Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do teachers do when schools are off?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Teaching is pretty easy though in fairness. I did it for about 3 year but gave it up coz I really didn't care about how the students did and only did it for the money.
    Never had a student fail a state exam though so I was decent at the gig.

It's easy to do a job you don't give a ****e about, in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Got to love the wacky hoodies down in UL a few years back. 'The three reasons I want to become a teacher, June, July, August.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

RWCNT wrote: »
    To a degree. Eventually you won't care enough to even go in anymore, if you feel it's that pointless. I had a job like that once. Money was way better than what I'm on now, but there was no motivation. Glad to get out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

RWCNT wrote: »

Can't imagine it's easy to be a doctor if you don't care about it, you'd be misdiagnosing the whole time and end up getting sued or fired.

Pretty demoralising though, you go into it with high hopes and then come to the realisation that nobody really gives a hoot so long as the parent continue to pay for their kids and you keep the pass average at a nice number.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

You could pay their annual salary over 9 months and leave them struggling to make ends meet for 3 months or you could pay them over 12 months.

Yes, you could pay them over 9 months and tell them to save up for the summer but it's just a lot easier if they got the same wage through the year rather than having to guess what their expenses are going to be for 3 months.

At the end of the year, they still get paid the same amount so I don't get what all the fuss is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Not G.R wrote: »
    Probably have one of the most stressful and under apriciated jobs around. Their time off is deserved.

Get off it, there are a fuckton more stressful jobs out there than being a teacher and the work that's done by teachers is far more appreciated than most other occupations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

• Registered Users Posts: 34,541 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Well if my missus is anything to go by, they laugh at their significant other going to work in the morning and then go asleep for another 5 hours. :(

I envy the days off and with a hdip could be an art teacher, but Christ do teenagers do my head in. No way could I listen to them every day, I'd go mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭marie12

Week 1- get over the mentalness that is june and get those ringing bells out of head
    Week 2- get over the mentalness that was the whole year
    Week 3- sleep in and frolic in the garden in my bikini. Plus eat when I want to, not when a bell bursts my eardrum
    Week 4- watch daytime tv and listen to radio as we miss all the good stuff
    Week 5- do a course so we can get 3 more days off wahoo!!
    Week 6- spend a load going on hols as we miss all the cheapest flights
    Week 7-walk and wander around, taking in the wonders of the world and try get all the creatures to be quieter (oh yard duty how I miss you and that extra dosh)
    Week 8-go shopping for stuff to cover my legs that aren't jeans, dresses that don't ride up and tops that have high small neck holes, ahem boobage and bra straps
    Week 9- prepare myself mentally and buy a new lunch box

• Registered Users Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Pretty demoralising though, you go into it with high hopes and then come to the realisation that nobody really gives a hoot so long as the parent continue to pay for their kids and you keep the pass average at a nice number.

From my experience teaching, I would have to disagree with you. You will always have some students that are unwilling to engage, especially if it is a core subject they are forced to take. But if you, as a teacher, with your subject specialist knowledge cannot engage and enthuse some students, you shouldn't be there in the first place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

Get off it, there are a fuckton more stressful jobs out there than being a teacher and the work that's done by teachers is far more appreciated than most other occupations.

sure
    prison officer is stressful

but who wants teachers burned out like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I don't see what the problem is. Why shouldn't children and teenagers sit in a classroom for 48 weeks of the year and get only 20 days holidays like the rest of us. It's not like they need to play or get a break from it all. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

An annual salary paid in monthly installments.

Just like... everyone, everywhere, ever? :confused:

AFAIK they get paid for the 9/10 months they work over the course of 12 months, so they don't actually get paid for being on holidays, instead they're getting paid for the work they did in school whilst they're on holidays.. If that makes sense :p

• Registered Users Posts: 13,110 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

What do school teachers do when schools are off? And why do they get paid the full wage if they're not working?

All workers get paid during annual leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Dave0301 wrote: »
    From my experience teaching, I would have to disagree with you. You will always have some students that are unwilling to engage, especially if it is a core subject they are forced to take. But if you, as a teacher, with your subject specialist knowledge cannot engage and enthuse some students, you shouldn't be there in the first place.

Naw, there's only so much p!ssing against the tide you can do before throwing in the hanky.
    Like I said, all my former students passed their govt exams, that's all they, the bosses and their parents cared about.
    Why would you invest so much of yourself if nobody else was willing to?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭corner of hells

They do what my brother in law does ,

Runs about six miles a day
    Minds his three kids
    If Dublin are playing , drinks himself into a coma
    Wrecks his house doing DIY
    Goes back to the school when the alarm triggers , has done this drunk and been returned back to my sister by the Gardai.
    Interviews on panels for new teachers for other schools hoping they arent drug dealers or paedophiles.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

looksee wrote: »
    Oh lord, here we go again............... That's the way it is. Get over it.
    No thanks, I want to moan at teachers a bit longer.
    Finished the working day at 3, mid term breaks, great christmas holidays, holy days off. Can come in hungover and tell the kids to read page 53 while they read a newspaper.
    There's no denying it's a handy job, that pays extremely well for what it is :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Any teacher I know seems to be gone on holidays for the summer. Lucky them!

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭daingeanrob

as a man married to a teacher i can tell you what she does, my laundry and making my dinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

They do the same thing they do during term time .... Nothing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭vamos!

-Early June: thrown 22 summer tests in bin. Can't correct them or fill in reports- it's summer! Race out of carpark in Jag. Leave clasroom for the cleaners to clean and the secretaries can fill in the reports.
    -Watch the butler polish the vintage car collection (his work is shabby during term)
    -June holiday: the villa in South of France
    -July holiday: pop home to annoy hard-working friends by inviting them to dine at L'Ecrivan in the early evening. Do some shopping in London and New York. Collection of cardigans far superior to Brown Thomas.
    -August holiday: Italy usually. Head back to school in early September* refreshed and ready to battle it out until Morocco during October midterm.

*Secondary teachers may actually be back in school 2nd last week in August but the meeja and Joe Duffy keep that one quiet.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Whine about not getting paid this week thanks to boi feck up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

For 3 months I gaze out the window thinking about a particularly difficult class I had 2013-2014 and I wonder about 2014-2015 and I say...

How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds ,How can I reeech these keeeds.. is what I say ...

Then I need to take a few more sips of my mojito just to kill the sound of Coolio's Gangsta's Paradise playing over and over in my head...

I'm also confused because Coolio uses the corrupted version of Gangster to imply rebellion and sub culture, but yet he was conscientious and educated enough to put the apostrophe to denote possession. Maybe the message is that there is hope for theese keeeds...

Yess I can reeech them , I can do eeeet..

This is called teacher reflection folks...

just doing my job.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Go back to school

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Speaking personally, fcuk all :P

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Jebus Diced

They P A R T Y for a few months and then moan about pay/conditions when there back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

In some European countries people aspire to be teachers like someone aspires to be a doctor. In my experience, over here it would seem a huge percentage of our teachers did poorly in Arts degrees and then decided to teach (genuinely not dissing Arts), not trying to be a dick to teachers, this is just something I have noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Armelodie wrote: »
    For 3 months I gaze out the window thinking about a particularly difficult class I had 2013-2014 and I wonder about 2014-2015 and I say...

How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds, How can I reeech these keeeds ,How can I reeech these keeeds.. is what I say ...

Then I need to take a few more sips of my mojito just to kill the sound of Coolio's Gangsta's Paradise playing over and over in my head...

I'm also confused because Coolio uses the corrupted version of Gangster to imply rebellion and sub culture, but yet he was conscientious and educated enough to put the apostrophe to denote possession. Maybe the message is that there is hope for theese keeeds...

Yess I can reeech them , I can do eeeet..

This is called teacher reflection folks...

just doing my job.

Oooh, an urgent plea from Edward James Olmos. ... "Free sample of fabric softener"...woo hoo!

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Louthdrog

Us in the uk system only get six weeks holidays..........it's a disgrace!!