to an end point IP address of course, but none of these are easy and you still have the problem of matching the IP address to the postal address. I would imagine you would need access to UPC's customer records for this which surely can't be legal can it?

Jesus loves us all..........yes, even the trolls & the boring bloggers :)

He would not only have to cross reference the public IP address with the account details, but would've had to correlate what times posts to facebook were made from that IP address, and Facebook and Google don't give out that info to Joe "the IT genius" Soap, that IP address is only a public IP address so even with a fake website set-up, will give you only info about the ISP and not the individual.

I cannot think of any "perfectly legal" way of obtaining a customer's personal data without a court order.

Probably got Sandra Bullock to do it for him.

My pop-cultural references are so up to date!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

waaah twitter n stuff...

Probably got Sandra Bullock to do it for him.

My pop-cultural references are so up to date!

How could you forget a young Angelina Jolie in Hackers? :eek:

More IT buzzwords than you could shake a memory stick at! :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There's a perfectly legal way of getting someone's address and IP address. Simply create a questionnaire with two questions asking the user's address and IP address.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Hey I just tried to leave a comment on his blog and it wouldn't let me.
    It just kept saying the captcha didn't match even thouggh it definitely did.

I didn't want to be post anything nasty like concentration camps are brill or anything just what I had already posted here.

Is this a bit suspicious? I think I'll backtrace his ethernet using the routed firewall, that'll learn him.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I'm going with bull**** on this one.

A very sombre tail of sympathy grabbing and probably hoping to keep the trolls away. I had a read of the guys blog, and there is nothing controversial of any sort, so I don't even know why this guy is popular enough to have trolls.

Looks like maybe a little something to boost hits, as his site traffic has shot up since that post, and oddly enough its appeared on a few forums I read....

I was dealing with trolls before Twitter was even invented, and was subjected to some pretty intensive bullying. I didn't genuinely care, as I was in the professional gaming world for a few years and it was just the norm. Then out of the blue I got a pretty horrendous e-mail with some vile sutff, deaths threats and threats to my family, simply because I had given a bad review to his " favourite player"

The Guards were very interested and liased with the British police where the actually mail came from and the young fella was put into youth correction.

So I'm also calling bull**** on the Guards not being interested, there are numerous procedures for how they deal with internet based threats.

Turns out this guy isn't half fond of bigging himself up-

http://www.traynorseye.com/2012/08/men-of-letters.html
    I bumped into my postman today. Lovely guy. Always has a smile and some banter with me. We had a brief chat that's well worth recording.

"Was that a letter from you in The Irish Times last week?" he asks.

"Yup. What did you think?" I reply.

"Very good. I'd be in agreement with you." says he.

"Glad to hear it!" says I.

"I didn't realise you were a doctor. Never seen it on your letters. Are you working in one of the hospitals or are you a GP?" he enquires.

"Neither, thank goodness - I'm not a medical doctor. I seldom mention it. Only on CV's and letters to the paper really."

"What sort of a doctor are you, if you don't mind me asking?"

"I did a doctorate in Political Science and International Relations. Not much use to be honest."

"Jaysus. You're right there. It's not a doctor politics in this country needs. It's a f**king undertaker!"

Can't argue with that...

knob! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

'Blogger meets his Troll' automatically converts to 'Bog roll' in my mind every time I see it!