Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Enniscorthy

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bearhunter

Ten days ago I emailed the following to the Echo editor:

Mr Mooney,

As a former resident of Enniscorthy, I have been if not an avid reader of The Echo, then at least a more than casual skimmer for the best part of 40 years, even when my steps took me away from Ireland. I regularly duck into your website to catch up on the news from home and I pick up the paper whenever I make back to Ireland. I'm also a regular reader of the boards.ie website, in particular the Wexford section (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=910).

There are currently a few threads on that site about the state of Enniscorthy both visually and economically and I was wondering was it not time for The Echo to get involved. As a journalist myself, I know that local newspapers have not only a role in reflecting the community they are part of but also setting the agenda on occasion. Given the seeming inability of the Enniscorthy Town Council to do anything other than sit down and talk amongst themselves, could I suggest that the newspaper takes a more active role in both raising issues of concern and in following up to see what - if anything - is done about them?

I realise that this might come as a strange request, especially from someone who currently lives about as far from Enniscorthy as it is possible to get, but I am not only going on what I read. On my visits home I notice the heart has gone from the town. It is a shabby, neglected place, packed with litter, poor roads, bad sewerage, anti-social behaviour and petty crime and it appears to be getting worse, while the council sits on its hands and gives itself votes of thanks.

Take the Castle renovation, for example. I have repeatedly read in the Echo that its opening date is pushed back, yet no reason is sought or given for this. The issue of fly-tipping of rubbish on roadsides is another one.

The Echo has a long and noble history of involvement with its community. Indeed, Enniscorthy has been good to the paper for more than 100 years. Could the Echo not try to help the community that sustains it?

I look forward to your reply.

I'm still looking forward as I haven't heard a dickybird yet. Must be a fierce busy job editing a weekly newspaper. Oddly enough, when I was acting editor a daily newspaper, I found plenty of time to respond to people. Even an acknowledgment would have been polite, if not helpful...

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭'scorthy

jpb1974 wrote: »
    To be honest I personally wouldn't have classed any of those as large employers... more so small to mid.

I'm fairly certain, but open to contradiction, but I think the biggest employer was the Health Board e.g. St. John's Hos, St. Senan's Hos, and all of the ancillary services. St. Senans I hear is due for closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I had reason to call to Wexford County Councils office in Westgate today and it got me thinking outside the famous 'box' and I'll put my thoughts out here.

Given that the Wexford County Council are soon to move to their hideous new box/offices (below) this presumably means that there should be a lot of free space at their old County Hall site at Westgate? What better location for a new County Museum rather than trying to shoehorn it into the wholly unsuitable Enniscorthy Castle - masses of space, car parking and an historic collection of buildings. This would then leave Enniscorthy Castle free for redevelopment as a genuine Norman castle museum.
    While I was thinking along these lines I thought why not move Enniscorthy UDC out to the '98 Centre and move the '98 Centre to the old UDC offices in the Market Square which is a more relevant site. This would have the effect of giving the UDC fine new offices at a fraction of the cost of building new ones and the money thus saved could be invested in creating a new '98 Centre and revamping Ennicorthy Castle. Will it even be considered - not bloody likely? It's almost enough to make one consider standing in the next local elections but they aren't until 2014 and by then it will be too late.

Be that as it may, no work has taken place at Enniscorthy Castle and trying to refurbish it as a County Museum is a serious mistake - a more unsuitable building it would be hard to find!

thumb-Wexford%20County%20Council%202010%20%284%29.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

Sounds like some really good ideas there JD so I doubt the council would be interested... too sensible and probably too cost effective too:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Repairs leave town centre businesses high and dry

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlaugbkf&cat=news

What was it we were saying about the Council's lack of engagement with the public...
    However, it was the total breakdown in communication to some of the retail outlets that generated such outrage, leading to an apology for any inconvenience caused by a spokesperson for the local authority.

Quite a few other relevant stories on the Echo website this week

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/news.asp

e.g.

Dumping linked to recession

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlaumhoj&cat=news

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭rebelmomma

I am almost 15 years gone out of the town but visit regularly. I can't get over the state of the square. The seats etc. It seems the only thing brightening it up the last time I was there were the flower pots outside Kavanaghs Jewellers. It seems to be just one big traffic jam for most of the day and the dirt of the place> i mean don't get me wrong there are 'few places that are spotlessly clean but i really can't get over it. While the new play park on the fair green is nice surely getting the centre of the town looking well should have been a priority.

Has anyone ever seen those stone steps being power washed?

Wasn't their always a business association who helped look after the town along with the council?

and please don't get on to me for the negative comments I love my hometown and am proud to be from there I just wish that Enniscorthy Town Council felt the same as if they did there wouldn't be shoddy seats right outside their offices as shown by a previous post

Who's bright idea was it to make the Prom a pay parking zone?
    but now it's becoming a tax

My father just mentioned this to me 10 minutes ago... and we got talking about people coming to Enniscorthy town centre to shop and work.

Quote me Father-

"You'd think they'd be doing something to attract people to the town, not deter them"

"It's getting to the stage where they'll soon have to pay people to shop in Enniscorthy"

"They do absolutely nothing to help themselves"

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Half the shops closed up and very little to attract anyone to the town.My own father made a similar comment plus that even if you went into the town to get something the odds of getting what you wanted was slim.

As far as I am concerned there should be areas dotted around the place for people to park for free in order to assist people working in the town or commuting.

The town not too bad in the sense that you can nip down on for a message or two and expect to park the car for about 20 mins un-paid... the Chocolate Soldier is fine in that regard.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

Just to keep this thread going

Davis mill is a complete eye sore to people coming into town from the New Ross road
    It was supposed to be turned into a hotel.
    Why don't the owners of the site do something or be made to do something to tidy it up

The new day hospital MillBrook at st' Johns is still empty.

Some of the Estates up around Greenville lane resemble gettos the roads and foot paths are not finished most of the houses are been rented to Eastern Europeans or Africans who will stay until their lease is up and then move on. Why wasn't these estates monitered by the council and the developers told to finish the road ways and footpaths.

Who ever made the decision to place the pedesterian crossings between Doyles pub and Donohoes and the crossing at the junction at nunnery rd. should go back to school.

At the death trap that is the top of wafer street their should be a small roundabout instead of yield to traffic the majority of them think there in modello park driving up wafer street.

The junction at Arnolds cross is a major accident waiting to happen.

The road along St' Johns villas in front of the old hospital was to become a 1 way
    Its now like a speedway ring.

The wall along paranell rd is about to collapse it's the wall on the side where the footpath is coverd in dog ****e and was broken up by lorrys a few years ago when the Parkton house's were been built why wasn't the developer made repair the paths The owner of the wall should be made to repair or replace it or else the council should do it.

The playground on the fairgreen is nice but why not make the bottom part of the green a lay-by for school buses dropping kids to st Aidans school and add in another Zebra crossing at the lay-by.

All the roads around the inner town should have speed ramps to slow down the Boy racers and taxi/hackney drivers.

Anton Treacy and Colemans should be given a set time to sort out their Derelict eyesores of buildings that greet people in the Market Square.

I do hope that some of our Elected councilers are reading this thread.

Enjoy a stroll around Enniscorthy:(

Summertime_Nightmare.jpg

The town is like a minefield of dogsh1te.Inconsiderate owners who feel they are above cleaning up after their animals.
    Have a read of this to show that it's not just a smelly mess stuck to your shoe. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1304091/Toddler-lose-eye-catching-infection-dog-mess-park.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭furerer

The dog sh1te problem was aired on another thread in the Wexford section, and the following week an article appeared in the Echo of councillors moaning about the amount of bags of this mess being collected, sayig it's the courts fault for not imposing bigger fines! Well correct me if I'm wrong....but is there not a sign in town stating a max fine of 1800 euro for dog fouling. I challenge anyone out there to tell me/us if even 1 person has been fined.........this amount or otherwise in the history of the town. If there is.....it will be a small amount of people, if any.
    I said it the last time........and I'm gonna say it again........we have a dog warden.......he doesn't do his job........he's getting well paid.....he's gonna get a pension.........SACK the lazy git and bring in someone who WILL do the job, as most of the fouling by dogs are by dogs that are let out of the lazy owners houses in the morning to roam the streets all day.....round up these dogs.....fine the owners if they come to pick them up......if not collected within a set time limit put them down. And any council official, wardens, Gards, that see an owner of a dog out walking and they do not clean up the dogs mess should be confronted and fined.... with no exception. Do this and you will see the streets change within a week.....it's very simple........it's just that the officials I have mentioned are too lazy and scared to confront people.........wishy washy, namby pamby, arty farty, bunch of losers.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

furerer wrote: »
    we have a dog warden.......he doesn't do his job........he's getting well paid.....he's gonna get a pension.........SACK the lazy git and bring in someone who WILL do the job,

In Fairness to the Dog warden he has the whole county to cover. Each town should have a Dog/litter warden to patrol the streets.
    But the majority of the dogs that **** on our paths are those that are living indoors with there owners and are brought in the evening for walkies out of the owners lovely house to ****e outside someone else gate or on a public footpath.

In another thread 1 person mentioned that he saw the dog warden in town recently driving straight past 3 un-owned dogs. I'm sorry, but the man is not doing his job, whether he has the whole county or the whole country.........when has he ever given a fine to a dog owner in Enniscorthy? When has any official ever fined a dog owner in Enniscorthy? I just want someone to tell me that it has happened so that I can know that someone out there is doing their job........because as we can all see from comments here it seems no-one wants to confront dog owners.....but have a pee down an alley, and suddenly a gard appears,........drive without car tax and see how long you get away with it..........dont pay your business rates on time and see how quick the council send you a letter......park in the wrong place and see how long before a ticket appears, (20mins say someone else)..........but you can let your dog crap all over the streets all day, every day, every year.......and........sure, it'll be alright.

Addition:
    I'll do his job.....get rid of him and I'll have the streets clean of dog sh1te by the end of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭'scorthy

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

'scorthy wrote: »

i presume he meant Enniskerry in wicklow?

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Gaunty

I had reason to call to Wexford County Councils office in Westgate today and it got me thinking outside the famous 'box' and I'll put my thoughts out here.

Given that the Wexford County Council are soon to move to their hideous new box/offices (below) this presumably means that there should be a lot of free space at their old County Hall site at Westgate? What better location for a new County Museum rather than trying to shoehorn it into the wholly unsuitable Enniscorthy Castle - masses of space, car parking and an historic collection of buildings. This would then leave Enniscorthy Castle free for redevelopment as a genuine Norman castle museum.
    While I was thinking along these lines I thought why not move Enniscorthy UDC out to the '98 Centre and move the '98 Centre to the old UDC offices in the Market Square which is a more relevant site. This would have the effect of giving the UDC fine new offices at a fraction of the cost of building new ones and the money thus saved could be invested in creating a new '98 Centre and revamping Ennicorthy Castle. Will it even be considered - not bloody likely? It's almost enough to make one consider standing in the next local elections but they aren't until 2014 and by then it will be too late.

Be that as it may, no work has taken place at Enniscorthy Castle and trying to refurbish it as a County Museum is a serious mistake - a more unsuitable building it would be hard to find!

thumb-Wexford%20County%20Council%202010%20%284%29.jpg

I'm not sure if you know this but the current County Council offices at Westgate will become Wexford Borough Councils new offices with Wexford Borough Councils old offices becoming the new courthouse. That deal was done 2 years ago and the Borough Council is currently operating out of the Crescent Quay in preparation for that move.

Gaunty wrote: »
    I'm not sure if you know this but the current County Council offices at Westgate will become Wexford Borough Councils new offices with Wexford Borough Councils old offices becoming the new courthouse. That deal was done 2 years ago and the Borough Council is currently operating out of the Crescent Quay in preparation for that move.

No I wasn't aware of that and can you tell what in God's name is Wexford Borough Council? I have only lived in Wexford for nine years so I am not familiar with all this nonsense. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

No I wasn't aware of that and can you tell what in God's name is Wexford Borough Council? I have only lived in Wexford for nine years so I am not familiar with all this nonsense. :confused:

Wexford Borough Council formally the Wexford Corporation deal with the town of Wexford and Wexford County Council deals with the county, Thats the simple answer.

County Council offices are at Hill st not Westgate and the Wexford Borough Councils old offices becoming the new courthouse thats not set in stone as there is allot of protest about that due to the fact its in the middle of a large residential area.

As for a Museum well Sinn Fein have been going on about the old Gaol been converted into one for 30/40 years or so which is next to the courthouse but because its Sinn Fein no one listens to them around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Gaunty

Wexford Borough council is basically the formal name for the town corporation. The people who oversee the maintenance and development of the townlands.

Was out socialising in Enniscorthy last night and have never seen a more depressing place for a Friday night,nothing in the town to entice anyone out at night.As bad as the place is during the day there's feck all in it at night.

Don't despair, the Castle Nite Club is supposed to be reopening next Friday.

Bit old for the Castle at this stage,spent enough time in it when I was younger:D
    There's a new discount superstore open at the old Donohoes garage beside the agri dept.At least we have another new business trying to get off the ground.Pity the road up to it is like a bomb site.

[QUOTE=Judgement Day;67424887
    It's almost enough to make one consider standing in the next local elections but they aren't until 2014 and by then it will be too late.
    [/QUOTE]

Why have the people let all matters of public money spending be decided by those that spend it? Why are there not public committees that have to be passed on matters of public spending? We'd save a fortune, get rid of waste, and make sure public funds were well spent. The public committees would represent a wide range of people not elected by the council....but rather chosen at random by electronic means from those that have wished to be on the board.

Desperation forced me to give The Castle Bar on Castle Hill (formerly Kehoe's) another try on Saturday and I was pleasantly surprised. A friendly reception by the two barmen on duty who, once I explained my urgent requirement (somewhere to watch the Springboks vs Wallabies on Sky Sports 4), put on a television specially for me in my own sectioned off part of the bar. While the decor, although much improved from its previous incarnation, wouldn't be to my taste I will remember the Castle Bar the next time there's a glut of sport on TV. The Antique Tavern, Hayes and Stamps would be my normal pubs of choice for rugby, in that order, but I can now add the Castle Bar to that list. Thanks lads!

cappoquin006.jpg

PS Please lose the sandwich boards - they look a mess.

According to the article below town councillors are outraged at being told the town is 'seriously littered'.

The funny thing is... all they need to do is open their eyes and go for a stroll around the place to see that it is.

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlcwauid&cat=news
    But by the time of the final standings, Enniscorthy had plummeted to disastrous 46th place (‘seriously littered’), leading to a sense of outrage locally, especially by councillors and the local Tidy Towns’ Association.

A few headlines down we have another article 'Dumping scourge hit local estates' -

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlcwkfql&cat=news

Oh... and to rub salt in the wounds... the contrast in relation to Wexford town -

http://www.enniscorthyecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhqlcwauoj&cat=news

Yes, that article shows just how out of touch the council are. The town is a disgusting ****ing mess and there's little enough being done about it. That said, I think Wexford got away lightly in the litter survey as I was far from impressed on my recent visit - especially the blood spattered premises opposite Whites Hotel. :mad:

Dumping human waste-jaysus,have these people no toilets? I pay good money for my bins and wouldn't dream of flytipping.I enjoy unspoilt countrysides and having scum dump their waste everywhere really boils my blood! How many fines have been handed out? Not many I'd say-all well and good having community wardens if they don't seem to actually do anything.

Desperation forced me to give The Castle Bar on Castle Hill (formerly Kehoe's) another try on Saturday and I was pleasantly surprised. A friendly reception by the two barmen on duty who, once I explained my urgent requirement (somewhere to watch the Springboks vs Wallabies on Sky Sports 4), put on a television specially for me in my own sectioned off part of the bar. While the decor, although much improved from its previous incarnation, wouldn't be to my taste I will remember the Castle Bar the next time there's a glut of sport on TV. The Antique Tavern, Hayes and Stamps would be my normal pubs of choice for rugby, in that order, but I can now add the Castle Bar to that list. Thanks lads!

cappoquin006.jpg

PS Please lose the sandwich boards - they look a mess.

Was in it for a few pints myself last friday night-it was the only pub in town with any amount of customers,I know the guy running it and he's a great barman and knows what customers want.Many said he was mad taking on the running of a bar when so many are closing but fair play to him it's going well.
    As regards the facade of business premises, I just saw Gus Byrnes getting a new paint job-nice,bright and cheery.A change from the drab palette of most of the town.
    Good news for residents having to travel the road up along Hempfield-it's to be resurfaced in 3 weeks time (hold's breath)