Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Why are all the computers in the library COMPLETELY useless????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Lost a tenner on the way to the library coming from the Schrodinger. If anyone happened to find €10...just saying :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

Someone said it was the local council who had the helicopter, apparently they're using to catch people burning rubbish in their back garden

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭shabouwcaw

Someone said it was the local council who had the helicopter, apparently they're using to catch people burning rubbish in their back garden

that is an excellent and productive use of taxpayers money.

Essays due next week, weather is not good any more, no money. YAY

• Registered Users Posts: 21 auldpooky

Missed the blood drive on in EGO-10 there the other day.

sickened.

Wish it had been advertised better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Has nothing to do that's any fun while I'm on my own for the week! I guess I'm gonna have to... ugh... study... :(

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

auldpooky wrote: »

sickened.

Didn't even know there was one on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jetplaner

Cydoniac wrote: »

sickened.

Didn't even know there was one on...

They come to castletroy every so often. It's just a lot easier to give when they are on campus because a lot of students tend to be new donors and the queuing puts some ppl off. All in all it's for a good cause and everyone eligible should donate.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭FCUM

Co-op report fine :mad::(

Worst thing is I proved I had it done for the deadline, just didn't have a signature. Should have forged it :(

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

sickened.

They had signs on the traffic light poles by the flag poles and a few others on campus.

I'd love o give blood were it not for my fear of needles and the feeling of being light-headed.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭joey12

I saw no signs in the SU for the blood drive at all!

joey12 wrote: »
    I saw no signs in the SU for the blood drive at all!

They don't officially endorse it because of the wording of some of their stuff. Gay rights and what not.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭roro1neil0

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    They don't officially endorse it because of the wording of some of their stuff. Gay rights and what not.
    How long has this policy been in place? Was there a referendum or another form of democratic decision made? Is it just UL SU or do all the SUs in ireland feel this way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

SarahBeep! wrote: »

Thats stupid really. I didnt know about it either.
    They are losing out on plenty of pints of blood not promoting it all because of gay rights. Gay rights dont save lives.

Maybe the su president will tell us why the su is not endorsing it.

roro1neil0 wrote: »
    How long has this policy been in place? Was there a referendum or another form of democratic decision made? Is it just UL SU or do all the SUs in ireland feel this way?

I think it was decided at class reps council but I'm not sure.
    Ask in the SU if you want all the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

In another thread here Kelly said that the SU were not contacted in time to inform student. I don't think the SU has a boycott.

just another example of student ignorance.

Too ture.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 auldpooky

Jester252 wrote: »
    In another thread here Kelly said that the SU were not contacted in time to inform student. I don't think the SU has a boycott.

Yeah thats what she said on facebook

S036h.jpg

But that was on the 27th and they were collecting blood on the 28th and 29th as well. The SU even sent out an email on the 28th in the evening and mentioned a bunch of stuff about an focal and ULFM but no mention of the blood drive. A bit dissapointing really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Jester252 wrote: »

Yeah thats what she said on facebook

S036h.jpg

But that was on the 27th and they were collecting blood on the 28th and 29th as well. The SU even sent out an email on the 28th in the evening and mentioned a bunch of stuff about an focal and ULFM but no mention of the blood drive. A bit dissapointing really
    Thanks wasn't too sure where I saw it

Derek and Kelly need to be contacted directly about this and I have made antisoc aware of this.

They must be terrified now. :pac:

You don't have to wait until the blood drive is on your doorstep to give blood. It's a non-issue in all fairness. It was advertised, although poorly. I live off campus and saw signs for it every morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,080 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

SULIS down for anyone else?

no try it again

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Gene Parmesan

Down for me too

I'm getting invalid log-in

• Registered Users Posts: 26 BlueFlowers

'There is a serious issue with student access to UL resources including SULIS, Sample Exam Papers and Library databases.

All student accounts are being reset. The process will take several hours.

Please check this student Email Account for updates.'

This has just been sent out to all students about 5 minutes ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Dromroe vending machine... Y U NO WORK. :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Polar Ice

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Dromroe vending machine... Y U NO WORK. :(:(

There is a serious issue with student access to UL resources including blah blah blah & DROMROE VENDING MACHINE! :pac:

Polar Ice wrote: »
    There is a serious issue with student access to UL resources! :pac:

Wha-? Oh... :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Polar Ice

Why must some lecturers only put up half the slides on sulis so that when you go to study them, your notes and the lecture slides no longer add up and confuse you... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I hate my course, I hate my major. No interest, no motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

^This.

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

I'm not quite to this level yet, but getting there. Mainly because I hate 2 of my modules which manage to ruin the enjoyment I get from others. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭PunkFreud

I'm not quite to this level yet, but getting there. Mainly because I hate 2 of my modules which manage to ruin the enjoyment I get from others. *sigh*
    In 3 years, I've always had at least 1 module per semester that I despised with everything in my body, either because they were ridiculously hard or the lecturer was a douche.

I just went to the lectures just so I would'nt have to study them as much when it came around to the exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

Are you able bodied & healthy? If so then why not go and find a job somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

You do know what country we're in, yes?

:eek: That's a great idea! Why haven't we all thought about this before?! I mean it's really that easy! Heck, I don't know why we bother with the college craic at all, we could have just gone and got jobs in the first place!

Oh wait....

sup_dude wrote: »
    Ohh I remember you! You were here before telling me that I was a waster (as well as everyone else in the uni) and my jokes weren't funny :D Didn't you get banned for trolling?

I see you haven't changed your joke either though, how unoriginal *yawn*

Glad to see you remember me. I must confess that I have no recollection of you whatsoever.

:( Aw no, that makes me sad...

Why do trolls love UL?

Must be the Living Bridge....

#****tyjokeoftheday

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Realdanbreen, please stop the personal abuse. Cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

Why do trolls love UL?

Must be the Living Bridge....

#****tyjokeoftheday

Door's that way, wnolan1992. Bring your coat with you, it's raining outside.

Peteee wrote: »
    Realdanbreen, please stop the personal abuse. Cop on.

Fair enough, but when a young fella comes on saying he has no interest,hates his course, has no motivation etc it galls me.

This is the only thread you comment on in the ul forum and it is the bitch about daily life thread. Students do get sick of their course and assignments around this time of year when they are under pressure with exams and assignments/FYP's due.

They are allowed vent a bit of stress every now and again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Just found out my co-op CV is due next week on top of a heap of other things. Would never have found this out if I wasn't scrolling through emails from the beginning of semester.

When was I going to receive a reminder about this?!!
    Also have another co-op thing to fill out too, with no mention of it from the officers themselves...
    You'd think they'd actually want to help us get everything sorted..
    Ridiculous...

Lost my phone last night :(:(

Only place possible was down at maxol getting out of the car.:(

Its not even the phone itself isn't worth feck all. Tis the inconvenience of having to get all the numbers back and losing my memory card.