Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

KC Lunch Time on Today FM

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Not a bad show.But not a great show.The only 2 bits i laughed for were the mario bit aswell as the "we speak Cork" bit with the over-tones!
    Too much Indy Music IMO and no Real funny Skits or Laugh out loud moments.Even the listener interaction parts weren't great IMO the finish the sentence bit too win the iPad was a cluster F**K/Messy part that KC himself seemed unsure of and the peoples playlist cut from 3 songs down too 2 didnt get enough of a mention or build up i thought.Now I know its only the first show and Foleys show will be hard too top BUT KC and Lenny were much much funnier on The Rooster in Cork!

Todays show was two and a half hours long & you're comparing it to a show that was on for six and half years. Give it a chance.

For a first day show it was pretty good in fairness.They sounded a bit nervous at times but that's to be expected. I thought the Muse interview was excellent, the cash bingo game with that bird was really good - Mario ( yeah on a bit too much) but the character thing in 60 seconds was seriously funny. I HATE "The Overtones" but they knocked great craic out of them,asking the Cork lad about the a "langer bar in his mouth" was L.O.L.

And ... Music was excellent !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

LeakyGee wrote: »
    Todays show was two and a half hours long & you're comparing it to a show that was on for six and half years. Give it a chance.

For a first day show it was pretty good in fairness.They sounded a bit nervous at times but that's to be expected. I thought the Muse interview was excellent, the cash bingo game with that bird was really good - Mario ( yeah on a bit too much) but the character thing in 60 seconds was seriously funny. I HATE "The Overtones" but they knocked great craic out of them,asking the Cork lad about the a "langer bar in his mouth" was L.O.L.

And ... Music was excellent !!

Well thats your opinion not mine!The music was FAR too indie for my likeing....Now im not saying i want the top 40 on repeat either but somewhere in the middle would be nice...

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭Flange/Flanders

Well thats your opinion not mine!The music was FAR too indie for my likeing....Now im not saying i want the top 40 on repeat either but somewhere in the middle would be nice...

Have to agree, especially where the show is sandwiched in between Darcy and Fenton. Darcy plays alright songs sometimes and a decent mix but then talks so much crap and as we all know, Fenton plays about 4 different songs....ever!!! So a decent mix from KC would be nice.

Think I'll get pretty bored with his interviews as well, 2 in one day is a bit much. 2 in a week is a bit much. Especially if, like me, you've no interest in Muse or have never heard of the overtones.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I think it's important for KC to change his music selections from the night time show.

As much as I love the more indie stuff, a midday audience is vastly different to an evening audience. If you're listening to radio in the evening, chances are you've got a fairly good interest in music, whereas listening at midday you're more than likely just an average Joe looking for more mainstream stuff.

It'll be interesting to see whether he gets the balance right.

Disagree with a previous poster about his interviews though. He generally gets the best out of his guests and I think it's great to introduce people to bands they might not have heard before. But I would agree that two a day is too much.

On an unrelated note, the webcams still don't seem to be working. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

what kind of interview is this with c moran. its like a darcy interview. shes trying to be funny but its plan boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

KC has played AC/DC, Elbow and The Clash now... what the **** is Tony Fenton going to do?! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭ofcork

I enjoy KCs choice of music,he always seems to pull good tunes out of the bag.Wonder will he play some dance on fridays,on the show not bad so far but need a few weeks to see where its going.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

enjoying the music but any interaction with Lenny is just crap. KC was better on his own anytime he was filling in for Foley.

Juliette Gash's french accent is sexy as hell. Carry on. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

talking about i phones for 5 or so mins. it quiet boring, talk about it during adds. not the type of thing most listeners are interested in.
    when ray and jp used to chat on air it was funny and pure messing, never boring

Just off the phone too Lenny

My peoples playlist tomorow at 2 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

A total bore. Talking to a caller today about football bets, desperately trying to make small talk. Not the same craic as Ray and JP were with callers which is surprising because I heard good things about KC.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

The constant comparisons to Ray and JP are worrying to me.

Ye have to realise that Foley and KC are very different presenters. KC has the craic in a kind of a chilled out nothing too serious way, whereas Foley and his team are all very "Ha-Ha Funny" (depending on your view).

I think you have to look at the show completely separately and not compare it to what came before. It was never going to be a straight continuation of a Foley style show with KC replacing Foley.

Personally I would also cut him some slack given that it's his first week in the slot, with a new producer. He was audibly nervous on Monday during the first link, and I think it could take a week or two for him to fully adjust.

TL;DR, some of the criticism here over the week has been a bit harsh considering he's just after moving to a new slot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    The constant comparisons to Ray and JP are worrying to me.

Ye have to realise that Foley and KC are very different presenters. KC has the craic in a kind of a chilled out nothing too serious way, whereas Foley and his team are all very "Ha-Ha Funny" (depending on your view).

I think you have to look at the show completely separately and not compare it to what came before. It was never going to be a straight continuation of a Foley style show with KC replacing Foley.

Personally I would also cut him some slack given that it's his first week in the slot, with a new producer. He was audibly nervous on Monday during the first link, and I think it could take a week or two for him to fully adjust.

TL;DR, some of the criticism here over the week has been a bit harsh considering he's just after moving to a new slot.

Agreed. I would also like to point out to people that they are probably letting themselves in for big disappointment if they are going to be expecting dance songs tomorrow.

That's not KC's style. I'm nearly glad of it too. Foley often played maybe one or two good dance songs of a Friday, but most of it was overly cheesey crap in my honest opinion.

Give KC a month to settle in before you start to slate him. :)

Im hoping he will play some dance tomorrow,enjoying the show so far as wasnt expecting foley mark 2.

Plenty of Dance today!

Out of curiosity, have they been doing podcasts?

(I know I could check, but my connection is painfully slow when it comes to iTunes. :o)

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Plenty of Dance today!

Not half enough,right after week 1 im a bit meh about the show,to me its just another radio show now whereas foley was totally different to any other but will persevere coz the alternatives arent great.

Have to say I'm enjoying the show! By Tuesday I was still missing Foley tbh but Wednesday on I've just been embracing it and today I thought it was a very good show. Loved the bit of MC Hammer at the end, I prefer that sort of 'cheese' to the Lazy Radio variety. Also enjoying Adele being back, far more than I thought I would, she was my least favourite (not in a bad way) of the Foley crew. Just need Lenny to open up a bit more and they'll be flying!

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭homer.j

Really enjoying KC's style/selection of music all the week. I was suprised that Lenny has been quiet for the most part though.

Hopefully this is just due to it being their first week on and only settling in to the new show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

I'v been out of the office most of the week so haven't got to listen. The shows I've heard so far have been average at best. Not very engaging.

I hope they get better.

They listen back function on TodayFM.com has no feature for friday??Darcy n Fentons is up tho??

Let me guess, they have an option for Sunday?

Someone probably just lazily transferred his nighttime show feed over and changed the time that the recordings are extracted to the site.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Have to say I'm enjoying the show! By Tuesday I was still missing Foley tbh but Wednesday on I've just been embracing it and today I thought it was a very good show. Loved the bit of MC Hammer at the end, I prefer that sort of 'cheese' to the Lazy Radio variety. Also enjoying Adele being back, far more than I thought I would, she was my least favourite (not in a bad way) of the Foley crew. Just need Lenny to open up a bit more and they'll be flying!

I actually thought the Foley show went downhill a bit when Ray & JP were left on their own over the last few months.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,466 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Having listened to the first week of the new show and I noticed that Adelle seems happy and more involved than she was in the last few months on foleys show before she left to have the kids. Lenny will come out of his shell after a while.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, have they been doing podcasts?

(I know I could check, but my connection is painfully slow when it comes to iTunes. :o)

No

I actually thought the Foley show went downhill a bit when Ray & JP were left on their own over the last few months.

They hadn't got Adele to keep them in check, but between Anne not being well and the impending move to 98 they naturally took their eye off the ball I suppose. In saying that, they were only poor(ish) judging by their own high standards and what they were outputting was still better than anything else on at that time!

I don't think KC & Lenny actually need Adele to keep them in check as such, but the female perspective is handy to have and a producer who has been there and done it at lunchtime already will definitely help them in the long run!

Pair of Fallopian tubes. Haha. Poor KC

Can any one find last Friday's show on the listen back feature?

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Pair of Fallopian tubes. Haha. Poor KC

Actually choked on coffee when i heard that, so funny !!

I'm hearing more and more of the old Red Rooster show starting to
    creep back into this show - which is a good thing.

The music is really good, only in there 7 days
    and KC is doing his own thing and putting his own stamp on the show.

Adel is a great female bounce too, no girly
    tee hee bullsh*t, she's very straight up & cool. It works well.