Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France Stage 5 – July 9th, Ypres - Arenberg **Unmasked Spoilers**

• 09-07-2014 12:15am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭

BsCGCmbCUAEE_Mj.jpg:large

Tdf14_stage5_profile.png

This will absolutely be the most feared flat stage in the Tour de France for many, many years. And it gets worse - there is about a 60% chance of rain. Regardless, this stage is going to be bananas.

The first 55km are relatively straight-forward, the forecasted winds are not particularly strong (below 30kph) so there should not be any splits at this point.

10 km after entering France, the peloton reaches Roubaix. 30 km later, the riders start on the first of nine pave sections. On the contrary to Paris-Roubaix, the first section today is the notorious Carrefour de l'Arbre. The riders will only do 1.1 km on these cobblestones compared to the 2.1 km in Paris-Roubaix. Still, it will be enough to make a huge selection already. The fight for positions before reaching this point will be furious and the speed extremely fast. All the GC riders will want to be near the front. The weather forecast shows rain, meaning it would be close to a miracle if everybody stayed upright on this difficult section.

The next very difficult pave section is Mons-en-Pévèle. In Paris-Roubaix, this section is 3 km long. Again, today, the riders will only have to suffer for 1 km. For the pure climbers, however, this one kilometer will probably feel like 10. Just a few minutes later, it’s time for the Bersée section. The peloton will most likely already be in pieces at this point. After this, there are only 40 km to go but the riders still have to overcome four difficult pave sections.

The most demanding one is Hornaing, starting with 15.5 km to go. In Paris-Roubaix, this section has the maximum five stars and the riders will have to do all 3.7 km. This is a key moment. The classic specialists without a GC rider to look after will most likely try to put in a strong attack here. However, don’t forget that this is a very short stage, only 155.5 km, meaning the riders will be much fresher than in Paris-Roubaix where they have another 100 km in the legs. Therefore, it will be much harder to drop your rivals.

GCN's excellent preview video show the difficulty of this route better than any words can

It is extremely likely that there will be separate battles for the stage win and the GC tomorrow.

For the stage win, Fabian Cancellara can go into tomorrow considering himself the favourite, but there will be many who will push him close. Peter Sagan, John Degenkolb and Aleksander Kristoff are all favoured by the bookies, but it would be senseless to look past Lars Boom for the stage win. Sep Van Marcke and Greg Van Avermaet are also guaranteed to be there or thereabouts.

In the GC, both Contador and Froome have a range of quality support to get them over the numberous difficult cobble sections. Bernie Eisel and Geraint Thomas will be excellent lieutenants for Froome tomorrow, while Contador has three quality cobbles riders in Michael Morkov, Daniele Bennati, and Matteo Tosatto. I think if either rider has the advantage tomorrow, it must be Contador. Froome's injuries picked up today, perceived lower bike handling skills, and Bjarne Riis's superior tactical nous will all count against the sky team.

Oddschecker: Cancellara 5/2, Sagan 11/2, Degenkolb 13/2, Kristoff 15/2, Vanmarcke 11/1, Van Avermaet 12/1, Boom 28/1

Have fun, and stay safe :D

Stage winner 100 votes

Fabian Cancellara
    0%
    Peter Sagan
    22%
    Brian?InquitusDominoDubcouerdelionInspector Coptoorfull_irishdaragh_StraatvarkHmmzismontacCptMackeyCrippens1dastardly00gaybeerleopard trekpauliemckletapeAndy MagicmistermatthewTalib Fiasco 22 votes
    John Degenkolb
    21%
    dougalChips LovellZiabRBlowfishdavidsatelle100De BhálalanuccsnollupRobFowlOrmuslissardGuybrush TDermot IllogicalCramCyclePaddigolNS77eeeeeGlass Prison 1214j0hn1boydkev 21 votes
    Alexander Kristoff
    5%
    silver campaignBQQtopcat77daramikeMPFG 5 votes
    Sep Vanmarcke
    0%
    Greg Van Avermaet
    4%
    retalivityBofaDeezNuhtzDDC1990pelevin 4 votes
    Arnaud Demare
    5%
    buffaloDecuc500slfcarro5ben.schlomowd42 5 votes
    Niki Terpstra
    1%
    seany15 1 vote
    Andre Greipel
    5%
    Aoibheanndeath1234567John McClanen-dawgmarvin80 5 votes
    Marcel Kittel
    0%
    Lars Boom
    7%
    equivariantOffsideZyzzbraveheart1Germancarfanzl1whqvjs75cdymagicmonkeys 7 votes
    Michal Kwiatkowski
    22%
    JazzyJbeanspetethedrummerPlastiksimonrooneyzagadodgydesbazermcJoe ExoticrecediteShakakanBeastyTobyglendanbrosnanDarkglassesg0gsolerinaoconnpadConseyrich.d.berryRambling Man 22 votes
    Sylvain Chavanel
    0%
    Jurgen Roelandts
    2%
    trebormh2005 2 votes
    Mark Renshaw
    0%
    Mathew Heyman
    0%
    Geraint Thomas
    0%
    Alejandro Valverde
    1%
    2smiggy 1 vote
    Alberto Contador
    0%
    Chris Froome
    5%
    dave2pvdderealbadgerGreen&Redjohn kinsellacuriouscycles 5 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭daramike

Alexander Kristoff
    Tomorrow =carnage. Rain wind and cold weather. I think one of the sprinters that like the cobbles will win it. With that in mind Degenkolb and Kristoff are my picks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Michal Kwiatkowski
    Poll added :)

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭treborm

Jurgen Roelandts
    daramike wrote: »
    Tomorrow =carnage. Rain wind and cold weather. I think one of the sprinters that like the cobbles will win it. With that in mind Degenkolb and Kristoff are my picks.

Its been so long since we had rain on the cobbles. If it does rain its going to make for one crazy stage, liked Kristoff and was going to stick a bet on him until his odds halved in an hour.

Hard to look past the big favourites to win, but will be great to see how the GC lads get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Peter Sagan
    This stage is absolute madness...hoping everyone makes it safely especially the GC guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Alexander Kristoff
    Someone proven on the cobbles will win it

Depends if the specialist are looking after a GC guys or not

Sagan & Degenkolb have no charges so will have a free reign...Kristoff also

Not sure if Cancelera will have to shepherd F Schleck , Zubeldia ....possibly not

Greg Van Avermaet , Tepstra ,Van Maerke, Vansummeren (missing from poll BTW), Geraint Thomas may not have a free reign

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

It's a stage made for Oleg to show the world his cycling abilities.

Chris froome seems to be having problems staying on the bike this year so God help him if it rains. If there is rain I think I'll take a half day and watch the carnage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Jude13

What time is it kicking off?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,042 ✭✭✭✭neris

It's a stage made for Oleg to show the world his cycling abilities.

Chris froome seems to be having problems staying on the bike this year so God help him if it rains. If there is rain I think I'll take a half day and watch the carnage.

the way things are going for Froome lately I could see him crashing out today and his Tour being over

• Registered Users Posts: 31,016 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Will the GC contender teams not just let the break go without any "danger men" and pootle round safely sportive-stylee?

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

John Degenkolb
    Going to go with Sagan for this stage, If it rains his bike handling will come into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Its a late start.......

Stage 5 starts at 12:45pm BST

Finish at around 4:18pm BST

Live video from 12:45pm BST

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

John Degenkolb
    Lumen wrote: »
    Will the GC contender teams not just let the break go without any "danger men" and pootle round safely sportive-stylee?

No. It's the first real opportunity for them to put time into each other. In 2010, by staying with the winning move, Andy Schleck put 53 secs into Wiggo and Vino, 1:13 into Contador and 2:08 into Armstrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Forecast seems to be for wind and rain. Hopefully they all make it around safely. But I'm still taking a half day and expecting carnage.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Peter Sagan
    Lumen wrote: »

If you were Contador would you agree to that?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Forecast seems to be for wind and rain. Hopefully they all make it around safely. But I'm still taking a half day and expecting carnage.

Bad for the riders, but should be good viewing for the spectators!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

neris wrote: »
    the way things are going for Froome lately I could see him crashing out today and his Tour being over

I would take that bet.

I've seen reports that while he is ok to ride today it will be a miracle if he gets through today. His wrist is meant to be in a bad way and if he cant hold on to the handle bars properly he will have real problems today.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I wonder will Roche be on the Mclaren today?

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭seany15

Niki Terpstra
    Proper excited for today. Have to think cancellara will be hard to beat. Sagan should do well too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭letape

Peter Sagan
    Cancellera has shown that he is in very good form and riding agressively and with Frank and Zubeldia in questionable form, I could see him riding for the win today.

Can't wait to watch the action later :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

John Degenkolb
    I think Sagan given his current form should do well today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

godtabh wrote: »
    I wonder will Roche be on the Mclaren today?

He's not looking forward to today at all, I only was half listening to his interview but didn't he say something along the lines that a stage like today isn't one that should be a tour stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭death1234567

Andre Greipel
    MPFG wrote: »
    Not sure if Cancelera will have to shepherd F Schleck

I doubt it considering Franck will be doing well to get a top 30 finish.

Should be a cracking stage today. I predict mayhem.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,055 ✭✭✭buffalo

Arnaud Demare
    I doubt it considering Franck will be doing well to get a top 30 finish.

Should be a cracking stage today. I predict ****ing mayhem.

FYP.

I wonder if Froome will lose much time today, or even if any of the GT contenders will risk trying to bank some time so in the grand scheme of things there won't be much of a shake up.

Roche tweeted this this morning

34rangn.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

Andre Greipel
    I fancy Nibali to do well out of the GC riders today. His attack on stage two will have given him a boast and I think he'll handle the tricky conditions better than Froome and Contador. I wouldn't be too surprised if Froome lost some time today... but probably not more than he can make up in the hills later in the tour.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,006 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Alejandro Valverde
    at work , but think i will take a half day to watch today's stage. should be a cracker

There might be a bit of this so
    sean_kelly_roubaix_1983.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 20,006 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Alejandro Valverde

34rangn.jpg

CARNAGE

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

John Degenkolb
    Long story short, todays stage will be like a really long commute on Irish roads