Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

John Peel - his influence on music is incalculable, and still sorely missed.

Amen to that - there's a nice tribute to John Peel available on the BBC Music Player for the next four weeks. (It can by streamed legally in both the UK and Ireland)

It's a massive 2 1/2 hours incorporating several archive programmes. The first 30 minutes with John Peel's Widow Sheila giving Jarvis Cocker a tour of Peel Towers is lovely.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04lstp5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I wonder does Edge's head ever get itchy in that hat?

I really, really hate when the first thing someone from any other country says to me is about f*ckin Guinness.

Adam sounds like such a Northsider.

Oh, man, I love this Big Bill Broonzy stuff!

Highlight of the night for me. Acoustic Blues magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,548 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

What are all you guys watching :confused:

I - probably the only person on the planet who actually likes Abba muzak - forgot about the bloody Abba evening :mad:

But just tuned in to BBC4 to find a discotastic extravaganza just starting - it's brilliant! Very tempted to ramp the volume up to the top and wake the neighbours' children!

I struggle badly with Abba.

Watching Jools on BBC2.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I struggle badly with Abba.

Watching Jools on BBC2.
    Well if it's any help, it's over now, you're safe!

This disco dancing has me exhausted just looking at it - and it's only 10 minutes in :eek:

I'm now conflicted, want to watch both this AND Jools!

U2 on Jools, doing same tune as on LLS earlier. I think.

Yeah, switched over to see some lad screaming into his mic.... thankfully that was the end of it.

Despite my antipathy to all things U2 in general, I'm kinda impressed by this song.

Now can't believe I just said that!

What I absolutely love about Jools is how he doesn't grovel over or adore any of his guests.

Now, he may have grovelled over them earlier (I was having a Sopranos night here, bit late to the party), but the fact that after that song he said something along the lines of "delighted to have them on the show - U2" as he walked away - classy stuff, Jools!!!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Yeah, switched over to see some lad screaming into his mic.... thankfully that was the end of it.

Despite my antipathy to all things U2 in general, I'm kinda impressed by this song.

Now can't believe I just said that!

Saw them on the LLS earlier, certainly warmed to them a bit more.

Those shouting fellas (Slaves or something) weren't to my taste.

What are all you guys watching :confused:

I - probably the only person on the planet who actually likes Abba muzak - forgot about the bloody Abba evening :mad:

But just tuned in to BBC4 to find a discotastic extravaganza just starting - it's brilliant! Very tempted to ramp the volume up to the top and wake the neighbours' children!

I quite like Abba, although three programmes in a row is a bit too much for me!

They are all repeated on Sunday from Midnight, if you can record them. Edit: or they are on again tonight from 1am until 4am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Disco at the BBC! /squeal

D-I-S-C-NO if you ask me.

Ceilí good, Disco bad :D (only messing)

I like unusual musical collaborations ... I saw this one during the week - Elvis Costello, Jools Holland, most of All Saints, Damon Hill(!) and Nick Mason and friends perform Stand By Me for Comic Relief.

Skid X wrote: »
    Ceilí good, Disco bad :D (only messing)

Tá an cheart agat! Feckin Bearla.

Intersting night, I like U2 more now than I did before, but not their tunes.

I think part of it it because of that silly Explorer guitar Edge used to use.

Well feck yiz all!

It's now 2.15am, Abba are in full flow, and I can't quite tear myself away (despite knowing it'll be repeated, and anyway I could always record it).

I'd forgotten how bloody addictive they are!

Oh my goodness, the close-up shots of the bad teeth :eek:

Something you just don't see these days - ever!

Can't remember the real-life chronology of the songs, but Agnetha definitely had hers done before the video of Money Money Money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I can't help thinking that Agnetha's affair with her stalker gives plenty of hope to stalkers everywhere.

I'm not sure whether :D or :eek: is an appropriate response to that!

Funny that when I was a very young thing growing up to this soundtrack, I always assumed that Anni-Frid was the "lead" singer/band member. Looking at it now (a horrible amount of years later) it's clear that if anyone was a "lead" it was Agnetha..... How did I get that impression I wonder?

Who needs sight-seeing when you're married to Agnetha?? :pac:

I'm not sure whether :D or :eek: is an appropriate response to that!

Funny that when I was a very young thing growing up to this soundtrack, I always assumed that Anni-Frid was the "lead" singer/band member. Looking at it now (a horrible amount of years later) it's clear that if anyone was a "lead" it was Agnetha..... How did I get that impression I wonder?

Anni-Frid was more the matriarchal type who blended into the background. Agnetha drove the group. Nobody would've been interested in Abba if it weren't for Agnetha.....

Well clearly you wouldn't!

I'm thinking I must have dentified with Anni-Frid as a fellow brunette..... can't think what else it might have been, but she was definitely the main one back then for me.

Amazing how different it is looking at things (as shown to us by BBC, mind you) now.

Jaysus, for such a "sophisticated" race of people, Swedish music was a bit shyte. It kind of explains Ace of Base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

Never thought I'd say this but the Satus Quo acoustic concert on the red button is fuppin good. Nice acoustic reworking of their songs using violins, accordion and backing singers.

Nice little programme on Sky Arts at the moment called Anarchy in Manchester.
    It has archive interviews and live performances from Tony Wilson's old Granada programme 'So It Goes'

Next week features Elvis Costello, The Jam and The Tom Robinson Band (Wednesday 11pm, repeated Friday 11pm & 3.05am)

http://www.sky.com/tv/show/anarchy-in-manchester/episodes

http://www.locatetv.com/tv/anarchy-in-manchester/8816715

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,499 ✭✭✭cml387

Skid X wrote: »
    Nice little programme on Sky Arts at the moment called Anarchy in Manchester.
    It has archive interviews and live performances from Tony Wilson's old Granada programme 'So It Goes'

Next week features Elvis Costello, The Jam and The Tom Robinson Band (Wednesday 11pm, repeated Friday 11pm & 3.05am)

http://www.sky.com/tv/show/anarchy-in-manchester/episodes

http://www.locatetv.com/tv/anarchy-in-manchester/8816715

Sky Arts have a few interesting programs for us folks. They run a Classic Albums series which we've probably all seen but still.. today it was "London Calling".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,303 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Cream bassist Jack Bruce has died aged 71.

RIP Jack

The Dooleys!

This was Andy Peebles first ever TOTP presenting gig, and he was so wooden they didn't ask him back for another 3 years.

Now we're talking :)

Oh, to have a drink with Nile Rodgers!

I bet he has an anecdote or two (million)!

Oh, to have a drink with Nile Rodgers!

I bet he has an anecdote or two (million)!

I agree, I don't think I would ever get bored of hearing him talk about music. Seems like a sound man too.

My god

Sweet fcuk a song about Luton Airport! :O

efb wrote: »
    Sweet fcuk a song about Luton Airport! :O

It was a piss take of this ad, which people remember and made Lorraine Chase a big name.

I don't understand it either, strange times.

As I closed the garden gate I was really in a state
    Suitcase in each hand and no transport
    The taxi should have been there
    He said he was on the way
    I thought if he don't hurry up i'll miss me holiday
    Finally he turned up and I told him what I thought
    Then to my surprise he said sod it you can walk
    I had to show a bit of leg, cause time was running out
    And a geezer stopped and said
    "Hop in I can take you out to Luton Airport"
    Oooowe ooooo Luton Airport (x3)

When we landed in Majorca I was much the worse for wear
    But with those romantic nights ahead I really didn't care
    I checked in to the hotel it must have been four star all those dolly geezers in white suits liggin round the bar
    I settled in quite nicely the sun was really strong
    An there they where all pullin birds an I thought it won't be long
    Sure enough he turns up thinkin he's quite skiv you won't believe it he's the bloke who offered me a lift to
    Luton Airport
    Ooooowe ooooo Luton Airport (x3)

We had our little romance, we had our little fling
    Two weeks in Majorca an he wants to buy a ring
    Then I thought he'd left me at the airport on me own but it turns out he's the captain of the plane thats going out to
    Luton Airport
    Oooowe ooooo Luton Airport (x3)

It's alright being chatted up my heart it turns to jelly
    They even think that I'm the girl, the one thats on the telly they say "Look in to my eyes darlin, are you from paradise?"
    Well I tell em don't I "NO MATE, LUTON AIRPORT"

Oooowe oooo Luton airport (repeat to fade)

Dana :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Argh! Dana!

Reverse! Reverse!

Sultry Dana- shudders...

Stupid Hot Dana ... I want to remember her as a wee girl winning Eurovision and as an oddball continually not being elected President. And nowhere inbetween.

Getting a good drum sound out of that chair :D

Dudes!

TOTP 2 on BBC2!

Come on! Gloria Estefan! Cuba me up, darlin'!

Yeah! Beastie Boys! Love it!

I preferred Lolly's version.

Viva Lolly.

Yeah, ****e news, that was.

Less sombre...

Oh Mickey you're so fine, you're so fine you blow my mind!

I quite like this Doves tune. Great TOTP, this.