Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's First 24-Hour Gym

• 18-07-2007 6:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭

The Fitness Dock is proud to announce the opening of Ireland’s first 24 Hour Gym. Located on Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, the gym will switch to being 24-hour on September 3, 2007.

While this is the first 24-hour gym in Ireland, it is a growing trend worldwide. The world's largest gym group, US-based 24hr Fitness, has proved the popularity of all-hours workouts with over 300 gyms and 2.7m members worldwide. In England, cities such as London, Manchester, Glasgow and Nottingham all have 24-hour gyms.

We have many members whose work hours make it difficult to access the gym during conventional opening hours. Plus, if you fancy working out super-early (like many bodybuilders in the States do), then you exercise at a gym when you've got the whole gym to yourself.

Pop in for a free workout whenever it suits you.

Cheers,

PAUL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Honestly..........that is awesome!!!!! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Awsome, im over in san diego now and im a member of Fitness 24, the fact that its open all the time really makes its handy, iv been in it at mad hours like 3 in the morning and all, hopefully it catchs on more at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

that's great news, just by way of interest would you have an open access policy ie, walk in and pay just for the session?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭gazzer

Thats brilliant news.

I always wondered when Ireland would get a 24 hour gym. When I lived in Perth 12 years ago some of the gyms there were open 24 hours and they were very popular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

nothing better than a 4am training session.
    its probably the best thing about living so far out in the sticks. i have a 24k sq foot garage. I bet fitness dock cant say that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Talking of which Dave, Looks like I'm going to be moving to Cork by the end of next month. I guess the Mardyke is the obvious choice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

aw man sounds brilliant....can you open one in D15?!!!!

I guess I'm gona have to stick with the residents gym here then :( I'd gladly pay for it if it was 24hour though!!!!

UL has the advantage of the 50 m pool. If you're an endurance swimmer that is a significant factor. I don't think I'll be able avoid running speedwork if the track is tright there though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭The FitnessDock

Great to see that many of you are as enthusiastic as I am about the 24-hour opening hours - I can't wait!

Just to answer a few questions:

Leon11 - we don't run an "open access policy" because if we did, it would be impossible to fund the new 24-hour opening hours. As I mentioned, pop in for a FREE workout to check the gym out. Also, mention boards.ie and I'll give all of you a special discount on the membership.

G86 - where are you based in D15? I moved there in April.

dave irl and hunnymonster - Coral Leisure, who own the Fitness Dock, are currently looking at locations in Cork. If our 24-hour gym is a success, there's a possibility they might apply the same opening hours there too. It simply depends on whether there is enough of a demand there. Ask and you shall receive!

Also, we shall be hosting self-defence seminars at the gym very soon. The seminars will be hosted by John Brawn. See www.johnbrawn.com to find out more about John. I'll be meeting John this Tuesday to discuss the content of the seminars.

Finally, we shall be introducing a LOT of new things (events, nights out, seminars etc) at the gym - our aim is for our members to see The Fitness Dock as part of their lifestyle, and not merely as a gym.

I'll keep you all updated

Cheers,

PAUL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Im in Ashtown, but wouldn't travel out to Camden street as I've a gym literally on my doorstep here for 20Eur a mth :D, I just meant if there was a 24 hour gym here I'd defo wana join it!!

It is a great idea though, hope it catches on!!

me too that would be wonderful. Like Dave, I would preferentially train at 5-6 am which isn't going to be possible in Cork at the moment. Himself is a shiftworker so a 24 place would be ideal for him.

Do you think there would be a demand for a 24-hour gym in Cork?

Dublin has a huge population, spread over a very small area. Cork is much bigger and I'd imagine the population is spread more across the whole of the county, right?

PAUL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Finally, we shall be introducing a LOT of new things (events, nights out, seminars etc) at the gym - our aim is for our members to see The Fitness Dock as part of their lifestyle, and not merely as a gym.

I'll keep you all updated

Cheers,

PAUL

THat's a friggin great idea.

It's strange that more places don't do that. I know in Hercs the whole attitude of the gym is defined by the way everyone pulls together. This is in part fostered by going away to comps and nights out (ie spending time socialising together!).

I've organised social nights in every gym I've worked in over the last 10 years. In my experience, it's the key to customer satisfaction. Everyone gets to know each other and suddenly the gym becomes an infinitely friendlier and more welcoming place overnight. That's very important for those who find it difficult to motivate themselves to get to the gym in the first place.

Hanley - pop down for a complimentary workout any time you like. While we're obviously not a hardcore gym, we have a great power rack (with pins) and loads of plates to go with it.

PAUL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

The Fitness Dock is proud to announce the opening of Ireland’s first 24 Hour Gym. Located on Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, the gym will switch to being 24-hour on September 3, 2007.

While this is the first 24-hour gym in Ireland, it is a growing trend worldwide. The world's largest gym group, US-based 24hr Fitness, has proved the popularity of all-hours workouts with over 300 gyms and 2.7m members worldwide. In England, cities such as London, Manchester, Glasgow and Nottingham all have 24-hour gyms.

We have many members whose work hours make it difficult to access the gym during conventional opening hours. Plus, if you fancy working out super-early (like many bodybuilders in the States do), then you exercise at a gym when you've got the whole gym to yourself.

Pop in for a free workout whenever it suits you.

Cheers,

PAUL
    Paul,

What's the membership fee? I live just off camden street and am in search of a gym, this would suit perfect.

SP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

24 hour gyms!! EXCELLENT!!

This is definitely the future, and I would much rather work of the pressure of a nights work under the squat bar than at the bottom of a pint glass.

A few questions, fitness dock. What is your heaviest dumbell? Do you have a power rack that I could hang from in grav boots, and similarly could I hang my olympic rings for muscle ups? Most gyms I've trained in are cool but I do get the odd 'instructer' telling me how I'm taking my life in my hands:rolleyes:

Anyway, all the best man, I hope this works out and sets a trend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Ah this is magic - since I started shift work my workouts have slipped massively. This is ideal. Nice one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

24 hour gyms!! EXCELLENT!!

This is definitely the future, and I would much rather work of the pressure of a nights work under the squat bar than at the bottom of a pint glass.

A few questions, fitness dock. What is your heaviest dumbell? Do you have a power rack that I could hang from in grav boots, and similarly could I hang my olympic rings for muscle ups? Most gyms I've trained in are cool but I do get the odd 'instructer' telling me how I'm taking my life in my hands:rolleyes:

Anyway, all the best man, I hope this works out and sets a trend.

couple of questions Dave,

1. where did ye get your grav boots?

2. Do you find them much use?

3. Don't be lying you can't really do muscle ups...can you?:p

A few questions, fitness dock. What is your heaviest dumbell? Do you have a power rack that I could hang from in grav boots, and similarly could I hang my olympic rings for muscle ups?

Our heaviest dumbbells are 35kg - while we're hardly a hardcore gym by any means, I challenge ANYONE to perform a set of flat dumbbell presses at a rep cadence of 10 second positive, followed by a 10 second negative. Suddenly the "too light" weights don't seem very very heavy! :D

Yeah we have a power rack, complete with pins. So you can hang from your gravity boots and use your Olympic rings to do your muscle-ups. Our instructors are very knowledgeable and will be delighted to give you a spot if you ever need one.

PAUL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Jon wrote:
    couple of questions Dave,

1. where did ye get your grav boots?

2. Do you find them much use?

3. Don't be lying you can't really do muscle ups...can you?:p

Hey Jon,
    1. Bought grav boots from a guy in my old gym, he says he got em off the internet from some crowd in Belfast.
    2. I love em. A fantastic burn on the abs.
    3. I doubt if i could now, having been away from the rings for 6 months :( and I know it'll take ages to do one again when I go back. In fairness I could usually get one or two alright ones and maybe one more sloppy one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Fair play Dave, awesome power is needed for them muscle ups!

Have being toying with the idea of Grav boots for a while now. Must look into it more.

Thanks mate

• Registered Users Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭mathie

slemons wrote:
    nothing better than a 4am training session.
    its probably the best thing about living so far out in the sticks. i have a 24k sq foot garage. I bet fitness dock cant say that!

24K sq foot garage?
    Really?!
    M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭An Gaiscíoch

Anyone go to this spot??? Is it still 24 hours???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Anyone go to this spot??? Is it still 24 hours???

Monday to Thursday afaik!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Yep. I'd recommend it, well its good for me because I go at times when it is quiet enough and all the benches and weights are basically there all for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭obsydion

Damnit I'm going to miss out on the Halloween Special. I just started working at DIT (Camden Row) 2 weeks ago and I've only just noticed Fitnessdock across the street. I might go check it out tomorrow anyway, hopefully there will be a new special near Xmas because €650 is WAY over my budget...:(