Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

DeadHand wrote: »
    Yes, I remember well the deprivation of my own childhood.

We often had no potatoes for the fire or pasta sheets to wrap ourselves in.

well you obviously survived and grew up in to a sarcastic ****er

I hope you are right..... even tonight there are horses and donkeys in fields of mud with no food to keep them warm. cold and miserable but their owners are fat and warm in their houses!

Agreed. I can never ever understand the mentality of someone who can be cruel to or abuse an animal. I cannot even read the reports of that wretched dog that was roasted alive in the Curragh this week. How someone can be that evil is just beyond my comprehension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Cienciano wrote: »
    He's one of those that I don't like personally, but I can see why people do. At least he writes his music which is a lot more than most of todays pop acts can do.

Yeah, Ed Sheeran wouldn't be my thing at all, but he is clearly very talented.

unpopular opinion. People should only have kids when they can provide for them , and then only the number they can afford. Sometimes I accept someone might lose their job or get ill and need support for their family. But way too often people just have kids with no thought of how they will feed, clothe and educate them.

It is 2015 Ireland. There is birth control available.

Recent report of single Mother early 20's living in a hotel with 3 kids, like 3,2,and newborn age. For heavens sake what is she thinking? And why should I as a taxpayer have to support her stupidity. Feel terribly sorry for the kids but honestly she should not be having ANY if she has no job (plus no mention of Father(s))

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

unpopular opinion. People should only have kids when they can provide for them , and then only the number they can afford. Sometimes I accept someone might lose their job or get ill and need support for their family. But way too often people just have kids with no thought of how they will feed, clothe and educate them.

It is 2015 Ireland. There is birth control available.

Recent report of single Mother early 20's living in a hotel with 3 kids, like 3,2,and newborn age. For heavens sake what is she thinking? And why should I as a taxpayer have to support her stupidity. Feel terribly sorry for the kids but honestly she should not be having ANY if she has no job (plus no mention of Father(s))

I am soo in agreement with you booklover having one child without a partner is a disaster and a mistake .doing it 2 further times is insane, these women should get help for the first child any subsequent child they should be given nothing these little ****ers are the brats who torture animals and rob houses and generally have no discipline just like their mother who also had no controls or disciplines in the first place. Like breeds like!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I hope you are right..... even tonight there are horses and donkeys in fields of mud with no food to keep them warm. cold and miserable but their owners are fat and warm in their houses!

There are people in the streets too. Don't forget that. Not belittling what you're saying but while you and I are in our warm beds during that snow, think of the scores of souls roughing it tonight. It's harrowing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

I am soo in agreement with you booklover having one child without a partner is a disaster and a mistake .doing it 2 further times is insane, these women should get help for the first child any subsequent child they should be given nothing these little ****ers are the brats who torture animals and rob houses and generally have no discipline just like their mother who also had no controls or disciplines in the first place. Like breeds like!!

This has to be one of the most ignorant things I've read in a while. My mother was a single mother with more than one child, and I don't seem to recall ever torturing animals or robbing any houses over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

I don't think it's an unpopular opinion to believe people should only have children they can afford to rear.

I don't get why Ed Sheeran is so popular (maybe this isn't an unpopular opinion but he is massively popular) - I mean, catchy yet inoffensive tunes, affable guy... but those singer-songwriter lads are ten a penny. What is it that has caused Ed specifically to become so stratospherically successful? It's not looks either as, while he's not a bad-looking lad, he's not breath-takingly gorgeous/boyband-looking. He's just very average looking IMO. His voice is nothing remarkable either. I'm not saying these things to attack him, just saying I don't see what it is that makes him stand out from his peers.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I don't think it's an unpopular opinion to believe people should only have children they can afford to rear.

I don't get why Ed Sheeran is so popular (maybe this isn't an unpopular opinion but he is massively popular) - I mean, catchy yet inoffensive tunes, affable guy... but those singer-songwriter lads are ten a penny. What is it that has caused Ed specifically to become so stratospherically successful? It's not looks either as, while he's not a bad-looking lad, he's not breath-takingly gorgeous/boyband-looking. He's just very average looking IMO. His voice is nothing remarkable either. I'm not saying these things to attack him, just saying I don't see what it is that makes him stand out from his peers.

I honestly can't stand the plague of folk/indie singer-songwriters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Omackeral wrote: »
    There are people in the streets too. Don't forget that. Not belittling what you're saying but while you and I are in our warm beds during that snow, think of the scores of souls roughing it tonight. It's harrowing.

They're not mutually exclusive. I'm sick of people saying, "yeah well what about [insert greater concern]" :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

after hours is the real life equivalent of a sweaty mens changing room brimming with crass humour and innuendo, with the odd female joining in for the craic.

unpopular opinion. People should only have kids when they can provide for them , and then only the number they can afford. Sometimes I accept someone might lose their job or get ill and need support for their family.

"Sometimes" you accept? That's magnanimous of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

emersyn wrote: »
    The Beatles are trash

Same goes for Elvis and The Rolling Stones. I can't stand any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I'll think you'll find it would be a fukcing miracle.

I'm pretty indifferent to his music (I think "Sing" is a good song but anything else I've heard by him is pretty forgettable) but he does have a certain charm about him. He genuinely seems like a lovely, down-to-earth guy....and I think the fact that he's not a "hottie" in the conventional sense is part of his appeal; he still seems like the boy next door as opposed to a huge pop superstar.

I'm certainly not a fan of the barrage of bland folk-pop singers flooding the market but I have to admit that there's something really damn likeable about Ed Sheeran. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

The far-left parties are looking for votes amongst a rump of society that would dread the idea of actually having to work in a true socialist republic.

The radical left no longer represent the true working class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Fry's Turkish Delight is gorgeous :)

Links234 wrote: »

There's always one. Probably liked the coffee sweets in the Roses collection back when Roses were still edible.

RomanKnows wrote: »
    There's always one. Probably liked the coffee sweets in the Roses collection back when Roses were still edible.

I was always partial to the pralines, but yup, you called it! Loved the coffee ones too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Chocolate is overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

As is the whole Fry's family.

I also eat all the supposed "horrible" sweets in the Roses selection too.

I've not had a peppermint creme in absolute years! Not a huge fan of roses, but the hazelnut swirl ones are probably my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I still think Creme eggs are nice :)

I was always partial to the pralines, but yup, you called it! Loved the coffee ones too. :)

Let's not fall out over the Seasons Greetings debate. Park it here! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Like Fry's Turkish Delight

Like Fry's Peppermint Cream

Also like the coffee sweets from Roses.

Star Wars (yes even the original films) are overrated. I would rather watch Star Trek

Tea is overrrated ( it is like drinking dishwater through a sock)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 ChaosSymbol

-Tea and Coffee = Gross.
    -Harry Potter can go jump.
    -Chocolate is muck.
    -The 'Nice guys' curse is bollix. These guys do not finish last because they're 'nice', they finish last because they're fcuking doormats. Plenty of nice guys out there with a bit of fire in their bellies.
    -McGregor gets more annoying every time he opens his mouth.
    -No chat is better than fake chit chat. If I want a weather update I'll google it.
    -Most Irish talk shows are complete car crashes, even Graham Norton had to leg it across the pond to make a decent show.
    -Bressie is not God, he's a lanky lad from Mullingar who has good intentions but is not the friggin Dalai Lama.

-Tea and Coffee = Gross.
    -Chocolate is muck.
    -The 'Nice guys' curse is bollix. These guys do not finish last because they're 'nice', they finish last because they're fcuking doormats. Plenty of nice guys out there with a bit of fire in their bellies.
    -No chat is better than fake chit chat. If I want a weather update I'll google it.
    -Most Irish talk shows are complete car crashes, even Graham Norton had to leg it across the pond to make a decent show.
    -Bressie is not God, he's a lanky lad from Mullingar who has good intentions but is not the friggin Dalai Lama.

To be fair, the general consensus is that the LLS and SNS are complete and utter muck. Compared to British and American chat shows, they are comically bad.

Yeh and who thinks Bressie is god? And who likes forced chit-chat?

I don't think it's unpopular to think "Nice guys finish last" is nonsense.

However, the assessments of tea, coffee and chocolate: very unpopular views indeed!

Screw all y'all! I'm eating some toblerone and drinking tea and it's bloodly lovely! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

-Tea and Coffee = Gross.
    -Chocolate is muck.
    what the hell is wrong with you!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

He's bang on the money. The stuff is vastly, vastly overrated. You teel like crap after a bar of the stuff too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

He's bang on the money. The stuff is vastly, vastly overrated. You teel like crap after a bar of the stuff too.
    depends on how much you eat, Im addicted to the stuff/sweets. its the price you pay

Cadburys and therefore chocolate standards have dropped massively in recent times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Well i'm from cork. :pac:

Yeh and who thinks Bressie is god? And who likes forced chit-chat?
    !

You'd be surprised.

I like being able to see my toes.

13 years since I had any now and I don't miss it one bit to be honest!

depends on how much you eat, Im addicted to the stuff/sweets. its the price you pay

Ahh but see, that was my problem - zero moderation! I'd have one and then have 10! So I just decided to cut it out, along with crisps and chips etc. Nowadays I eat plenty of seriously yummy food, but none of it makes me feel like a bulimic beached whale. It's a win win.

I like being able to see my toes.

If you can't eat chocolate without becoming overweight, you're doing it wrong. Sucks to be you! :pac::P

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    If you can't eat chocolate without becoming overweight, you're doing it wrong. Sucks to be you! :pac::P

I really can't, that's the point. I can't moderate :)

I'm far happier, and hotter, chocolate free ;)

I really can't, that's the point. I can't moderate :)

I'm far happier, and hotter, chocolate free ;)

Well, good for you, you seem happy with your choice. I think we all just can't wrap our heads around it because we're all such chocolate fiends! :pac:

Hey sure, 14 year old me used to have about 10 choc bars, 2 choc donuts and 5+ packs of crisps a day - topped off with a curry chip... I get it! It's just been so long now, I never think about having it and have no craving for it at all. Don't get me wrong though, the first month was hell. I had an apple every time I wanted a chocolate and I was pissing fcuking apple juice by the end of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

The Late Late show is infinitely better than the mind numbing sasannach celebrity-culture sh/te showcased on Graham Norton.

Water Charges make sense.

That snapchat update was fantastic...but I hear they're brining best friends back? :(

Deranged96 wrote: »
    The Late Late show is infinitely better than the mind numbing sasannach celebrity-culture sh/te showcased on Graham Norton.

Good one. :pac:

Aside from the kind of guests that feature, Graham Norton is a far superior, much more intelligent interviewer than Ryan Tubridy. Hence him doing well on the Beeb and Ryan, well, not. (I believe Ryan had a brief fill-in slot on Beeb radio when someone else was on holiday)

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Good one. :pac:

Aside from the kind of guests that feature, Graham Norton is a far superior, much more intelligent interviewer than Ryan Tubridy. Hence him doing well on the Beeb and Ryan, well, not. (I believe Ryan had a brief fill-in slot on Beeb radio when someone else was on holiday)

Ryan has his shortcomings but he can treat a sensitive interview with the respect it deserves.

Graham Nortons guests don't lend themselves to sensitive issues so I don't know how he'd handle it but in my book current affairs, social issues and content pertaining to this country is superior to some actor flogging his new movie and someone falling out of a chair while telling a story...

I will say that on TLLS they too have their share of eejits from the limelight but for the most part you'll find something to make you think on there

Ryan has his shortcomings but he can treat a sensitive interview with the respect it deserves.

He's perfectly fine in this respect, but nothing special. Gay Byrne was the king of this kind of thing. Actually Gay Byrne was an excellent interviewer and it's only in retrospect that I'm realising that. Not afraid to go off script, sensitive, but also very enquiring.

Pat Kenny was deficient in certain areas, but trounced Ryan Tubridy in the serious stakes too.

Ryan just doesn't excel in any area. He's... grand, that's it.
    I will say that on TLLS they too have their share of eejits from the limelight but for the most part you'll find something to make you think on there

Graham Norton generally has a better class of celebrity on his show ie. no minor Irish "celebrities" or non-entities. Ryan gets some good celebs sometimes but the interviews are always stilted and/or cliched.

Guests actually look like they are having fun on Graham Norton, not just doing the interview circuit merry-go-round. Indeed a number of guests have said it's the best fun they've ever had on a talk show.

He tends to tease out humorous situations so that it becomes more than just a celeb plugging their latest vehicle.

Graham Norton's show is very entertaining. The Late Late has been scripted to death and Ryan Tubridy hasn't anywhere near the charisma needed to make a chat show even vaguely entertaining.
    Water Charges make sense.

I agree with you, it actually costs a substantial amount to make water drinkable. Water meters are scandalous though. Bring in a fixed charge and ditch the water meters.
    That snapchat update was fantastic...but I hear they're brining best friends back? :(

Yes they're bringing the best friends feature back.

The Graham Norton Show is a light entertainment/comedy show, it's not supposed to have serious elements. I don't think the serious stuff suits the Late Late tbh - but something has to fill it.
    That snapchat update was fantastic
    Personally I don't even know what Chapsnat is, let alone able to ascertain whether that's an unpopular opinion or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

We would all be better off if most people avoided talking about their emotions.

Mass consumption of popular psychology encourages individuals to actively search for and identify illnesses, syndromes and disorders, however obscure and vague.

Obviously where an illness is manifesting itself to the detriment of a person's life and livelihood, it must be addressed. But for every serious illness requiring clinical intervention, perhaps there are ten more armchair psychiatrists self-diagnosing all manner of afflictions, and almost being encouraged to wallow in them, or use them as excuses to resign themselves from their everyday responsibilities.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

The Graham Norton Show is a light entertainment/comedy show, it's not supposed to have serious elements. I don't think the serious stuff suits the Late Late tbh - but something has to fill it.

This is essentially the point I was going to make. They're two different types of chat shows and can't really be compared to each other.

That said, I agree with the general sentiment that Graham Norton's show is quite good, while the Late Late Show isn't that great any more.

thelad95 wrote: »
    I agree with you, it actually costs a substantial amount to make water drinkable. Water meters are scandalous though. Bring in a fixed charge and ditch the water meters.

But surely you need to put some incentives for water conservation in place. If I was to be very careful when it came to the amount of water I was using then why should I have to pay the same as a person who's ridiculously careless and wasteful and uses three to four times as much as I do?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

its ok to nick a few pick n mix sweets now and again